PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food

This wholesome dog food is specially formulated to help promote healthy skin for your dog. The food is fortified with vitamins and minerals for balanced nutrition.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

excellent nutrition

January 22, 2014
by kbas
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have been using natures recipe for 23 years, exceptional quality and ingredients . Even great for our one with a sensitive GI tract . All our pets have kept perfect weight and a healthy shiny coat. And whether it had anything to do with the foodi am not sure, but our dogs are not treated with flea repellent and have never had fleas. However the price has been steadily increasing and quantity decreasing at the same time so the value is not what it used to be, 23 years later this has more than doubled in price and rising, guess the secret is out now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Skin Issues

December 20, 2013
by bdaq
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My husband and I have a 8yr old lab-pit mix. He is the sweetest dog in the world, but about 3 years ago he would get this skin irritation that would cause him to bite his hair off and scratch and lick all night. It would be so bad it would wake me up throughout the night. We went to 3 different vets, all telling us different things. He is allergic to fleas (he didn't have fleas), he just had allergies in the fall, etc. He was on VERY expensive meds and then the itching would go away and hair would grow back.....same thing would happen in 2 months.
I thought it might be food allergies and told all of these vets, which disregarded me. Well, I told our new vet and she wanted to start food trials. We gave him Nature's Recipe Healthy Skin Venison, its been 3 months and NO Issues!!!! Amazing product!
My family has made the switch to all organic and non-toxic products! Thank you Nature's Recipe!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Wonderful Product!

December 12, 2013
by chemelnalic
fromDes Moines, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When we first got our Australian Shepherd mix, he would scratch all the time. Funny thing is, he always had a really nice, soft coat, we just could not get him to stop scratching. We took him to the vet thinking he had allergies and the vet told us to switch to a venison or a fish food because his skin was just dry and needed the extra oils. We switched to the venison and, within days, he stopped scratching and surprisingly, stopped shedding almost entirely. We switched to the fish flavored food but he went back to scratching so we are sold on the venison! Great product for our pup!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 7 reviews

dogs like food

November 21, 2013
by lfollette
fromcincinnati ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
bad thing is, I used to purchase this at the store, but they never have it in stock so I have to order on-line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Nature's Recipe Venison

March 23, 2013
by Anonymous
fromWalled Lake, Mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is by far the best dog food I have ever found! I have had purebred dogs for over 40 years and used to feed him a popular food sold mostly in grocery stores.. When I tried Nature's Recipe, it even got a compliment from our Vet on how beautiful our Lab's coat looks. It is the shiniest coat I have ever seen on a dog.
He also is very lean, no extra weight for a house dog either.
I would definately recommend this dog food to everyone that's wants to keep there dog healthy and with them a long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

excellent product!

January 30, 2013
by Hannasmom
fromlas vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
My one doberman had terrible lumps all over his body. We tried everything, then my friend recommended venison dog food. I switched to Nature's recipe, and his coat transformed in two weeks. He even acts livelier! My mixed breed shepard stopped shedding too!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Venison Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

August 8, 2012
by k9lola
fromChandler,AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My German Shepherds love this food
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.