PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer

Keep your pet safe with a collarless remote that helps you train your dog with sound.
Overall rating:
3.792 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
17 of 24(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great tool

March 14, 2007
by Calboy
fromSmall town in MO.
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
This product worked great for my little dog. He is a barker, and thinks he is in control. He can be very intiminating to others on the street. Loves to chase cars and barks at everything that moves. The first time I used this my little dog was taking off to chase a car coming down the street. I pushed the button, and he stopped immediately, and turned and ran back to me. This product has changed our life, and given me back control of my dog. I cannot say enough about how well this product worked for me and my little dogs bad behavior problems. I have had this product only a short time, and rarely need to use it now. My dog will respond to my commands, but if he should forget it works every time to bring him back into control. Thank you.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Not for us

January 26, 2014
by DoggieGma
fromNorth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
This purchase was an attempt to get our Bull Terrier/Australian Cattle Dog mix to stop biting too hard and to "leave it". It did get him to stop the behavior the first few times, but proved unsuccessful after that. At times it seemed to make him behave worse, depending on his mood. This might be a good product for other behaviors, unfortunately it didn't work for us.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

January 8, 2014
by shelby11
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
You need to be able to use this consistently. I have a pet door and my dog and the dog behind me have a fence war going on. If I'm home I can use it on the bad behavior. They will stop if I am able to get outside soon enough to push the button, but hasn't kept either one of them from the fence barking, charging war. Found it for 1/2 the price after I bought it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Product does not work

December 23, 2013
by pumpkinpie4496
fromlexington, ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
I have a puppy. This product did not slow down her barking. She would look at it and continue barking. I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

So-So

December 20, 2013
by bear52
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
It worked in the beginning for about 5 days. After that, my dog it did not phase anymore. I thought it would help train her and break her of bad habits. It just didn't phase her after those first few days.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

works good if you follow the directions

December 4, 2013
by Abbeysmom
fromBoonville, Missouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
works great except be sure and have a long leash on the dog. then when they go to the edge of where they are not suppose to go. say "NO" very loudly and push the no button. took her only 3 times and now we don't need the hand held device.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Did not work on my dog.

February 4, 2013
by BA2012
fromNaples, FL
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
I was very disappointed after reading the great reviews and then finding that this product simply did not have an effect on my dog at all. I read the manual and used as instructed to, I thought it would work well since I have a small dog and live in an apartment. I tried using it to control my dog's excessive barking and jumping on the couch but he would either bark more or completely ignore it. Could just be my oddball dog, but the product ended up being useless. Petsmart gave me a store credit when I returned the product.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

i'd buy this again

October 2, 2012
by kevinfitzz
fromScaramento, California, next to the messed up neig
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This was the third item for bark control I have bought. After about a month of using, I think this works. My neighbor has 3 small dogs, dachshund mix, jack Russel mix and now a pug. Our dear neighbors eventually tossed my note to them asking, pleading that they move the dogs, as I am extremely disabled and they were barking right below my window. They put up a 'cyclone fence' IN THE FRONT YARD (sheesh) and dropped the dogs there. SO, when they barked, I'd take this device and use it out the bathroom window.
It didn't have an affect at first, but slowly, over the days, the noise lessened and eased. They are still barking but on the other side of the yard. When they DO come within range, I zap them. Bark gets a zap. The main one would test me. Bark. Zap, Bark. Zap. On and on until he quieted down. Now, when a 'shopping cart' comes down the street, they will still get so excited, they won't pay attention, at first. Then they whine and move to the other side. It has worked but it does take time. And I think one of my cats was within earshot and he started whining, so, be careful. I say it works for me and I hope it works for you. Be sure to use the "P" button when they do stop barking. I think the buttons are "N" for Nasty sounds and "P" for pleasant sounds. lol AND you will need a 'cross-tip'/Phillips head screwdriver to access the battery compartment.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Scared Dog to Max!

September 27, 2012
by debrandavid
fromPacific City, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I thought this was the answer to our dog's incessant barking & growling. Backfired on us BIG TIME! She became so scared of the sound 'she could only hear' that she wet herself and ran for cover, shaking & trembling!
I've heard about a 'corrector' that emits the sound of a "Hiss" that was invented by a behaviorist, but I can't find it here. Too bad..., it got rave reviews online. If your dog is afraid of thunder, fireworks or high pitch noises..., this is NOT FOR THEM! Unfortunately, I bought this for another dog who passed and when I went to use it on our new dog, the 'Warranty' period had expired to return it. A very costly piece that is useless.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Ultrasonic Pet Trainer

September 22, 2012
by Nugg
fromAB Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have used this product foe about 2 wks, & have seen an noticable difference in my 2 year old Snoodle. She barked nervously @ people & dogs she hadn't met, & ended up out of control with her screaming !! I used the 'N' & she quit, looked @ me questionly.. then gave her the 'P' & she came to me.. now she licks the positive when she returnes to me. I have used it when she bolted, & didn't repond to me calling her.After pressing the 'N', she stops & returns to me. I only have to give her a quick press, & nothing near 2 seconds as the manual suggests. I recomended this to my friend who has a 1 1/2 year old Dashound who barked alot... She is amazed @ the instant responds.. this has made our lives with our beloved dogs so much easier. My Snoodle responds to verbal commands now as well..
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Awesome!!!!

March 13, 2012
by scrode
fromUtah
Worked in two sessions. Neighbors dog is no longer a nuisance.Good Times
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Ultrasonic Pet Trainer

March 11, 2011
by tshult
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Riley, my 11 month old Maltese/Yorkie mix HAD some awful habits until I purchased this product. I love this trainer, it really works! Riley now comes to me when I call him & stops barking at the push of a button! This thing is AWESOME & HIGHLY recommended!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

didn't work

August 21, 2010
by mtnlvr
fromSeattle
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
it just mad my frenchie mad and he just barked more
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

its good when your close to your dog

August 6, 2010
by charlie23
fromvancouver bc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought this product for my yorkie who loves to bark....i find that it works well indoors... he seems to understand once i press it and stops barking... however i wish it had a longer range... it definatly doesn't work outside... and thats where he barks the most... although it might have a different effect for each breed...i guess i would recommend this product to people.... however if you can find something like this and cheaper i would recommend that.
Pros: stops barking inside
Cons: doesn't work very far... must be close to dog, cost to much for something that only works indoors, you can only get it online not in the stores
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Be Smarter Than Your Pup

March 10, 2010
by SusanJG
fromSouth Bend, Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was truely amazed at how effective this was in training my dog. We used it to reinforce behaviors already learned such as not getting on the couch and on the dining room table. She knew she wasn't allowed there but as soon as we were out of sight she was at it again. This trainer had her so confused she didn't know what was up but she stayed far away from any areas that were off limits after just one afternoon of being "buzzed" by this trainer. The only problem is that it took her exactly two days to figure out that I was the one responsible for doing the buzzing so now she simply waits for me to leave the room to do the naughty stuff.
So I highly recommend that if you have an intelligent dog to hide the trainer so that she doesn't know where the sound is coming from. Had I done that I think my dog would be behaving appropriately. It really does work as long as you're smarter than the dog!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great life saver

February 19, 2010
by happytrainer101
fromSanta Maria, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It only took a couple of times before my dog "got it". He has stopped barking and running off. It will save a life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

December 22, 2009
by Anonymous
frommerced,california
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
its the best my dog only had it for a few days and hes all trained i think ill give it to my sisters dog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

WOW

November 20, 2009
by glendasmom
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Wow!!! I am very impressed with this product. Within seconds of getting the battery in and the back screwed on, the dogs were behaving!!!! I have two Yorkies that are very hyper! There is very little barking in the house, and they are much more patient just seeing it in my hand. This is after only one day, so I am very excited to see the long term outcomes! And yes I am the person who will read the booklet cover to cover (ok, the english part anyway) to find other tips.
Pros: size, ease of use
Cons: the 9 v battery why not double a's?
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Ultrasonic Pet Trainer

November 13, 2008
by Chicky
fromFlorida
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ever try to stop a dog from eating it's own excrement? This pet trainer worked like a charm. That is the absolute hardest behavior to correct too. I tried everything else believe me.
I have five little dogs and it works well on all of them. They have excellent recall and don't bark near as much while looking
out of the front window and door.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Pet Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

I thought this would help

August 31, 2007
by Katalena
fromShreveport, la
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
I have a 7 month old GS, I trained her to sit, shake, lay down. We are still working on stay and come, but she is a jumper when I get home she goes nuts when my children are around she jumps on them and bites (puppy play) at them. I bought this thinking it would help and it hasn't she completely ignores the sound when I press the N button but she does acknowledge the P. We have been trying this for about 2 weeks. If she finally gets it I will rewrite this review as of now I am not happy with this product. Maybe its not for big dogs.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next