PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food

This dog food is made with wholesome ingredients to promote optimal health for your dog. The vegetarian recipe delivers vitamins and minerals for complete nutrition.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Good product for dog with sensitive skin

January 9, 2014
by wm1693
fromNortheastern USA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Have used this product for several years for dog sensitive to food with meat products. Same food in the can works well when a little is mixed with the dry food and some water.
Would rate 5 Stars except that I was disappointed when Nature's Recipe reduced the size of the bag from 5 lbs to 4.5 lbs but kept the price the same at the time of reduction a couple of years ago.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

good product...need more vegetarian options

January 2, 2014
by Veet
fromAnnapolis, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a good product for those who want their animals to not consume other animals. It would be nice if PetSmart considered stocking other healthy vegan brands such as Evolution.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Veg Dog

December 18, 2013
by jus1034
fromIndianapolis, IN
My lab requires a vegetarian diet or else he gets ear infections. This is the cheapest veg food we could find. Keeps his ear cleans but it is not cheap unless you buy during certain times of the year.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great food

November 2, 2013
by Mishaintc
fromMI
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 3 basset hounds and this formula keeps them from getting "yeasty" spots under their front legs and their coats are shiny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Vegetarian Dog Food is excellent for your dogs!!

August 13, 2013
by SEVENCATS
fromN.Y.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I use this dry kibble, sometimes mixing it with whole foods and more (broccoli, brown rice, veggies but NOT onions which are toxic for dogs, brewers yeast...), to make life more interesting. Been using it for years. Its not really "vegan" but much healthier than most all commercial 'dog food' and readily available at Petsmart, which i appreciate. One of my dogs is 16 and the vet says I am mistaken about her age...that she appears much younger (& is extremely healthy!). Diet is EVERYTHING, when it comes to health. If you think otherwise, just google the word "rendering" to find out whats really in your pet's food. Or google: "whats really in pet food" then "vegetarian dogs ", then "vegan dog". :-)
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great Vegetarian Option

February 13, 2013
by JamieL
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I really love that when all of those foods that were contaminated and making dogs sick in 2012 and 2007, Nature's Recipe did not even make the list!! Besides the wonderful comfort that provides me, Hailey (my 7 year old Lab/Bullmastiff mix) has been eating this brand for over 4 years and she loves it! She is extremely healthy with a beautiful coat and no stomach problems or any problems for that matter. I love that they offer a vegetarian option, but she has eaten the other flavors/varieties that Nature's Recipe has to offer and does well with those, too!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great product for the price

January 12, 2013
by AliVegan
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
There are better veg dog foods out there, but this is the only one that PetSmart carries, and is also the lowest priced. I've been feeding it to my dogs for years, rehydrated and mixed with whole foods, canned veg dog food, and supplements.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

My observation, for what it's worth...

November 22, 2012
by OldNavyDad
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have been using Nature's Recipe Vegetarian for a couple of years for all five of our dogs. When the kids went into the service we temporarily boarded their pets and somehow ended up "adopting" them because we have the acreage to give them room to roam safely. The tally now is two Beagles, a three legged MinPin, a Terrier mix and the AKC Shepard. We saw the real advantage of this formula, besides the fact that it does contribute to a healthy skin and coat, when the Shepard, who had a history of seizures, joined the family and began eating this brand with the rest of the crew. His seizures stopped and have not returned (knock on wood). He was on a well known animal protein based dry kibble before and the only difference now is the switch to Nature's Recipe Vegetarian. He eats cheese and other dairy (occasional yogurt), as do all the dogs, and has no problems with those so his seizures don't seem to be related simply to animal protein sensitivity. I have to conclude that there was just something in the other brands that contributed/exacerbated to the seizures, since he no longer has them.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

October 27, 2012
by Shaigrl33
fromClovis, NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a 5 year Westie who has suffered with skin and coat problems and I have been told it is allergies or animal protein. I put him on this dog food two years ago, and his itching and severe shedding stopped. I recently moved and all the pet stores do not carry this brand, so I bought a fish based food...did not work. I have to drive 1hr1/2
to the nearest Petsmart and I did..it's worth it.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe(r) Healthy Skin Vegetarian Natural Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Awesome product!

September 6, 2012
by HappyJudd
fromMidlothian, VA
We purchased this dog food when our black lab's coat became very dry. He had white flakes and was shedding excessively. The vet suggested we add olive oil to his food. We decided to try this food instead. It worked wonders! Within days his coat was looking better. No more dryness or shedding at all and very shiny. Very pleased with the results. Have tried other supposedly "health skin" foods that did not work. Now a loyal brand follower.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.