PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food

Specifically designed with added vitamins and nutrients and no fillers to ease digestion, and help keep your dog active and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.938 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
16 of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Grain Free is the way to go

March 16, 2014
by brownekar
fromAtlanta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog loves this food. She gobbles it up dry without any additives. She also loves the Turkey variety. The less grain you feed, the less mess you have to clean up :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Good product to relieve itchy skin

January 5, 2014
by TucsonMommy
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My two dogs have been on this food for a few months now and they love it. They were previously eating Nature's Recipe Healthy Weight which I put them on shortly after we adopted them because they were both overweight. However, our one dog started itching a lot. She is a medium sized mixed breed. I tried everything to help her - washing her bedding in All Free detergent, Benadryl, anti-itch spray, etc... but nothing seemed to help her. I heard that grain-free food could help with itchy skin so I decided to try Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Chicken, Sweet Potato and Pumpkin. I also had heard that staying away from meats could help with itchy skin and Nature's Recipe does have a Grain-Free Salmon option, but some reviewers complained about the smell and I think that would bother me, too. The chicken flavor seems to be working, however. I have noticed my dog is scratching a lot less. I am wondering if it could be a combination of the new food as well as the weather change now that it is cooler out. I guess I will find out come summer. I switched both dogs because I thought it would be easier to have both of them on the same food and this dog food is a very healthy option, plus both dogs are about at their ideal weight now so I no longer need a weight management food.
My only complaint is the cost. It is pretty costly to have two dogs on this food. I also wish that this food helped more with the joints, too. Our one dog is a large yellow lab. Our mixed breed dog was hit by a car as a puppy and had to have a pin put her in leg. She in particular needs extra joint care so I have been buying treats that specialize in joint care. I will continue to use this dog food as long as it is helping her itchy skin, though and we can afford it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Good food!

December 29, 2013
by newyorker
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Westie with skin issues and this food does not bother him at all. Before he was eating this he was itchy and smelly and now he is not. I would recommend anyone to give it a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Excellent For Dogs With Allergies

November 15, 2013
by PHamm
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 80lb blue Bully (American Pit Bull Terrier/American Bulldog) has sensitive skill and a grain allergy. Since he has been on Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Chicken/Pumpkin/Sweet Potato Easy To Digest Dog Food, our trips to the vet for steroid and antibiotic injections have been eliminated! I can now treat minor skin abrasions with a topical steroid/antibiotic spray, no vet bill and no trauma to my baby!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

July 7, 2013
by Armma8
fromNew Hampshire
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 9 year old Golden Retriver has fought skin allergies and sensitve stomach for years.Even with the vets advice on what dog food to buy. Someone that raises Goldens told me that they are sensitive to wheat,corn and soy.I spent hours reading labels on alot of good name brands and found Natures Recipe's. He has change as I do not see him licking and scratching,his doesn't have a ton of bowel movements and his energy has increase.Also the nasty ears seems to be better.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

good!!

April 10, 2013
by biotechchic57
fromMentor, OH
My labradoodle had digestive issues and chronic ear infections with other foods, even other high end foods. Both of these issues are cleared up after switching to this grain free food. Also, this is the only food that he will eat consistently without me begging him! I highly recommend for reducing digestive or other allergies.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

great for sensitive stomachs & allergies

March 6, 2013
by meghan22211
fromCooperstown, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This food is fantastic! both my labs love it. my chocolate lab wouldnt eat anything other than the one he was on, hes very picky ,and would get sick on any others we tried. but he loves this now! and my puppy yellow lab has a wheat allergy & this is great for her as well. i would highly recommend this food for either picky, sensitive, or dogs with allergies!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

good for skin or digestive issues

January 2, 2013
by nickel
fromTexas
Have fed it several years; the grain free products are good for my 3 dogs' digestive and skin issues, as well as a good nutritional food.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This food has been my dogs saving grace

November 15, 2012
by Sharkowner
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Dogo Argentino (125lbs) who has skin and digestive allergies which cause him to chew his paws till they bleed and give him very horrible BMs. Since I put him on this food he has improved tremendously. He still chews his paws a little but I think it is just habbit now. He does not go BM 10+ times a day and smell to high heaven. Our vet had him on prescription food and he wouldn't eat it. This he will eat without anything else mixed in and he loves it. FYI, my cat hunts for kernels that have dropped, he loves it too.
I used other recipes of this brand but when I saw the pumpkin/sweet potato I was thrilled as I used to mix organic pumpkin with dog food to help his stomach. I do not have to do that any longer!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Relieved my dogs itching

October 8, 2012
by mammierose
fromPomona, New Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After trying many foods and people's advice to relieve my dogs constant scratching herself, someone suggested this grain free dog food and my problem was solved. I reccomend it all the time.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best all around grain-free kibble for all ages

October 3, 2012
by redgarnet
fromSeminole, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 3 rescue dogs, now in the senior age group. My mid-sized dog (Sophie) has Cushings and has always had an issue with itchy skin, very loose bowels, and gas. I have tried many other major brands but my dogs would not always eat...they would sniff the bowl and walk away (well, except Sophie with her ravenous "Cushings" appetite). Since placing all 3 on Nature's Recipe, they all eat their food each day. Sophie's gas problems were reduced greatly once placed on Nature's Recipe, but she still had the loose stools but not as frequently. I then tried the new grain-free version and have noticed firmer stools. I cannot validate that the grain-free food has helped with the stools completely, but I can confirm that all 3 love this food and clean their bowls every day. Also, the gas issue is completely resolved as well as the itchy, bumpy skin on Sophie. I would highly recommend this food. The kibble is sized appropriately for all size dogs...I think even a very small dog could eat this kibble. Plus, I always am able to take advantage of the sales that PetSmart has on this food which helps greatly when on a fixed budget.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

September 23, 2012
by diamondd33
fromJACKSONVILLE FLORIDA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
MY TOYA LOVES THIS PRODUCT, SHE DID NOT EAT THE OTHER FOOD I BROUGHT.THIS FOOD IS EASIER TO DIGEST-SHE IS EIGHT WKS OLD. THIS FOOD LOOKS LIKE TABLE FOOD-SHE EATS A LOT BETTER,IT MAKES ME HAPPY, THAT SHE IS IS ENJOYING HER FOOD.I RECCOMMEND THIS TO FRIENDS.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best Dog Food My Dog Has Ever Eaten!

September 11, 2012
by CPocket
fromBrazoria County, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Four months after adopting my Pomeranian from the SPCA, I was still trying to find a dog food she would eat! I think she only ate barely twice a day just to live... and she had itchy skin and bad upset stomach issues. Finally I give this food a try and she LOVES it. She eats all day, no upset stomach, and no itchy skin! I'm very impressed with the ingredients, especially since this brand makes so many that are grain free, easy to digest, and all other sorts. It's definitely worth the money you spend and more, and that's why I highly recommend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Natures Recipe Chicken Grain Free

August 28, 2012
by VIVI21
fromLas Vegas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I own two dogs a pitbull and a chihuaha the pit has skin allergies and my chi is picky like a first grader we used a popular name brand. after i found out it was horrible dog food ingrediant the kibble is even small enough for my chi to eat she is always eating it up and he loves it and doesnt itch as much ive only had it for three weeks and the bag is almost empty great product Natures Recipe!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great Food

April 17, 2012
by overallpackleader
fromFarmington, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We've been feeding our mature dog this food for some time now, then we got two puppy Chihuahuas and added them to our family. We started the puppies on another famous name brand puppy food, but they will only eat that if this dog food isn't down for the mature dog. They all absolutely love this food and we won't switch to another unless the money runs out and we're forced to switch to a cheaper brand.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Recipe Grain Free Easy-to-Digest Dry Chicken Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Rocky loves it!

April 11, 2012
by mominchief
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When we adopted our corgi, Rocky, we originally tried another brand of dog food but it simply didn't agree with him. My sister has had good luck with Nature's Recipe, so we switched and Rocky's loved it ever since.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.