PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post

32" height allows cats to stretch fully and tone muscles. Sturdy 16" x 16" base eliminates tipping and wobbling. Attractive and neutrally toned.
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
39 of 40(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 40 reviews

A good scratching post that won't be ignored

March 17, 2014
by Sandi4567
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this 32" scratching post to replace an old 18" one of the same style. One of my cats will not scratch sisal rope but only fabrics, carpet, and smooth, tight weave sisal. The cats like this post a lot and prefer it to my chairs. It is sturdier than the scratching posts that are in PetSmart stores but not as sturdy as my old scratching post. I put a few more reinforcing staples through the sisal so it will hang together longer before needing replacement because the cats pull it away from its frame too easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

March 12, 2014
by edsr
fromCentral Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
much better than what I was using before ( round post wrapped in rope ) I have great expectations for this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

March 5, 2014
by BBP1
fromMuskegon, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My two cats love this scratching post. They have both stopped scratching on our furniture and use the post many times a day. We have it in front of our sliding glass door so they can look out when they are scratching. It looks fine in the living room. I wish we would have bought it sooner to save our chairs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Five-Star Rating!

February 26, 2014
by BarbaraG
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My indoor/outdoor cat Gabby has always preferred scratching my couch and chair over anything I could find at any pet store...until now. Thank you for designing a scratching post that is tall enough to enable my Maine Coon to really stretch out! He loves it...and I think that my new sofa slipcover and chair are finally safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

February 23, 2014
by 3HappyCats
fromnorthern MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
My pets can stretch full length. My old scratching post they would lay on the floor and scratch.
Post is very sturdy; I don't find it tipped over when I come home from work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

February 4, 2014
by CynthiaJK
fromOcala, Florida
Very happy with the SmartCat Ultimate Scratching post. Easy to assemble. We have 3 cats and they all use it routinely. It would be nice to have a large area on top for seating but overall a great product. Plan on purchasing another in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

great for big cats

January 28, 2014
by Windie
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats are big, think maine coon or norweigen forest cat size. This is the only scratch post I have found that is tall enough. They love it. The sisal mat wrapped around the column holds up well to their big claws.
This is the second one I have bought. The first one was loved to shreds!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Smartcat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post

January 24, 2014
by cpgl
fromGun Lake, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have two kitten's and they are loving this scratching post. It's nice and sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

perfect post!

January 21, 2014
by bonesandbrushes
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I looked at so many scratching posts/climbers, but this one suited my needs perfectly. My cats favor sisal, and this simple design works in the living room, and is saving my furniture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Great product if it appeals to your cats

January 18, 2014
by HSOhio
fromDayton, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the scratching post after moving to a home with no carpet. It is nicely made and heavy. Only one of my three cats seems to use it, but she likes it quite a bit. I wish all three liked it, but it's not the product, it's just my finicky fur babies!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 40 reviews

Nice and tall scratching post

January 16, 2014
by sld5cats
fromDallas, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I previously bought a Whisker City Curl Floor scratcher for my cat & she loved it. Then I bought a second one. This one didn't have carpet on both sides, only on the top. The bottom is hard with a thin fabric and my cat wouldn't use it. So I bought this one. My cat likes to drag herself on her side and use the underside of furniture to scratch her claws. She will use this one sometimes only if it is lying on it's side. I imagine some cats would love it, but mine is just so-so with this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Loved the scratching post!

January 7, 2014
by CherB
fromStone Mountain, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My crazy cat loves his new scratching post! It's tall enough for him to run up it and stretch completely out. I wish the base was a little wider to accommodate a larger top because he likes to sit on top of it and there's not much room up there. Other than that, I'm very pleased with this product and it doesn't topple when he jumps on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Our cat loves it!

January 2, 2014
by WSteve
fromBanning, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
We adopted a two year old "rescue" cat about one month ago. She started using the scratching post immediately. The post is well made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Great height!

December 30, 2013
by Jenn1107
fromMarlboro, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was looking for a scratching post that would allow our large cats to stretch out to their full height when they scratch like they do on the trees outside. This one is perfect! Sturdy and very easy to assemble. Happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 40 reviews

Cats didn't like!

December 27, 2013
by meems02
fromParadise, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
After reading the other reviews about this product, I ordered one thinking my cats would love it. But, even after putting catnip on it, they wouldn't use it....I'm baffled as to why. I gave it a trial of about a week but my two cats refused to go near it, preferring their old carpet-covered scratching post, or the corrugated cardboard one. Also, the base come in two pieces, not one piece as is shown in the picture, so I thought that was an inaccurate representation. I also didn't think it was as stable as everyone was raving about. Taking it back.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Excellent! Cats Love It!!

December 26, 2013
by CKinMN
fromEden Prairie, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This cat scratching post assembles in just a couple of minutes. Although someone else complained the base is held together with wooden dowels, I think the base was made in two pieces to facilitate shipping. The product is still very sturdy and doesn't shake or wobble even when my two cats stretch and scratch on it together. They seem to like the sisal so much more than the typical carpet that adorns most posts. You might find a cheaper post but my guess is you won't find one that your cat likes better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 40 reviews

my opinion

December 23, 2013
by southdakota
fromVermillion, SD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I think you ought to be ashamed of yourselves. The picture shows a nice wooden base. In one piece. In actuality the base is two pieces of wood held together with dowels. Not nearly as attractive. I'm hoping my cats will love the scratching post. They do not care if the base is in two pieces. But I do. Deceptive photo.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

best sisal ever made

December 14, 2013
by mamadukes
fromMonroe Township, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
made very well. also very heavy. just wish the top was larger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

My cat loves being able to stretch completely!

November 19, 2013
by mjty
fromCleveland, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This scratcher is tall enough so my cat can completely stretch. It is also stable that he can climb it like he does outside, up his favorite maple tree.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Cat Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Great !

November 9, 2013
by Nina10
fromPembroke Pines, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Bought the scratching post at earliest stage of kitten hood ! My two kittens immediately began to use it !
Instead of going for the furniture, they both do their stretching and scratching at the post !
Mission accomplished ! Am truly delighted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next