PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence

Operates as a completely wireless underground fence 5 adjustable levels of correction plus beep-only mode Keeps your pet in your yard with no stakes, flags or wire to bury!
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 139
132 of 156(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Review 1 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 156 reviews

Great distance, easy install, simple training

February 25, 2014
by Kapishe
fromHouston, TX
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I am pleased with the PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence. The only disadvantage is that if there are trees or other obstacles in the path, it will beep before the supposed barrier. Great product for the price. After a month, the battery and transmitter still work very well. I have a high energy dog and he occasionally ran through the barrier initially but soon learned not to do it after a few weeks. Takes a lot of practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

January 14, 2014
by Laurette
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Purchased the wireless Pet Safe fence for my parents and their energetic 6 month old golden retriever puppy. Set up was easy and simple taking my husband and I under an hour. Took the dog around the perimeter
showing him the flags and he quickly learned they were not a play toy. He learned quickly to stop when he heard the beeping as well. We took him out 3 times the same day to reinforce the perimeter. My parents reported he has done very well, stops before the flags and within a few days seemed trained. They are very pleased that their dog can run around the yard without a leash!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Great product

January 6, 2014
by Dwight
fromPlatteville, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I needed to have one part of my yard fenced that had a split rail fence installed by neighbor. He did not want a wire mesh installed on it, so I used the wireless fence. I was able to install the transmitter in a place that allowed the 90ft distance to meet my requirement. Product was easy to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

This product is a game changer!

January 2, 2014
by goskel01
fromAustin, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This product has revolutionized my "boys" lives! I have two springer/labs that are "brothers". They are 5 years old and amazing, albeit RAMBUNCTIOUS! They live outside in our shed/a large run area but I try and get them outside as much as possible. Recently, I had a big scare when they took off from home and I couldn't find them- living in Minnesota with a semi frozen lake in the back yard made me fear they had tried to run on the ice and fallen in. Thank God they were just visiting a buddy down the street- but I knew something had to be done. I ordered this product and it has been amazing! I read the instructions and plugged it in as soon as it arrived. Being the winters are so cold here I had to find a place in my home to plug in the unit- originally I thought I would put it in the shed but it might get too cold according to the instructions. Set up was fairly easy- just a lot of in and out of the house playing with the settings. I have a very rectangular yard and had to find a setting that didn't invade my neighbors yards. There is a High and a Low setting for distance, along with 8 levels for each setting. I have mine set to a High 4 right now and it seems to be JUST PERFECT! The boys get full range of our front yard and the circumference is just big enough for them to be able to run around the outside of our entire house. I put their collars on and walked them around the perimeter for the first time and they both experienced the beeps. They wouldn't leave my leg for the rest of the night and I felt AWFUL! However, the next day they were a little more comfortable with the system and by day three they understood it completely. There are very detailed instructions included that I didn't follow with my boys and they had no problems learning the system.
I can't rave enough about it! The only downfall I can think of is its location limitations. It is supposed to be on the main floor of your home, two feet off of the ground and at least three feet from all major appliances. The server box is bigger than I anticipated but it is worth it! Another note: I have steel siding on my house which I was fearful would alter the effectiveness of this product but I haven't noticed any issues.
I am hopeful this product has a nice long life. It is a bit spend but TOTALLY WORTH IT! I RECOMMEND!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 156 reviews

Good System

December 17, 2013
by twinbeagle
fromAlberta, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Wireless system lets you go anywhere with your dogs and ensures they have their own freedom and space, while being secure.
Have owned both an inground system and wireless. Wireless is convenient, however the two issues I have is with the collar.
1) it is big and bulky and will loosen because of adjustability.
2) It is a high consumer of batteries and difficult to get. Batteries expire after 6 to 8 weeks. Very expensive.
In ground is cheaper and defines the space easy, better collars available, but not portable.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 156 reviews

You be the judge

December 11, 2013
by Hendersonlady
fromHenderson NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I bought the wirless fence because I was hoping not to have to install a "real fence" to keep the dog in. The problem is the lot is long and narrow. To get containment in the back yard would require that the unit be placed in an area that might work for one direction but due to the narrow lot it did not provide protection to the side. I will have to look at a more conventional system. Also the collar interfered with cordless phone reception. The collar would beep when you were talking on a cordless phone near the dog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 156 reviews

Great product - not for all dogs though

December 11, 2013
by DCAFam
fromHollywood, SC
We bought this product two years ago and loved it.
As far as a product goes this one deserves FIVE stars. BUT, we have since gone through one transmitter, three shockers, and I don't know how many collars. This is a GREAT product for dogs who don't fight the system. Our spayed mutt shepherd/chow mix adapted to the system seamlessly and we have never had a problem with her. FIVE STARS for her. However, our (non-neutered) chocolate lab will run outside the barrier as the shock is not strong enough to stop him. He has eaten through collars, gone through two shockers, and causes the batteries to die quickly as he is always getting beeped or shocked. He's been on this system since a pup... For him ZERO STARS. Great product if you have a relatively obedient and/or older dog. Really bad if you have a stubborn, free spirited dog. So YES, I would recommend this system, but be objective about your dog before purchasing because it is expensive, will require products repairs and/or replacements (which are normally free and ship quickly), and will require a ton of specialized batteries (about $5/pair)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Excellent product!

December 6, 2013
by GTJones
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
We live on 2 acres and this fence works great! We didn't have any issues with the garage door causing interference and it was easy to use! I would highly recommend this fence!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

It worked for our dog!!

November 19, 2013
by UnemployedinOH
fromOHIO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Our dog quickly learned her new boundries. I would say in 3 days she didn't cross the line any more. It is just so nice to be able to let her just go outside and not put her on a chain that just gets rapped around a tree.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Controls My Two Roaming Dogs

October 28, 2013
by FeatherGlo
fromChattanooga, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Excellent at keeping two of my roaming dogs near the house. Every time I let them out they would leave for about an hour and roam the property, often bothering the livestock and wildlife. I live on 35 acres but do not want my dogs to wander off and bother others or get hurt. This item keeps them near the house and under my control. Because these two dogs now stay at home, none of my other dogs are problems at all. All 7 dogs are now within earshot and totally under control at all times. Training was relatively easy and took only a few days. The dogs just figure it out intuitively once they know where the boundary is and hear the beeps. Each dog was shocked only once and did not want that again so they figured out quickly how to avoid it. I would highly recommend this to any dog owner who needs more control with their pets. It definitely works. With 7 dogs living in my world, I have to have control or it would be impossible. I love my dogs and I love this product!!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

love this product

October 21, 2013
by mkknrk
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our golden retriever likes to wonder off sometimes. This keeps him in our yard and safe. It did not take long for him to learn the boundary line. I would recommend this product to anyone.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

wireless fence

October 9, 2013
by muzz
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I love this product and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to use this type of fencing for your dog/s..easy to train them as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

excellent

September 28, 2013
by caddydaddy
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
When I first received the electric dog collar/fencing, the instructions gave up to 30 days to train your dog to establish it's boundaries. I just didn't have that kind of time to do the training. Guess what! My dog respected those boundaries in 2 days and has never tried leaving the premises! Great product and would work on any dog.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Petsafe Wireless Fence

September 22, 2013
by Firegirl605
fromEast Bernstadt, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Love this product!! My dog was used to the fence in about 3 days
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Wireless Fencing

September 19, 2013
by kKDM
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The best money we ever spent. We had previously had a kennel made and it just seemed to small.($800). When we left the property, dogs had to go into the kennel because they liked to roam onto other properties. Now they can run/chase/play around the area freely(within the approx. 90 foot range). They know the boundary limits. The battery seems to have been lasting us about 2.5-3 months. Make sure you buy extra batteries. One dogs collar works a bit different than the other. About five feet less range but maybe that dog stops sooner at the beeping level. We have had ours for about a year. If you have trouble with the range and interference, try moving the controller to another room of the house. I have recommended this product to everyone with dogs.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 156 reviews

Junk product - Doesn't contain dogs

September 15, 2013
by DogLuver2
fromminneapolis, MN
This product gives false corrections. Returned mine! Buyer beware and go with a real Invisible Fence Brand system. . .
-12points
1of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Best Investment Ever Made-Saved My Sanity!

July 4, 2013
by Hutchigk
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
After one correction, our 7 1/2 month old/73 lb. Boxer has turned, from a terror on the run outside to an angel. We purchased this product as a less expensive alternative to constrict our pet to the yard and it works! I recommend if you're not at home/dog in cage (collar off,) thunderstorm (collar off,) unplug the unit from the wall (collar off first,) in bed for the night (collar off). Monitor your pet for safety as with anything. This is the best investment I've ever made. Easy set-up.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Fantastic fence system

June 27, 2013
by Skootamatta
fromWaterloo, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We set this system up at the family cottage where there is a lot of bedrock. Before we bought this system, our dog ran off a couple times when our backs were turned and in one case it took us 2 hours to find her. This has been great, after a couple of shocks, she avoids the white flags and will even stop when chasing a squirrel. Our second dog will get a chance to try it this weekend and we will rest easy knowing we don't have to chase her through the bush!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

Superb product

June 2, 2013
by UMRebelGhost
fromOle Miss
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Much cheaper than a fence, love it, my dog can run free, and stay out of danger from the road, and stays in our property boundaries.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 156 reviews

What freedom for a dog

May 22, 2013
by HardTonic
fromFairfax, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have 1.5 acres with a creek and slopes, not a very flat yard but this works like a charm. Coco, our little Shih Tzu enjoys exploring her territory and chasing chipmunks for hours on end. She learned real quick her boundaries and was only zapped 2-3 times at the lower setting before she understood what the beeping was telling her. She very rarely tries to challenge her borders and we have been using it for over 7 months. The only time she does that is when it does not beep when she knows it should. It's hard to tell when the batteries are low so you may want to test it every few days after three months or so. I just test it when I walk to check the mail as the boundary is there. Since she is very rarely zapped, the batteries do last quite a while so I don't mind the cost and always have one on hand. We are adopting an indoor/outdoor cat and I called customer service to see if it would work for cats, too. They were helpful with some key points and said that it was cat safe but to use the low setting. It would be great if the cat can adjust to it, too! Wish us luck.
-1point
16of 33voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next