PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar

Offers a painless, highly effective way to stop your dog from pulling, lunging and jumping. Can be used on dogs as young as 8-10 weeks. Click "More details" below for a link to view a brochure for the Gentle Leader.
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
54 of 66(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Review 1 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Great for larger dogs that are pullers.

August 9, 2014
by Mac3221
fromCollege Station
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
My lab was a big puller as a puppy and this really helped smaller people like my girlfriend and the vets control her. With this I was able to train her very effectively and now have no problems with her on or off of it. The only problem is that if it is used very often in can rub their nose or neck raw before they get used to it
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews

Not for all dogs

March 6, 2014
by levyz71
fromsnyder. texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
I purchased two of these for my two pit mixes. When they arrived I followed the video and tried every type of positive reinforcement I knew but my black and white pit mix Chloe still absolutely hates this. Anytime we stop she will paw and paw at it till she finally gets the nose piece off. The product itself is fairly durable considering I had a 45 pound pit mix tugging on it as hard as she could ( and this dog can pull me around on the floor while i'm laying down and I weigh 145). However I do not recommend this product if your dog does not like any type of constraining leash. Overall when Chloe wasn't trying to get it off her head and was actually walking she was fine. Just know your dogs and what they like and don't like.
Pros: looks great
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

Works

February 27, 2014
by largedogparent
fromMS
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Works for walking my great dane and keeping him under control.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

Makes walking so much easier

December 28, 2013
by Delta3
fromNew England
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
I purchased this as a backup for one I bought earlier from my dog's trainer because of the great price. When she first put it on him he fought it for a few minutes then just gave in to it. Walks have been so much easier and he's not choking himself. He still rubs his face on the grass prior to walks but usually forgets it after that. It's also helped him remain calmer and listen more when we are shopping at Petsmart.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 66 reviews

Worked like a charm...until it broke

August 22, 2013
by PinotGhil
fromAPO, AE
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 66 reviews
My husband and I were at our whits end trying to walk two grown huskies every day, and had tried just about everything (to include obedience training) to no avail. They would just pull and pull and pull. After receiving the gentle leaders, I took each dog on a walk individually to see how it would assist with their pulling and it worked immediately! I was so excited I took both dogs on a walk at once and aside from them getting tangled up on their leashes when one would decide to stop and try to get it off, they did amazing. It was like I had two new dogs!
But...the very next day (after having only used it for about an hour total) the gentle leader broke on my female husky a few minutes into our walk. After inspecting it, it appears the fabric of the nose piece that was near the mouth got wet and must have been so weak that it just snapped apart. Thankfully our girl knows to sit when told, so she didn't make it too far down the street without us, but I'm not willing to use the unbroken one on our other husky anymore. It's bad enough that it broke after such minimal use, but to have it break in such a way that we no longer had control with the lead was unacceptable and a safety hazard.
I guess I'll continue to search for a similarly designed product since this one did the job wonderfully, but hope to find one with better quality and durability.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
Cons: poor quality, fragile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 66 reviews

Easily unsnaps once dog gets nose out.

July 30, 2013
by BumbleBear
fromMinneapolis, MN
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The GL worked great for about three months. Recently our 1.5 year old GS has learned if she gets her nose out she can free herself with one big tug. This was not true at first. The GL just wears down quickly. I would not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 66 reviews

may work for some dogs not mine

April 11, 2013
by jward
fromsmyrna,tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 66 reviews
my dog had it torn up before we finished watching the video and it was placed on properly as per the video, may work for some dogs that are not as fiesty and strong as mine, she is a shepard husky mix
Cons: poor quality, fragile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Amazing training aid! No more pulling and jumping!

August 21, 2012
by Anonymous
fromPensacola, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 7 month old black lab/hound mix (weighs 55 lbs) who was a terrible puller and jumper. I just got back from Petsmart where the associates helped me to fit her with a gentle leader. As soon as she got it on she acted like she'd been in training since she was a pup! We calmly walked out of the store with her right at my side!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!! I can walk my little big girl now!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

A MUST HAVE FOR ANY DOG OWNER

August 18, 2012
by Amajzun
fromDaytona Beach, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My family and I just rescued a black mouth cur that is just a little under a year old. Because of being a rescue we have NO information on his background.
I took him to a shot clinic with just a regular collar and leash and boy was that tough! At only 40lbs he really pulled me around and lunged at everything.
I researched the Gentle Leader and was a little skeptical at first because I didn't like the strap over the muzzle. Tired of being walked by my dog I gave in and got the Gentle Leader.
WOW!! Day one was a little tasking and he kept pulling on it trying to remove it. I left it on him after the walk just so he could get used to the sensation.
Day 2- BINGO......brand new dog!! He walked right beside me without pulling and when someone walked by he didn't even bother to lunge! He did scratch on it a couple time, but once adjusted........perfect!
I am a true believer and this is definitely worth the investment!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Great Product

July 12, 2012
by Mathmom
fromWA
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a retriever mix who is now a mellow six year old, but when she was young she was a total freak. She jumped on people and pulled on her leash. Our friend recommended the Gentle Leader and it changed our walking experiences. She calms down and doesn't pull when she is wearing her gentle leader, it is also easier to control her when she sees a squirrel or another dog and gets excited. We just lost the one we have had for five years, and are definitely going to get another, walking without it is a nightmare! Great for the exuberant, big dog that needs a walk every day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

A perfect gentleman!

November 6, 2010
by jmjjgg
fromSW Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After being pulled all over kingdom come by my 85 pound rescue, I asked the petsmart trainer what else I could do. She suggested this instead of a prong collar. My wild child was turned into a perfect gentleman on his leash...no jumping, no pulling he walks right next to me and walking him is very fun!
Pros: works great
Cons: must be put on correctly or it will not work
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

August 6, 2010
by RozsRRedd
fromLancaster, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
I have a large lab with anxiety problems, and I have back problems. This made walks with him so difficult that we stopped going for walks outside our yard. A friend told me about using the Gentle Leader to walk her lab after her back surgery, so I thought I'd give it a try. What a difference! He still pulls, but I can manage him now. Before he'd easily lead me to wherever his nose led him.
Unfortunately, he's a chewer and got through part of the harness. It broke on our walk yesterday, and I was instantly reminded of why I loved the Gentle Leader. I went for quite a ride and came home with a resolve to buy a new Gentle Leader today.
Cons: owner becomes dependant on it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

It Really is the "10 minute attitude adjustment!"

April 2, 2010
by Jeshwin
fromKalamazoo, Mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
I have a Puggle and she is a puller when on walks; to the point that she would make my arm tingle and a few times, almost dislocated my shoulder. She is not a bad dog, just extrememly excitable and we live in a neighborhood with tons of kids which puts her over the top. Kids were afraid of her because she would try and charge at them to lick their faces off...it was embarrassing. FINALLY I hit my limit and went out and bought the Gentle Leader, brought it home and put it on. She fussed for about 30 seconds and then was fine with it. I brought her outside, just in the yard, to test it out. To my astonishment the pulling stopped instantly. Just then a little boy and his mom rode by on bikes. The little boy asked to pet her, I told Sophie to "sit" and she instantly sat and patiently let the little boy pet her. The mom said she was the best behaved dog they had seen all day! If this is not a testament to the "10 Minute Attitude Adjustment" nothing is! Well worth the money!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Great Head Halter

April 1, 2010
by lovemyfam
fromSt. Louis, MO
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
I purchased this for my 8 month old Lab Boxer mix. We got him from a shelter a few weeks ago. He was always pulling on the lease and lunging every time he saw a cat, bird or squirrel.
I put the Gentle Leader on him he tried to take it off a few times, but after that he walked calmly. As we were walking he saw a bird he tried to lunge but the leader gently pulled him back in line.
I love that it's gentle and I don't have to yank the leash or be pulled down the street trying to restrain my dog any more. I would recomend this product to anyone with a pulling or lunging dog.
Pros: it's gentle on the dog, great color choice, easy to put on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

The good and the bad..

March 25, 2010
by Kaija
fromMuskegon, Mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
This will work for pullers.. BUT, I would still recommend training the dog to walk without it.. .. it can become a crutch.
I originally trained my beagle/basset without this.. he was safe enough that I would bring him rollerblading.. I then got my puppy mill rescue schnauzer.. who at a year old had NEVER had a collar on.. let alone walked on a leash. I bought this for his very first walk.. and used it for his training classes.. I worked on training him without it over time.. but when walked together, the dogs pull.. (apart they are perfect).. once again trained them together.. and found a stray schnauzer.. she once more got the pulling started while walking multiple dogs.. and it's getting more difficult to fix.. so, I have one of these for all of my walkable dogs.. (my old man has serious hip issues.. no more walks).. None of them have any problem with the gentle leaders, and it helps a LOT when walking them together.. It is worth every penny to help get a handle on the pulling.. and aids training humanely..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

March 4, 2010
by JEM37
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
We bought this for our almost 4 month old Lab pup that is getting rather big, very quickly. He was definitely a puller on his walks. This was recommended to us by a trainer, and after about 2 wks we saw a HUGE improvement. Now we enjoy our walks with him vs. getting frustrated as soon as we walk out the door.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

WOW!

March 1, 2010
by CAC8217
fromFairborn, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
If I would have know it was going to work as well as it does, I would have bought it a month ago. My great dane was such a puller while out on walks. Everyone joked that it looked like he was walking me. At 8 months old and 100 lbs, I was not looking forward to when he got bigger.
On the recommendation of one of the trainers, I bought this, hoping it would help a little. She fitted it to him and told me how to use. It worked immediately! Our walk to the car was the best I'd ever had with him.
Now our daily walks are peaceful and everyone thinks that I have one of the best dogs!
Pros: works quickly
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Shocked At How Well it Works

February 26, 2010
by MissT
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
My 4.5 month old hound mix had suddenly become a puller while on our daily walks. For a 25 pound dog she can pull hard and would in fact pull so much she would choke herself with a traditional halter/leash. I'm lucky enough to be in a great training class at Petsmart and the instructor suggested the Gentle Leader. It literally worked within 5 minutes. Did it take her a bit to get used to? Absolutely. But the first time we went on a walk with it, her tail was up and wagging, she was nicely trotting beside me in the heel position and her head was perked up. It was the difference between night and day. I would highly, highly recommend this product but would suggest that you get a trainer to help you fit it the first time. Once you have it set, you just simply slip it over the dogs nose and hook up high on the neck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Miracle Worker!

February 24, 2010
by PuppyLove86
fromAngier, NC
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
I have two dogs that were never leash dogs until the town I live in passed a new leash law. I tried everything from halters, to choke chains, to pinch chains and nothing phased them. I purchased a Gentle Leader Head Collar and within five minutes my dogs were walking right at knee with plenty of slack in the leash. I had a harder time getting used to it than they did since I had to keep looking down to make sure they were still there. I will swear by this device to anyone from now on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Gentle Leader Dog Training Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

Keeps my Pit under control!

February 6, 2010
by PitBullLvr
fromLemoore, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have an 8 month old 72lb Pit Bull and I always take him to Petsmart.. I came in the store to get some food and noticed he was quickly being able to over powering me... he would see a dog or a little kid & quickly want to go greet them & I couldn't hold him back on the slippery floors. A girl who works there came over & quickly handed me one of these and put it on him right there in the store... instantly it worked!!! I was able to walk around the store from then on out with total control! The only problem I have is that it gets stuck to one side and I have to readjust it when were walking but it's only due to him pulling so hard but it takes the pressure off of my hands and arms and redirects it to his face pulling it downward.. which he can't stand! Works great!
Pros: instant control
Cons: for hard puller it can get stuck
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next