PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer

Keep your pet safely in your yard Works on all pets weighing over 8 lbs. Expands to 3 dogs (additional purchase required)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
20 of 25(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Good Product

February 21, 2014
by KatieLap
fromTemple, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
This product is worth the money if your dog presents with troublesome behavior. I only had to use it a few times before my dog responded, and now I only have to use the warning beep to keep him in line around other animals. It is also waterproof which is a must because my dog is active and the weather often unpredictable. The collar fits well and does not irritate my dog.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

February 13, 2014
by JackRussellowner
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Great product for the price. It fits properly and we love the ability to charge the collar and the remote.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

February 4, 2014
by shortstop
fromwayoutwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We have a large shepherd mix puppy with more energy than sense. This collar allows us control where otherwise we are pretty ineffective. Thank you for the help!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

A postive Yard trainer experience

January 9, 2014
by InfantryMajor
fromMonroe La
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
This was a perfect training/border limiting device. I was able to read understand/install the yard trainer in less than 2 hours. My jack Russ came from good Irish stock, so I thought he would adapt quickly. To my surprise he to learned his limits/boundaries in less than 2 hours. Being a very very active puppy, I spent al lot of time going in and out of our home for his outside activities (nature calls and freq dashes hot on the heels of local birds and tree rats). A solid investment for dog oners.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

great

January 2, 2014
by bink
fromtexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
this product works great .my dog is very hipper and jumps on people.i only socked her once the rest of time i used the tone button and that stops her.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Works as promised

December 29, 2013
by Gilgo
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
My dog is very smart and changed behavior after two days of use. Very satisfied with results.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Takes 12hours to recharge

November 21, 2013
by Dogloverme
fromGrand Blanc, Michigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
When the product is recharged it takes way too long,12hrs. After a new charge if it sets for two days the power in the receiver runs down without being used, it must be charged again before it will work.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

Great for one dog but not two.

November 17, 2013
by MomOfaFenceJumper
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
We got this collar for our greyhound mix that took a liking to jumping fences. After a few months of trying to stop her with a water hose and noise, she started to jump and run away from us, so enter this collar. We got it and before putting it on her, we it on us to see what it felt like. It's less of a static shock than the tingle that you get when you hit your funny bone. It's startling but doesn't hurt.
We put it on her for a while inside to get used to it and then let her out and watched until she jumped the fence. We couldn't get her before she jumped but we gave her a pretty high shock (we wanted the message to be really clear) that hit her immediately after she landed. She definitely didn't like it but didn't come back either, so she got another one. After that she jumped back to our side and went to the porch. After a few times of this her fence jumping has almost totally stopped.
We really like this collar because of the tone options. We ALWAYS give her the negative tone before we shock her and now she respond to the tone alone. We now also use the collar to help with small animal chasing, coming when called off leash, and attention seeking barking. You just have to make sure you positively reward them with the good tone and treats when they respond to the negative tone or the shock or it will become a tool of punishment only and not training. I like that I can find the buttons on the remote without looking and can keep an eye on her. I would suggest keeping the shock on your baseline and turning it up when you need it, then immediately turning it back down to the baseline. This way you know without looking what level shock you are giving without looking.
The downsides of this collar are that it takes 12 hours to charge from a dead battery and it dies for me about once a week with daily use. There also isn't a battery indicator on it at all, so it's hard to tell when it is low. Even with an almost dead battery, the collar will still turn on but die a few minutes later (we found this out the hard way when we loaded up for the dog park and Harper jumped that fence for the first time ever. Luckily she came back but I was disappointed with the dead battery).
The other downside is that we loved this collar so much that we wanted to get a second one for our other dog for off leash training. Because the box said it is expandable, I called the company to see how to add a collar, only to find that if you add another dog collar to be controlled with the same remote, you loose both the negative and the positive tone functions. Since we love that the tones make it so we don't have to use the shock very much, that is a total bummer. We actually ordered another system (the garmin/tritronics delta) that has a tone and vibrate option with two dogs and will be returning the petsafe.
Overall, it's a great collar for one dog, but not if you have hopes to add another one to it. I would give it 5 stars if you could add another collar without loosing the tones, but the fact that you do is a big disappointment to me, hence the three stars.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
Cons: not adjustable
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Works great.

November 15, 2013
by Jimbo17
fromHenderson, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
We have a terrible time with Buddy (Min Pin) & barking at people & things. Put the collar on him & he pays attention to you. When you have the remote in your hand or near you he watches you before he does anything. I still want him to bark but I want him to be quit when I tell him. The product works great like I said & the remote gives you total control. Very nice.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great Product, well worth it!

February 1, 2013
by MelliesMom
fromSouth Bend IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Have had this product for several months. Used on my Belgian to help train for hyperactive actions during car trips. Love the positive tone/negative tone option. She responds well. Loan the equipment to my brother for their Schnauzer to control barking and agressive behavior when guests came over. Dog did very well at learning that the positive sound was where she got all the attention she liked.
Durable and easy to use. Holds a charge well. easy to conceal the "master control". Have recommended this product to several others who have also had success.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

I have purchased two and will buy no more

February 22, 2012
by RachelT
fromBlue Ridge, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews
I have purchased two of these. Both lasted less than two years, around the same amount of time, quit working properly within a few months of one another.
When they are new they work great, very effective. But here we are two years later and both have to be replaced. I want to add too that we took very good care of the collars, used on dog that was mostly inside.
If the collars would last around 5 years or so I think they would be worth buying. I've already wasted almost $200 a piece so i wont be buying anymore.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
Cons: poor quality, fragile
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Impressed

December 7, 2011
by CrazyColtFan
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I did something I don't usually do. I purchased this item before really reading a lot of reviews. I did read afterward and well wasn't happy with not having done my research. I think the model before this one seemed to have issues.
First I have to say I have only used this collar for a week so if I don't post a follow up later, that means I am still happy!
Secondly, I have herding dogs and as many know they tend to be pretty smart ( too smart and stubborn at times ). SO I bought this particular collar because I was intrigued with the idea of sound positive and negative reinforcement.
I have been using this on my 7 month old Border Collie to help curb some of her OCD tendencies. She does respond to verbal, but would go back and do the behavior again. With this collar , however, I started with the positive and negative tones as they suggest, and its working great. I have only had to use the static feature a few times but she quickly learned that the "bad" sound means she's gonna get it soon ...
The times I have had to use static, level one has worked.
I am very happy that I don't have to "shock' her to correct her behavior. SO if you have a stronger breed I can't say you would have the same results but so far for my herders its working well.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

AMAZING!!!

April 19, 2011
by AMPCVT
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I got this for my 15 month old pit bull about a month ago. She is what the trainers call a "reactive dog". It works great! She used to pull on her leash, so I got the gentle leader, well she still pulled on that. But with this collar it only took 2 "shocks" on the 1 setting for her to get the idea, and I haven't had to use it for the pulling since. She walks right next to me with a nice "J" shape to the leash. She also used to jump up on guests coming over, run to other dogs without listening to my commands, and the collar fixed it all. I have not tried it out at the dog park yet, but I have high hopes, as everything else I have used it for has worked amazingly. She likes to take other dogs toys out of their mouths, so we'll see how that goes over. The battery life is good too, we just turn the collar off when we're sitting around the house, etc. Its rechargeable, which was the main reason I got this collar. I have no Cons about this product. I would recommend this product to anyone with a "wild child". It seems to be durable - there is some wear and tear on it. Range has never been an issue for me - seems to work great.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Piece of junk!

May 16, 2010
by btemp
fromcolumbus, ohio
How many pets do you have?1
I bought this product a year ago it worked fine for 8 months then sometimes it would work and sometimes it would not. So i decided to get another one. I take my dog to the park on the weekends, and charge it fully when i return home. The next collar stopped working after a month, shotty collar reception, sometimes it would work, other times it would not work from 2 ft away. The "lifetime warranty" will cost you to ship the product back and have it repaired. This thing is a piece of junk! dont buy it.
Pros: none
Cons: junk, shotty reception, does not last very long
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Trainer makes life easier with new beagle

April 1, 2010
by mandopickr
fromSC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 2 year old beagle, that sometimes has a mind of its own. I bought the trainer to stop incessant barking. Stopped almost immediately. Used static two times, and since then only requires tone. I use the collar about every three days, and if he starts barking again, it only takes one tone to correct.
With success on the barking, I tried the collar to reinforce the "come" command off leash. Couldn't have worked better. My beagle would ignore me, especially when on scent. Two afternoons using tone only and he's great. I allow him to roam the yard, and all it takes is a call from me, and he comes tail wagging.
Charging takes about 12 hrs, so those that require continual use of the collar may have an issue. However my intermittent use allows the collar to last 3+ days. Also my range has been inside of 50 yds, so I can't comment on the range.
Some reviews discuss the unit not working after about 6 months, but I'd replace mine in a minute. I'm happy, the dog is happy.
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: long charging time
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Defective Design

March 30, 2010
by schipperkemom
fromlynchburg, va
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We purchased one of these collars a week ago at our local Pet Smart. The transmitter would not take a charge even after charging for a full 24 hours, so we returned it and got another. The second one charged correctly and worked at first so we began training. Within two hours of putting the collar on the dog it stopped working; would not beep or shock. Needless to say we returned it and will now order a differenct brand from another company. We had used a similar product to train our first dog and it worked so well that five years later our dog still stays in his yard even without the collar on! This design was different and recommended shocking the dog right from the beginning so in my opinion it is not as pet friendly as the old design. Don't waste your time with this one!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

very good product

September 29, 2009
by phatboarder06
fromLincoln, NE
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have a beagle pup that is 10 months and he has been good for the past 9 months, but just lately he has been running off. I have tried everything to get him to not run off, and I'm tired of taking him out on his leash every time he has to go to the bathroom. So I did my research and came across this product. I read reviews and they all helped. I got this collar 2 days ago and i have only had to zap him 4 times. the other time i just use the warning noise and he listens right away. The battery in the remote lasts like 50 to 60 hours, but there is no on off switch. The battery in the collar lasts like 30 to 40 hours depending on how much it is used. To conclude this all I am very happy with this product and have already recommended it to other people.
Pros: positive and negative noise buttons, collar size, shock settings
Cons: no on off button on the remote
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Working great!

September 10, 2009
by Anonymous
fromPittsburgh, PA
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
After reading the reviews here, I visited my local store and decided on this item. The rechargable batteries (in both transmitter and remote) and the ability to expand up to 3 dogs were the deciding factors. Having a rechargable battery does make the collar a little heavier, but my 27-pound terrier mix is fine with it. Although purchased to stop him from jumping the fence (which was subsequently replaced with a higher one), it now goes on in the morning and stays on all day, giving me the ability to correct him in other scenarios as well. The collar works *so* well that I'm now ready to purchase a second for my collie mix, but I can't locate them ANYWHERE. A web search of the product ID brings up only non-US distributors, something anyone with multiple dogs must keep in mind.
Pros: easy-to-use remote, recharable batteries
Cons: inability to locate/purchase add-on collar.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Unit failed after one week

May 17, 2009
by edh53
fromohio
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
Bought this last week, worked fine for several days but then the collar stopped responding to the transmitter. Recharging and resetting the unit did not help. Instructions provide no real troubleshooting help, and website offered little as well. The Customer Care line is not open on the weekends. I am returning this product and do not recommend it.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Yard & Park Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

I'm SHOCKED! (no pun intended)

May 14, 2009
by sheltielover
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I was desperate for something to get my dog to come to me. I was told by a professional trainer that my 1 year old sheltie needed something to get her attention when I called her. I have used positive reinforcement and she knows "come" but if she's after a bird or something then I can forget her even looking at me. After I tested her compliance first, I let her chase birds and waves at the beach. She took off about 150yds and after one shock she turned around at me and ran full force back to me. I was amazed. Now she is happier because she can run like she should be able to and I can enjoy watching her use her natural instincts!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next