PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed

Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed dog food provides precisely balanced nutrition to maintain ideal body weight and healthy joints. It is enriched with L-Carnitine and a natural source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate for ideal body composition and joint support. It is made with high-quality ingredients, which make it easy to digest.
Overall rating:
4.837 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 96
97 of 98(99%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Review 1 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Great

March 14, 2014
by Bosco14
fromBastrop
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Have used this product since 1991 with three different dogs and all were healthy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Great dog food!

February 7, 2014
by MomofthePlains
fromSouth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have two hunting dogs (german wirehair and a yellow lab). They've been on this food for a year and their coats are shiny and their shedding a lot, lot less. They maintain a healthy weight with this food. Excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Forever

January 25, 2014
by SEtterlover
fromMn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
we have used science diet with all of our English setter hunting dogs. It works well for them, year around, hunting or in the house. We have used large breed, large breed puppy, old dog, HD for our dog with heart disease, and light. They have all been what our dogs needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Big Boys Love It!

January 3, 2014
by TrishCon
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My two big boys love this food. Perfect size kibble!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 98 reviews

Great Food Great Price

November 25, 2013
by WhiteOwl
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Great dog food and great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Like a treat!

May 13, 2013
by Mojimom
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When I got home with the bag of Science Diet today, my dog had left half his dry food in his bowl. Knowing that you should mix the old food with the new, (when introducing a new food) I added a scoop of the Science Diet to his bowl and mixed it in with the old. When I looked at his bowl a few minutes later, he had eaten ALL the SD food and left ALL the other! He's not fussy, but doesn't have much enthusiasm for dry food, usually. I'm hoping this new found appetite for dry food will help fatten him up a bit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 98 reviews

Bad.

April 7, 2013
by LibertyandJustice
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I adopted my dog, they sent me home with this food. She would tolerate it, but would much rather prefer human food. When I saw by products on the list, I was angry and shocked! They claim that their food contains "high quality ingredients" and "no animal by products". My dog now eats a homemade vegan diet. Science Diet has disappointed me and I will never buy another one of their products. Busted!
-15points
4of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Joint Pain

March 12, 2013
by pman03
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our 12 year old could barely walk any more with the pain in his back hips so the vet recommended this food to us since we own a three year old and they eat the same food. After a few weeks on this he started to play again and move around a little more. After a year on this food he is jumping around and acting like he is 6 years younger. He is out running with the kids and jumps like he is young again. We changed foods to save money and he went back to being stiff again. I know it is the food and it is great. we went from wondering how much longer we would let him live in pain to having a playful dog again.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Very good food, high recommended

January 31, 2013
by pmayo06
fromEl Paso, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews
My dog has never had trouble with this food. I had her on it as a puppy and when she turned a year i had no trouble transitioning her into the adult brand. I will keep her on this for a long time.
Pros: high quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Love this product and so do my dogs

January 23, 2013
by dani8791
fromRock Springs, WY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews
I have been using this product for about three years now and am completely satisfied. My pets love it and so do their bodies- inside and out (shiny coats, less shedding, healthier body weight and cleaner teeth)!! I definitely recommend this product and other products produced by Science Diet to anyone who has pets.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Great Dog Food

January 23, 2013
by MicheleM
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our large breed loves science diet. His coat is very shiny and he is always excited to eat his food.
Pros: price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

The best food for my dog!

January 9, 2013
by SammMarie7
fromBinghamton, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My lab, Maddie, has always had health issues. She had jaundice as a puppy and wasn't expected to live. Thankfully, after many months of treatment and lots of money, she pulled through. We would never, EVER consider giving her anything else. This dog food was good for her nutrition as a puppy with health issues and now as a full grown 6-year old!
Pros: high quality, digestible
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Excellent product

January 6, 2013
by Bettyb
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews
My breeder and vet recommended it when I got my new shepherd. My older rescue dog had problems with seizures and when I switched her food to science diet she hasn't had one in over three years.
Pros: price, digestible, taste
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 98 reviews

Superb product

December 31, 2012
by JannyQ
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Our dogs love the taste and we know they are getting the best nutrition for their needs. My daughter is a veterinary nurse and states this is the top choice among the veterinarians in the hospital where she works.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Large Breed
Based on the average of (84) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5 98 reviews
83 out of 84 recommend this product