PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw Hard Sole Booties

Keep those precious paws protected with the Top Paw Hard Sole Booties. Great protection for those hot summer walks or cold winter outings. A PetSmart exclusive.
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
15 of 21(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Review 1 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Hard to keep on

March 16, 2014
by larryk
fromColumbus OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The construction is nice with the thick sole and zipper and tongue up the back. My cavalier fought it at first but got used to them or tolerated them. We walk on all types of surfaces and he loves to play in snow, running and jumping. The boots are more like hiking shoes than boots. They are a struggle to get his paws all the way in, particularly the front. They may be a bit cramped. Hard to tell, but if you do not push the feet in boots will not stay on even with Velcro straps. These came off as often as stayed on. The height needs to be about an inch higher as snow will get in and makes keeping boot on difficult. He learned to walk in them in house by standing a few feet away and offering treat, then a little more a couple of times. Go down steps slowly. If your dog just walks calmly beside you and you are careful to get each all the way on, it might stay on and be much better than those spray-on or thin plastic soles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

LOVED THEM, except they fall apart

March 4, 2014
by rfredregill
fromEl Paso
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought mediums for the front feet, smalls for the back. On a two mile hike, they stayed on properly, bringing my old hiking buddy back in the desert environment. He ran, turned on a dime, climbed up, clambered down, did his business and then spread it everywhere ...
And at the end of the hike, 3 of 4 booties had split the sole from the shoe sides. I went ahead and glued them. Hike #2 one fell off and was recovered. Hike #3 one fell off and was recovered, and two soles split again. The one non-splitter is still as it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

It was not quite what I expected

March 3, 2014
by Johnc1262
fromLenoir, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I am sure these would be fine for a normal healthy dog, having said that, my dog is a special needs dog, he has a problem of dragging his rear feet and walking on the tops of of both rear feet.
when I read the description of the product I was expecting something a little more rigid with a hard plastic boot. I need that so my dog Sarge can walk without hurting his rear paws.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

3 stars

February 20, 2014
by cymba01
fromst. paul, mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
we discovered that our senior dog was in need of protection on her back paws this winter, as the cold made it so difficult for her feet to tolerate the frozen ground. petsmart was out of one particular style, so we tried the hard sole boots. not only are they stylish, but they have given her the protection she has needed in the harsh elements our winter has dealt us this season.
the velcro straps are great as you can adjust for snugness. we did try the other style, but the boots far outweighed the success of walking in the snow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

These boots might work if you can keep them on.

February 14, 2014
by Linde1
fromCorning, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Neither of my dogs would wear these things. They were hard to get on and quickly removed by my dogs. Maybe if these boots came up higher on the leg they might work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great protection!

February 1, 2014
by Doglover54
fromBoulder, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our one dog has a bad back leg and drags it when walking, tearing up her nails and paw. I tried a variety of booties, all of which helped a bit but did not last long, before finding the Top Paw hard Sole booties. They protect her paw from rough surfaces and hold up a lot longer than the others tried. They're also easy to put on and she doesn't seem to mind wearing them at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Works Great

January 31, 2014
by NPDA
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Sheltie loves the cold but the recent spell of subzero temps hurt his paws. When I first put the boots on him he was not happy but once we were outside and he discovered he could walk on the cold concrete and ice comfortably he was happy. He can run in them and trots along on our walks happily. The boots twist when he dances around in the snow because he has narrow feet that don't fill out the width of the boot but this would likely not be a problem for other dogs who have the more traditional wider paws. I'm very glad I purchased these, we can enjoy our walks now in the bitter cold.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Hard sole booties

January 27, 2014
by CookieHunter
fromMinnesota
These seem better than others I've tried. Still trying them out before taking a walk. The velcro straps are a good idea however they need to come further across to make them tight on their feet. Also strap that goes around the leg needs more velcro to tighten it, especially on smaller legs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Cold Weather Life Saver!

January 16, 2014
by JockaBell
fromMuskegon, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've tried boots before for my little guy, a miniature pinscher, with no luck. However, when the weather turned frigid (like 20 below) this past week, my pup didn't even want to set foot outside. Knowing that he's not supposed to potty in the house, he was a good boy and played by the rules. But, even I know, as a pup parent, that they need to poo regularly. I stopped by PetSmart and these kind of fell into my lap. Hoping that my pup would understand that this would help him be able to tolerate the cold long enough to poo was my biggest fear. Once I got home and got them on, of course it was hilarious. He hates having his feet touched. But, when I took him outside and he realized that he could walk without the cold and biting snow touching his pads, he pottied with no problem at all. He even frolicked a bit on the way back into the house.
These boots worked amazingly. The zipper with the back tongue in ingenious making the ease of getting them on that much easier. The velcro straps are placed just right, to fit and tighten just over the broad joints in the feet ensuring that they won't slip off.
Talk about a life saver. I am one happy pup parent. And I am confident that my pup is happy as well!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

poor quality, not recommended

January 8, 2014
by VINCE77
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a set of these a month ago. These booties worked well in the first few weeks, yet two of them broke at the bottom of the shoese last week. Besides, it's not recommended to have your pet wear them on rainy days. A BAD smell came out while these shoes were soaked.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

January 7, 2014
by MaksMom
fromMinneapolis, MN
Did not work on my pug.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

my little boots guy!

January 5, 2014
by kdub0310
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a Boston Terrier who has frostbite on his back pads so I needed to get him boots that he would not just pull off or be unable to walk in. (I live in a VERY snowy part of the US) After trying several other sets before buying this one I was getting pretty frustrated. He either could not walk well in them, they would fly off when he ran, or they just didnt fit and stay on the foot in the proper position. This set is fantastic! he has not yet lost a single boot running around and even when he stops quick and sort of slides a bit, they do not come loose. The only "problem" I've found is that all but one zipper broke on their first test outing. We played hard for about 15 minutes, and 3/4 zipper pulls are gone. #how that happened with none of the boots coming off, I'll never understand lol# While I was originally really upset about it, I've since found that the zippers are really unnecessary. There is a flap to keep the zippers from rubbing against the leg that fills any gap, but by tightening the velcro straps to where they need to be, there really isnt any gap back there anyhow. Perhaps a newer model will have snaps or something instead of zippers....
Overall I am super pleased with these boots and while he may not be overly excited to put them on, I can tell by how he runs and plays in the snow now, he really does like them too :) I would recommend these boots to anyone looking for a set for their pooch!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

durable shoes

December 31, 2013
by HolRocDog
fromGurnee, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought these shoes for my yorkie. ordered size xxs since the xs did not fit him before. absolutely love it. he loves it. it doesnt come off. very durable in the snow and rain. easy to clean. no problems so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Runs a little small but liked the booties.

December 25, 2013
by CindyP
fromSunbury, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I ordered size M for my American Eskimo mix dog which weighs 48 lbs. I should have ordered the size L because the size M is too snug and slip off easily because I can't get his paw all the way in the bootie. But I really liked the booties, better made than most other brands. Really loved the hard rubber soles.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Better than most

December 17, 2013
by crazy4gsp
fromBel Air, MD
I really like these because of the hard, rubber soles. My geriatric dog has severe arthritis and neuropathy and therefore does knuckle dragging when she walks. We also have hard floors, so she slips frequently. Because of the toe dragging of her rear legs, she wears through boots rapidly, like every week. These provided better grip for her and have lasted a bit longer. However, I do have problems with them constantly slipping off her feet, which is frustrating. They should be made to go further up the foot of the dog closer to the hock.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great for snow on tiny feet

December 15, 2013
by Goldenpomcat
fromMichigan
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just adopted an 8-year old chihuahua and honestly don't know what I would've done without these booties so far this winter, especially with the extreme cold we've had so far. I tried socks and other sets of winter boots and not one of them stayed on more than a few steps into the yard. These zip up the back and have three velcro straps to ensure they stay on the dogs' feet, even when he is trying like the dickens to kick them off. In fact, if I don't undo the velcro, I can't even pull them off. The hard soles provide a great barrier from the snow, and the padding inside helps keep the cold away long enough for my dog to go outside, do his business, including the never-ending "back and forth," and get back in the house. A nice touch is the padded "tongue" to protect my little guy's legs from being zipped up in the zipper, with the added bonus of yet more warmth. If you have a dog that is a wizard at getting any kind of boot off, try these. Honestly, these are a life saver, and I will definitely be getting a second set.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Chi Chi loves them

December 9, 2013
by ChiChi21
fromMadison, wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just brought them today for the mid west snow. I have a female Chihuahua and she hates the snow. I had to get the 2x small, because the 1x and small will not fit her paws. She loves them, they don't fall off her feet and they are easy to put on. She ran through the snow and didn't slide. they didn't make her walk funny, she only slide when she was running full speed. the only thing I wish they were a little cheaper.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Love these!

November 24, 2013
by lovemypuppy420
fromMoncton, NB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have tried many different styles of booties for my boy and the always seem to fall off. These booties provided traction for him and stayed on :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great for protecting pet's feet from hot asphalt

October 16, 2013
by SleepysRose
fromConway, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased two sets of these shoes for my service dogs. They are great and help protect their feet from the hot asphalt like our own shoes do for our feet. I highly recommend these. Make sure you take your dog to the store to try them on to be sure they fit or measure your dog's feet when you order online.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Paw Hard Sole Booties
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Too small for a Great Pyrenees

September 28, 2013
by BJR1
fromMurrysville, PA
Looks like a nice boot for some dog smaller than my extra large dog. Extra large size is too small..
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next