PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System

This easy to do yourself system is the perfect alternative to expensive conventional fences.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 16
17 of 21(81%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Review 1 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great Product!!!

February 16, 2014
by fdgonzo
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Very easy to install. Took me 4 hours by myself to lay 400 yds. most time consuming part was cutting a gap across my driveway. Way easy and the settings are perfect. My 14 week Anatolian Shepherd knows her boundaries already and will not go near the fence. I tested it on myself rather than the light tool it comes with. Setting 1 is very very very light. Barely felt it. Perfect for your pup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Concise directions, great product!

November 18, 2013
by SpeyGuy
fromBend, OR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was impressed with how thorough the directions for installation are, and how easy to read/understand. Thanks for making it so easy to install!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

November 15, 2013
by SDavis
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Great deal for the money! Easy to install and works Great. I would reccommend this to anyone who is looking a economical way to fence in a pet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

October 19, 2013
by 7fuzzykids
fromportland, or
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The product might be affective if you keep it either in-ground, on-ground or above ground only. If you use more than one type, you either make it way to strong for one or way to soft on the other. Easy to put together but you have to watch the wire, since it wants to twist itself and then leaves dead spots in the system.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Freedom for my dog and freedom for me

October 15, 2013
by MsRegal
fromCharleston, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I spent a weekend installing the Petsafe in-ground fence for our 4 month old sheltie puppy. Up to this point, he'd always been on leash when outside. After a few days of training, he now has the freedom to roam around our yard while we're gardening, washing the car, or just relaxing on our porch. We can throw the ball and he can get much needed exercise. I completely recommend the fence. The static corrections are few and far between for our compliant puppy. After the third day, he no longer makes 'mistakes' by going too close to the boundary flags.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Works great! Broken too soon.

July 11, 2012
by DogOwnerInAL
fromAL
This fence was perfect for my bulldog. It kept her in the yard as promised. The transmitter stopped functioning after 6 months though. I wish it would have lasted longer before needing to be replaced.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

killers fence

February 18, 2012
by hunterpharohsowner
fromsilverdale wa by petsmart one mile away
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
he was always chaseing the llamas so we got this he did notcare a bout the fence he yelped once he still chase them so we are returning it and get a new one for stubborn dog Containment System
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

only works on some dogs

April 3, 2010
by lilybuggg
fromalbuquerque, nm
I have 3 dogs, a shih tzu, a miniature pinscher, and an 8 month old german shepherd puppy. On my min pin, the collar worked EXCELLENT!! But on the other two, they learned that they could just run right over the line, and if they ran fast enough, they could get to the other side. It really didn't matter how much I worked with them, or how high I turned the boundary knob up. So I guess it just depends on your dog.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

My Baby's New Playground!

July 10, 2009
by lilladylaurens
fromPaducah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 22 month old Beagle mix who is 16 lbs. I live on a busy road and my dog was having to be put on a leash and stake and he cried anytime he could not be within reach of me. Not to mention all of the close calls we had with cars and the chases down the street across from us! Once the door opened, Murphy was like a bullet, right across the road! We finally installed this in-ground fence by shovel. It seemed to take forever for out 1.33 acres! It was worth it though!
It only took 5 days to train Murphy to stay in the yard and it is such a relief to see him running as fast as he can across the yard! However, when he sees another animal in our yard, he tends to want to chase it and when he gets to running so fast, he flies right through the shock of the fence! This is probably the biggest drawback. The other drawback is that the collar loosens easily.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Great for small Dogs

January 12, 2009
by WBARICH
fromOntario, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
This produst works great on my little rat dog. I can let him out front with my daughter and know that he will stay in the yard. BUT I also have a Greman shepperd mixed with Lab. He is the reason that I bought the system. He is able to jump on my block wall and walk on it to get out with the colar on. This colar worked great in the begining. It broke my heart to put it on him at first to hear him yelp when he would get shocked. Well now he is back at it. Its not stronge enough.
I have come to one conclusion after reading the reviews and talking to a few diffrent people. If you have a Large Breed buy the stronger colar. The SUPER RECIEVER. I am going to try it tonight and see how it works on him its another $80. The pound offered to take him when they came out with no sudjustions on how to fix the issue. At least he does not go far stays on our street.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent product!

July 9, 2008
by Brody
fromGalloway, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I aquired a Jack Russell Terrier this past spring.  Having over an acre of land and nothing fenced in, I knew this dog would go crazy if he couldn't run.  I looked into the "professionally" installed underground fences and they all wanted over $2500 to enclose my property and train the dog.  For under $200 I figured I would give this a try.  It took about 3.5 hours to install over an acre of land and my little Jack Russell is one happy little dog!  As far as the training goes, it only took him 3 zaps!  The collar emits a sound as the animal gets close to the border.  After the sound, they get a small shock.  They flags give the dog a clear visual and unless your dog is really stubborn, training should be minimal.  Not only did I save over $2300, installation wasn't difficult and I don't worry about my little hunter digging under the fence.  He has complete run of his "kingdom" and happily hunts on a daily basis.I am so happy I gave this a try.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Money well spent

December 6, 2007
by Anonymous
fromFayetteville, Ar
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I love this product. I have about 2 acres of land for my dog to run on but I live right off a busy hwy. So this is a lot cheaper than building a traditional fence. The directions said to go through the training process I started to follow the directions and then changed my mind. I put the collar on her and let her go to see how she would react. It took her a wile to reach the wire but she only crossed over 3 times and I haven't had any problems since. I have what my vet said was a Pit Bull Mix. My son even shocked himself on the hand to make sure it wouldn't hurt her. He is 7 and didn't even flinch. I would definitely recommend this to anyone! The hardest part is getting it in ground if you have rocky soil.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Cat trouble!

October 27, 2007
by Brennaelizabeth
fromChandler, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
About six months ago my cat figured out the doggie door. I accepted the fact that he had turned into an outdoor cat until one day I almost ran him over with my car. I ordered this kit and set it up around the doggie door and put the collar on him. He learned very quickly not to get near the doggie door. He has since become a fat indoor cat and I dont have to worry about him getting ran over anymore! I would buy this again in a heartbeat!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

May 20, 2007
by boxermix
fromnashville, tn
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
my boxer mix paid no attention (after training) to this fence. he was not deterred by the static correction level. had to get the collar with progressive levels of correction. spend the extra money and buy the more expensive system. it really works.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great product

April 22, 2007
by litlrooh
fromPA
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
We have an acre of land, and four dogs. Only two of them really run off. We wanted them to be able to run free without worrying they could get hit by a car or a train.
My only complaint is that if one dog knows that she can run though the boundary, the other one does it too. I may have to invest in yet another collar for the system to finally be effective with my most difficult puppy.
Overall, I love having this system. When it works it works very well. It is very cost effective if you install it yourself, and its not hard to install if you have a reasonably sized space to cover.
I would also recommend getting the wire surge protector. After a lightning strike nearby, the transmitter didn't work anymore, because the fencing wire carried the surge. I am very happy with the customer service. When our collars got wet from swimming, all three of them malfunctioned, and all three were replaced for free, without any hassle whatsoever.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

best.product.ever.

April 16, 2007
by MyDogsBestFriend
fromFlorida
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
My boxer dog used to dig under our back yard fence for a swim in the local pond when we werent home. One day he left for 5 days! After searching in vain, he returned home thru the same hole in the fence he made his escape. We installed the invisible fence around the perimeter of our back yard. The product says it will take time to train your dog (several days). But the first shock our dog received set him straight! Took all of 20 minutes to train him. My wife accidently walked into the "shock zone" while holding the collar. ZAP!! We never saw another hole under our fence again.
She said we should have no more problems with fence holes. I would recommend this to anyone having similar pet problems!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for PetSafe Standard Radio Fence Pet Containment System
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5 21 reviews
4 out of 5 recommend this product