PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters

Keep your water crystal clear with Aqueon's four-stage filtration process that includes mechanical filtration, chemical filtration, biological filtration, and stationary wet/dry filtration. Available in a variety of sizes.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
15 of 24(62%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Greaaaaaat filter

January 5, 2014
by Oscarlover235
fromPensylvania
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter kicks butt and since I may be getting 2 fish in my bow front I will mostlikly pickup a 10gal by this brand too. This is a very quite filter and I would know since I sleep with it in my room. Over all aqueon is a go to filter brand for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great filter

December 29, 2013
by Brick7914
fromRapid city SD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I bought the Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 to replace my Quiet Flow 20 that was damaged by a power surge in my home. The Quiet flow 20 came with the aquarium kit i bought three years ago and it worked flawlessly until this week. These are great filters and great price, the only noise they make is from the water flowing back it to the tank and that is minimal. And boy do they move LOTS of water! I like these filters!!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

GREAT FILTER, BUT LOUDER THAN AQUEON QUIET FLOW 20

November 25, 2013
by FishAreFun
fromFitchburg, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I had the Quiet Flow 20 and it stopped working due to a clog I didn't notice. I had found a recipe for snail food online and the gelatin in the recipe clogged up the filter and the pump burned out. Whoops! Anyway, I went to PetSmart to buy a new one and the sales associate talked me into the Quiet Flow 30 (one size larger). Whoops again. It sure circulates the water, but the noise is much more noticeable than the 20. The motor is a little louder and the water flow is significantly louder. I thought I would get used to it after a week. After 3 weeks, I am still a little annoyed with the noise. The fish avoided the flow at first but have seemed to adjust somewhat. I have a 26 gallon bow front which initially came with the Quiet Flow 20. I wish I had bought the same size for the replacement. I really liked the Quiet Flow 20 and think I will go buy that one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Really good!

November 21, 2013
by FishyRandy
fromSurrey
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just love this filter, much more powerful than my old filter which was for a 30G tank but it wasn't doing a very good job of filtering and would have problems with too high levels even with a new pad and water changes. Installed this baby and the water instantly cleared up and almost all the excess feces vanished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Nice and quiet, yet provides perfect aeration.

November 12, 2013
by StevenF
fromKC, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I love this filter, its quiet and adds tons of oxygen to the aquarium.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Not fo use on Clear for Life Acrylic Tanks

November 4, 2013
by RayFisher
fromGrand Rapids, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
I wasn't able to use this filter, as after I put it all together, and went to hang it on the back of my new Clear for Life Acrylic Aquarium, the inlet tube will not fit in the place provided for a filter. It's about 1/4 to 1/2 inch too wide for the opening. I will probably end up returning it unless it fits on the second tank I have ordered.
Cons: Hard to Install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Poor Filtering

June 8, 2013
by rletan
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter is bad at keeping the water clean. The pads are not very full with carbon and you find yourself having to constantly change them. It's worth spending a few more bucks and getting a better filter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Aqueon quiet flow fliter

May 25, 2013
by PotterStarr
fromwashington state
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this 30 gallon filter for my 20 fish tank. It was easy to install. But after 24 hrs. my water turned brown. I then took half the water out and added new. It was nice and clear for about 2 days then the water turned brown again. I returned the filter and bought a FLUVAL. I can slowly watch my tank improve. This cost a little more then the Aqueon but with my trade in I got a good deal. I had no problem returning it to PetSmart. I love PetSmart. I have a cat and I buy there for her too. Can't go wrong with PetSmart
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

BOOYA! POWWWWWER!!

May 18, 2013
by H2OJustAddME
fromknoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
LOVE IT.. to say the least. its full of power and it works great!! just don't start it dry... get some tank water the pour it in the media inside the filter and THEN start it up! i did it dry first and it exploded all over me.... STILL LOVE IT THOUGH
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Not good

April 30, 2013
by Broncosdude94
fromLong island
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
This is not a good filter. I have one in my 20 g tank and it does not keep it clear.
I have another one that for some reason came with my 36 gallon starter kit and no way could this filter that.
I would put this in a 10-15 gallon tank, no more.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Came with Coupons!

March 28, 2013
by DarkestCloud
fromSaskatoon, SK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
As advertised, this is quiet. And it flows. And it filters. It's kind of a pain to set up, as the instructions manual is rather limited, but after that, works well. It's unobtrusive, and I've had no problems yet. And it came with coupons, which is the best part.
Pros: works great
Cons: Hard to Install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Good quiet filter

February 24, 2013
by Dez1990
fromPa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a good filter I got mine about 2 days ago, its super quiet and keeps my tank clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

loud loud loud

February 5, 2013
by zoowee
fromgta ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
super easy set up
moves water as it should but its not quiet as the name says...easy to cover the filter noise up with a tv, fan, radio ect. its not really loud but its not quiet so if setting in a livingroom itll be fine but for a bed room you may want to re concider
Pros: works great, easy to install
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

January 29, 2013
by fishpro
fromvancouver B.C
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
if i was a person that loves fish i would get this filter.
not only this filter has high quality preformance it tells you when you need to change the filter cartridge.
in some of the comments i heard the water went through the plastic tab not even touching the cartridge.
in fact that does not mean the filters bad but telling you that the filter cartridge needs to be removed
well i hope this was a good review for you and wish you luck on your fish "journey"
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

does job good

January 19, 2013
by zippy1951
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Excellent filter does the job real good
Pros: works great, easy to install
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

January 14, 2013
by maggiemoo
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
received this filter with my new bow front tank that I got from Petsmart. Love the filter. Very quite, very easy to clean and change the pad in it. Also it works great and keeps my tank really clean. Out of all the filters I have owned, this is by far my favorite.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Its not very good

November 29, 2012
by bvbvfib
fromHamilton Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
I put one of these in everyone of my fish tanks (i have 5) I have bought 8 of these because 3 broke, now 2 more have broken. They last about half a year and then they break, also they are so loud when they break it makes me just throw them away, and the are very difficult to fix when they break
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

noisy filter

October 25, 2012
by pasha2001
fromflorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
i have had this filter for a few months now and i cant take it anymore! it is so noisy. if you want to stay up all night you can buy but if you want to sleep like a baby buy a tetra whisper internal filter.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent!!!

October 19, 2012
by LUVLIFE
fromNew York, NY
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter does exactly what it says; powerful and creates great aeration in my tank. I have a 15G Column....technically i would use the Flow 20, but because i am somewhat OCD and the tank is so tall i went with the Flow 30. It is SUPER quiet, if you hear this filter then something is wrong. I have my water level a little low so i can get the waterfall sound and it is perfect. Keeps my tank clean.
Very happy with this purchase!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 30 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Adequate but not great.

August 11, 2012
by DevBiker
fromKaty, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
This filter does a decent job at keeping the tank clean. However, the filter media doesn't inspire confidence and the "bio cartridge" is minimal at best.
One serious flaw in the filter media is that the carbon and the mechanical filtration are combined. Because of this, you can't remove just the carbon if you are treating the tank for an outbreak of any kind; the carbon will remove the medication. Other filters that provide the ability to separate the carbon filtration from the mechanical filtration are better choices overall. The plus side, however, is that the filter media is very easy to change.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next