PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep

Petmate's Cleanstep litter box offers a sleek, step design to catch litter from your cat's paws and a hooded top to ensure privacy for private moments. Features an enclosed design to contain litter scatter and large filter to minimize unwanted odors.
Overall rating:
3.385 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Review 1 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Love the Booda!

August 10, 2013
by WhiskynBitsy
from32708
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After going through a traditional type box (no privacy, litter out of pan, major tracking) and then the Breeze Set up ( too expensive to maintain, no privacy, foul feces odor) I finally gave the Booda dome with step up a try. I am soooooo glad I spent a little extra money on this. I have a male and female cat and they loved this right away and didn't even need a transition period. The litter tracks on the steps as intended and not on the floor. There is NO more odors what so ever! I also use the BLUE brand walnut litter which is by far the best litter I have tried. I think this is worth a try! Im not sure about all Pet Smart stores but mine will let me return anything I am not happy with used or open.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Princess Meow liked it

July 19, 2013
by Cherifsmom
fromYuma, Az
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It's a nice box if you have a kitten or a smaller kitty. Our Meow is only about 8 lbs soaking wet and she's a year old so the box is/was perfect for her. I would keep using this one, however, I want my Princess Meow to have all the room she wants to do her business so we are upgrading. I wish they had a larger size dome, it fits perfectly in the area of the house. Yes the litter getting out is an issue, but I think every cat owner has this problem, nothing is perfect. We purchased a mat, which of course she hops over because her precious feet shouldn't touch it but it keeps the litter more contained so there is less gripping when you step on it. haha. All in all it is a quality box, except the filter area. We kept having issues with the latch staying closed and she would bring the filter out for us. It ended up being duct taped closed. Not cool. Plus if you want to access it you have to take the lid off. I would have put the latch on top so it would be less likely to open, gravity and all.
Again, it's a good starter box and works for the first year or so...not good for chubby kitties!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Not big enough!!

July 4, 2013
by MizzEss
fromCentral California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this litter box thinking that my Main Coon would have enough room to do his business, but NO!! He can barely turn around in it. Plus, because of the kidney shape of the box, it is not easy to scoop.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Too bulky, does not keep your floor any cleaner.

March 23, 2013
by Nmk183
fromAR, USA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
It is too bulky to empty, the litter still gets all over the place. The cats are even peeing all over the steps too. That is impossible too clean up without getting all the litter out and rinse the whole thing. Waste of money.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

Ok but it does leak out the pan

February 7, 2013
by Crofty
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I first bought this, it was great, but lately cat litter has been coming out from the sides along with some urine even though I put the two sides on correctly. And sometimes they accidently get poo poo on the "kitty steps" since it doesn't really have a barrier from the litter place to the steps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great!!

January 26, 2013
by Woms
fromSchererville
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the best litter box I know it seems pricey but it is worth the money! My dogs couldn't even get inside to get to the cats litter either!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Love my private time ...

January 24, 2013
by Koco
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The hairless creature that takes care of me got me this box and now I can do my business in style and in private. I can tell they also like how it minimizes the amount of litter when I exit my private box, so we are all happy.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Excellent Litter Box

January 7, 2013
by SinatraPack
fromNew Mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have multiple cats, two of which are larger cats in weight and length. One very large Bengal and a lengthy Siamese. We purchased the largest box in hopes that this would work out better for them and it did! This litter box was a great investment for a number of reasons. 1. Barely any tracking of litter outside of the box, it's rare we have litter outside of the it. 2. All of our cats have taken to the box very well, especially with the additional space. Perfect for the bigger cats. 3. With the dome-No smell, the smell has been reduced significantly between cleanings. *bonus points with us* 4. Easy to clean and it's overall durability has really been great. We plan on buying another Booda Dome Cleanstep!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Great basic litter box

December 18, 2012
by CutiemusMaximus
fromWashington D.C.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We've been using this litter box for years and it performs fairly well for our two cats. They enjoy the privacy of the hooded design (we very much enjoy that too!), but it only slightly masks odors and the textured ramp does little to catch the extra litter tracked out by the cats.
Right now we are forced to keep the litter box in a common area--our living room--just because the layout of our tiny apartment does not offer a place to really hide this sizable box. So we end up supplementing the box with a litter rug, scratching post, and air freshener (and some lit candles after the kitties make an especially potent bowl movement) all contained within the vicinity to try and keep down the excess odor and litter tracked out.
All-in-all, this litter box was our best option due to our circumstances and the cats love it. If you are looking to a box that would do well out in the open, I highly recommend this one--just be sure to pick up some of those extra accessories mentioned above.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Regular covered one did better

December 6, 2012
by ahsely
fromfort mcmurray, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Not the best litter box. I find more litter tracked around house than before and if my cat happens to urinate on side of box (he is fixed so spraying isnt the problem) it ends up leaking out the side where the hood and bottom meet, no matter how tight I try to connect them. Just a gross mess. Very dissapointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

Meh

November 17, 2012
by 8675309
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
This litter box seems bigger than it is. While the whole thing takes up a lot of space (precious space if you live in an apartment like me), the actual litter box area inside is rather small. The odd shape means that it is kind of difficult to clean if your cat goes on the side and/ or corners. Also it isn't very deep, which means that litter get stuck to the bottom.
Plus side: it covers the smell and it sort of prevents tracking.
We've been using it for almost 2 years, but I'm sick of scraping the bottom and sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

It's just OKAY

November 11, 2012
by dnmskelton
fromIdaho
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The lid is impossible to put on. When my male kitten would urinate it would come out and down the side of the litter box 'cause the lid won't go on correctly. I spend more time cleaning up messes that the litter box should be keeping in. it took me 10 minutes of trying to get the lid on right, I don't want to have to spend 10 minutes every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Booda Dome Cleanstep
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great product

August 24, 2012
by Northfield
fromUs
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this on a recommendation from the clerk. Glad I did. It contains more of the mess and smell because of the design. The stairs collect litter off the feet, the hood contains more of the smell. My cat had no problem going into it the first time I put it down. She also recommended the Blue Buffalo clumping litter, awesome litter!!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.