PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray

Stop an attacking animal in its tracks with this highly effective, safe and humane spray.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Review 1 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Did not break up fight in progress

September 23, 2013
by Keneumey
fromBellingham, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this to break up the rare fight between my own dogs without getting bitten. Last night they had a scuffle and I tried the Spray Shield (as well as an air horn). Neither worked and the dogs had to be physically separated by grabbing them by the hips. Fortunately, neither humans nor dogs were hurt. I wouldn't recommend this product for a fight already in progress.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

WARNING: Won't Stop Aggressive Dogs!

December 6, 2012
by K9PoliceTrainer
fromChicago, IL
This product will not stop an aggressive dog attack! There are a few pepper sprays which are designed to deter attacking dogs. Products using pepper spray work much better and the attacking dog will be okay after a few minutes.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Don't count on it for persistant dogs and most are

June 4, 2012
by 1meg
fromnj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I was walking my dog when a neighborhood dog bolted at us. I sprayed and got him right in the face. The spray is forceful which stopped the dog in it's tracks(startled). Then the dog persisted in following us and bolting at us when we turned our backs all the way home(3/4 mi). I aged a few years that day. I trapped him in my back yard and called police. People, please contain your dogs. If my dog defends itself, i'll be the one getting sued even though your dog attacked.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

great

December 24, 2011
by 2husk1spring
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
its great for aggressive strays. i would never spray someone
else's dog for the reason you will deal with the owner. cuz trust me if someone sprayed my dog, I would be furious. plus spraying a dog that is on his territory and ur by it with ur dog. its common sense to know what that dog is going to do. so be respectful for other owners dogs. also have used it on raccoon's and possums, they get out the attack or garage real quick.
-16points
3of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

You & Your Dog shouldn't leave home w/o it

December 7, 2010
by fungo
fromSF Bay Area, CA
How many pets do you have?2
Used this 3 times: (1)at a dog park when a 2yr pit bull went after my dog--off duty policeman eventually asked dog to be removed),(2) growling snapping dog bolted out of a front door when owner was entering as my dog & I were passing,(3)on a walk when passing a house with 3 German Shepherds barking furiously in crates & one broke out and charged us. In each situation I never even needed to hit the dog to make it stop & back off. The spray was enough to startle it & make reconsider. The spray is quite an impressive blast but loses some of its' pressure over time (2yr?). An expiration date would be nice. On a 10 scale of aggressiveness the dogs were high 8 to 7 so I was a softy & didn't aim for the face. Although probably should have because what really sold me on it was a store clerk who tried it on himself. He said it caused NO pain but made his eyes & nose run profusely. Important to know because it would interfere w/ dog's ability to see/distinguish objects clearly. Tip: Be ready to use the spray @ all times,practice getting it out. Attacks can happen swiftly & unexpectedly w/ only milliseconds to access. Err on the safe side & feel free to use it especially since it doesn't cause pain. Also since aggression could escalate w/close proximity & if the other owner is not present. Surprisingly I've found in most encounters that the owners of the aggressive dogs aren't likely to take any useful action until their dog is actually biting. Most of them just uselessly stand & yell at their dogs who don't obey. Remember to shake it up before you take it w/ you so it's ready to go.
Pros: effective good size--convenient but large enough
Cons: clip could be more secure
+16points
23of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Works every time!

October 6, 2010
by nikkinotes
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
There are ALOT of unleashed dogs in my neighborhood and this works on all sorts of dogs, even the tiny aggressive ones. The best in avoiding confrontation with strays while walking your own dogs. Safer than mace, because if you and your dogs are downwind you just get a nice citrus scent (your dogs may not enjoy it however).
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Spray Shield is a Must!!

May 11, 2010
by asugrad98
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Last week, a pit bull got out of his yard & saw my dog & I. I was walking my dog (who was on a leash). The pit bull saw us, started growling, barking, & running toward us & I only had a few seconds to pick up my dog & spray the spray shield. The pit bull instantly backed up after I sprayed him. I did spray him again (since he was still close to us). When I sprayed him again, he turned around & ran away. I didn't need to spray very much. Just a little was all it took. I won't walk my dog without it.
Pros: it worked on a pit bull
+8points
18of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SprayShield Animal Deterrent Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Everyone should own one

January 16, 2007
by JaJa
fromBoston,Ma
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Everyone who owns or doesn't own a dog should buy this. I have 3 dogs and my household and it works! Trainers use it, it's gentle and it works.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.