PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

High Tech Pet Sofa Scram

Instantly activated by the touch of a paw Gets pets off furniture fast Emits a startling 85 decibel beep Use on chairs, counter tops, beds, in front of doorways, trash cans & the sofa
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 43
38 of 48(79%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Review 1 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Great product!

September 13, 2012
by dc87
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This mat is great!!
I have two 50lbs dogs that loved getting on the couch. One of them would use it as a trampoline and on many occasions couch almost fell over from him jumping on it. The last thing I wanted was to ruin my couches and have to get new ones.
I placed the mat first on top of the couch but below the sheet I have to protect the couch. Once they heard the noise it made when they jumped on it, they didn't even want to get near it. They would even go around the other couches to avoid the couch period. Now they sniff the couch but no more getting on it.
Miracle!
I definitely recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

It worked for MY dogs. I'm very happy with it.

March 7, 2014
by 77Corvette
fromRaleigh, North Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product isn't a "magic bullet." It won't, nor will any other product on the market, work for every single dog and there is no such thing as any product with a 100% success rate.
With that being said, we had really good luck with this! It worked like a charm. We didn't even need to turn it on. Simply putting something dark on the couch, which the dogs were unfamiliar with, did the trick for us, the FIRST time.
Our two Beagles went from laying on the couch, every single day, to not getting back on it at all! We do let our dogs on our furniture. They get on our love seat, our other couch and any chair they like. After all, they ARE our kids! But we only wanted them to stay off one couch, due to the fact it's an antique Duncan Phyfe.
I absolutely recommend this product. I had such good results with the Sofa Scram, that it's now neatly folded up and in a drawer! It's THAT good, for us. The operative words of course, "for us." It won't work for every dog, but it sure did for us. They no longer even want to get on that couch now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 48 reviews

Doesn't work at all.

February 14, 2014
by Esby
fromBrooker, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I received the item in a very timely manner and was excited to start using it. However, after setting it up, following battery directions and turning it on, none of my 10 pets in the house reacted to "a startling 85 decibel beep" when they sat on or walked across the pad. It does not appear to work at all. I will be returning it to my local PetSmart for a refund. Very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 48 reviews

January 26, 2014
by Vonnie5
fromtoms River, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The product is keeping my dog off the couch. It's so nice not to have dog hair all over it, that I purchased another one to use on a chair. They are fragile, so be careful how you store it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Good product. Well made.

January 22, 2014
by Notme
fromVancouver
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Stopped the cat from going where she shouldn't. After a few touches, she learned not to step on anything that looked like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 48 reviews

something that works!

January 13, 2014
by bychanceandniko
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
So far so good! :) The only thing that she has responded to other than a treat. She is a tough cookie. Sure she is a puppy & still needs a lot of work especially when being raised by an older couple but this is the only thing that I have seen her respond to right away (again other than treats). She doesn't like the high pitch beep & wherever it is put, she will stay away from it. I wish there were smaller patches of this & a more common battery...I have a feeling it would be all over the house LOL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Great product

January 11, 2014
by Poopa
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The first night, my dog jump up on the pet scream was the last time he tried it. He did not like the sound it made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 48 reviews

Did not work for us

December 29, 2013
by Timber
fromcolorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a German Shepard, a Husky and a Cockapoo. All three of them sat on it on the couch with the sound going off as if it did not bother them one bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

very effective!

December 18, 2013
by JRinMichigan
fromSoutheast Michigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this 2 weeks ago and put it on the sofa. I have three cats and it only took one of them to get on it and learn what it does. Now none of them go on it. It's very loud like a smoke detector and the cats hate it.
If you have problems with animals on your furniture I highly recommend it.
I read reviews saying it failed shortly after purchasing it. For me, so far it's good. As with any delicate electronic device it needs to be handled with care. If I have any problems with it in the future I will update this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

December 3, 2013
by HH23
fromLouisville, Ky
We have two large dogs that love to be on the furniture. Both dogs shed like crazy and no one could ever sit on the couch to watch TV or just relax. The day I put these sofa scrams on the furniture the dogs were instantly trained to not jump up on it. I am very pleased especially after trying just about everything else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

November 29, 2013
by JOQU
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have tried so many things to keep my dog of the couch with no luck. This product is amazing. He heard the noise once and has not gone near it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 48 reviews

No more counter stealing

October 12, 2013
by Nandino58
fromColumbus, ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was a bit apprehensive because of the low price but these mats are awesome. After a few unsuccessful attempts at getting food off the counter Bronson has given up counter surfing. The high pitch noise also let's me know when he attempted and allowed me to give a "leave it" command to negate the negative behavior.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

great product at a reasonable price that works!

April 6, 2013
by Lutheran
fromSpring Branch Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I placed the mat on my bed and turned it on. My dog jumped up onto the bed and quickly jumped down when hearing the screeching noise that the mat makes when pressure is placed on it. WHAT A GREAT IDEA - THIS HAS SOLVED A PROBLEM I HAVE HAD FOR YEARS - TRYING TO KEEP MY DOG OFF OF THE BED!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Awesome Product

July 7, 2012
by Malika
fromMelbourne, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog has short legs so getting on the furniture is not an issue but he will no longer go near the kitty liter. Yuck, I know but that's how some dogs roll. This product can be used anywhere you don't want your animal to go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

IT REALLY WORKS

December 30, 2011
by SOFASTILLLIKENEW
fromCarrollton
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased a new leather sofa. I bought the extended warranty that covered everything BUT pet tears. We placed the Sofa Scram on the couch in addition to video taping the couch when we left. Our pet jumped on the couch withing minutes of us leaving and within a flash jumped back down. Awesome purchase! I love my dog, but I also love my couch. And, thanks to the Sofa Scram both are still loved very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 48 reviews

Great, when it works

June 18, 2011
by 3legDal
fromTucson
Great product - very effective BUT - wires break with very little use, rendering it into garbage. (Have had this happen with TWO sofascrams.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Love'em

April 17, 2011
by Amylase
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought these for 2 stubborn italian mastiffs who love to get on the furniture when we're not home and at night. They absolutely work. Pressure sensitive, sound like a smoke alarm and my dogs absolutely hate the smoke alarm noise so they will not go anywhere near these mats even when they are on the floor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

I love this!

April 3, 2011
by Raynes
fromTampa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product has changed my relationship with my dog. My dog is a chewer. So, not only would he get on the couch or bed when I was gone, but he would get bored and chew it. I came home multiple times with stuffing spread all over the house. It was so depressing to have to come home and punish my dog everyday, so I eventually just had to crate him whenever I was gone. I tried every toy imaginable to keep him entertained. I have another dog, so he certainly had companionship. I tried barricading the surface of the couch, but he'd simply move the item aside-- or destroy it before moving onto a cushion.
Finally, I ordered the sofa scram. The first day I came home and it was disheveled from him jumping on it, but there was no dog hair on the sofa and nothing chewed up! He even become suspicious of any couch and always chooses his bed over jumping on the furniture. And for whatever reason, maybe because he thinks someone is watching him now, he has stopped chewing inappropriately and now only chews his toys!
The sofa scram is so inexpensive and it actually works in an extremely humane way. I would recommend it to anyone. It has literally improved my, and my dog's, quality of life.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 48 reviews

Very Good

March 28, 2011
by Pammie
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product works really great. I have three dogs (two miniatures and one large breed) and none of them will get on the small couch when the mat is in place. However, they have figured out how to get on top of the large couch's top pillows by avoiding the mat since it is not long enough. Suggestions would be:1. Buy more than one for larger couches. 2.Place a mat on the seats and top pillows of the couch. 3.If sofa scram offered 2 or 3 different sizes this problem could be solved. But the price is very reasonable even if you have to buy multiple. I originally bought 2 but am buying two more for my larger couch top pillows.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for High Tech Pet Sofa Scram
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 48 reviews

Does the trick

January 27, 2011
by KChoonoo
fromOK
How many pets do you have?4
Was quite skeptical but made the purchase anyway. I've definitely been pleased with the product, enough to by a second one. We have a Lab and Weim and 2 cats. The Sofa Scram keeps them all off of the furniture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next