PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw Training Pad Holder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw Training Pad Holder

This training pad holder helps keep your floors clean with double buckle enclosures that secure your dog's training pad in place. Nonskid rubber feet help keep the holder in place.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
14 of 20(70%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Review 1 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Figured a way to make it work...keep reading!

March 13, 2014
by SuzyfromTexas
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have created my own system using this training pad holder and it's PERFECT! My two yorkies tore up puppy pads alone. I hated how messy the Potty Patch and Tinkle Turf were. I tried to put puppy pads underneath and they would move the grass and tear them up.
Enter the Puppy Pad Holder! I place a puppy pad AND a piece of synthetic grass on top and snap them in. It took a little work at first to get it to snap, but now it's perfect. The puppy pads don't get torn up. The grass doesn't get torn up. Life is good.
Hope that helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Piddle Pan

March 12, 2014
by mollymom1
fromDavenport
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These are exactly like they are described online. Light weight and easy to use and keep clean. I have two...one by each door!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Why a rectangle?

February 2, 2014
by Kermi
fromAnaheim, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was at a local store with my dog to check out potty pad holders. Originally, I wanted to find the Martha Stewart SQUARE pad holder but they didn't have it. I laughed at the idea of a rectangular one because all of the pads they sell at stores are square.... I thought it was funny that they cut off a few inches in one direction to save on production costs. Anyway, I grabbed one, placed it on the floor and nudged my 15lb cairn mix onto it and she started to go on it. In the store. And this was a miracle because I'd been trying to pad train her indoors for months and if she wasn't holding it in all day, she was missing the pad. So I brought it home after I grabbed the spray bottle and cleaned it up ( took a picture of it because I was shocked and couldn't believe she did it ) . It's helped a lot with her aim in the month that we've had it. She would spin and spin on just a pad and then miss because she stopped on a corner. Now she spins within the raised edges. Occasionally she'll miss because I didn't push it up against the wall by her favorite potty spot....we're slowly working on getting her to associate pottying on the pad wherever the pad is instead of just her potty spot. The clips work ok, I don't really need them to secure the pad, just need the lid as a guard rail. I've probably used three different brands of square pads and they all fit. On the short sides you can see a little bit of the plastic border of the pads in the frame and then on the long sides you have a little bit of plastic border peeking out from under the lid. Overall, it looks clean and neat despite the odd shape decision. The blue and white design is nice, glad it's not an eyesore.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

December 9, 2013
by jcarr059
fromLytle, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
As soon as Pumpkin saw the Training Pad Holder she went right to it, and uses it. I don't have to worry when it to cold or raining to take her outside anymore. It's the BEST.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

Top Paw Training Pad Holder doesn't hold

November 30, 2013
by Beaka
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased 4 of these training pad holders from Petsmart online to place in "problem areas" around the house. On 3 out of the 4 of them the buckles don't stay snapped so they do nothing to hold the pad in place. One dig and it goes sliding. The one that does work is great, but they must be pretty cheaply made if only one out of the bunch actually snaps closed. You may do better to buy them from the store so you can test out the buckles and ensure you find a good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

great product but needs adapted

August 15, 2013
by rssjw
fromGresham, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is actually a great product but I did have to change the design a little. When my 2 dogs were puppies, they would also grab the middle of the pad and tear it out and that's where the problem arose. But a little ingenuity will solve this problem people. All you have to do is go to the hardware store, go to the outdoor/gardening section and find the spot where they sell chicken wire. Now chicken wire is too rough for little puppy feet, but right next to it they should sell a black plastic grid stuff that's sold on a roll; it's like an alternative to chicken wire (it has various practical uses). All you have to do is cut that to the size of the tray and put the pad down and put the black grid stuff right over top of the pad and lock it all in place. This stopped my puppies from tearing up the pad so it may work for you too. Now, if cleaning the black grid is too much for you, than I don't know what to tell you. Puppies don't stay puppies forever and you may want to reconsider having a dog altogether if a little cleaning is a problem for you.
Now, six years later I'm back to buy a second one because I'm getting a new job a will be gone all day and my dogs will not have access to the outside. It is a good practical product; just give it a chance.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

Waste of money

July 20, 2013
by vivianampm
fromSilver Spring, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dogs had a very big move and change of environment so even though they are well mannered we had to "re-train" their potty area. I bought this because I thought it would aid, but the truth is they are already over the puppy phase and this pad is just too tiny. Dogs like to sniff, twirl around when they look for their bathroom area and this becomes a handycap.
Since they are no longer puppies they dont break the pads or anything like that so i've just put this one on the shelves for now...
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Kept the cats away!

June 17, 2013
by fatcats24
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently adopted a Chihuahua and managed to puppy pad train him. No longer wanting to crate him, I decided to let him free roam the house while I am at work and lay a puppy pad by the door. However, my youngest cat would tear up the pads and scatter the pieces throughout the house (I know it was the kitten and not the dog because I watched him do it). So, I bought this tray and since the kitten is no longer able to reach under the corners, he's completely lost interest and my chi is able to do his business in an appropriate spot!
The pads I buy are a bit bigger than the tray but I'd rather them be too big than too small - I just fold the edges until it fits perfectly and it's all hidden when I lock the tray into place.
I'd definitely recommend it because it's practical, makes the pad look slightly better (if that's possible) and keeps unwanted prying feet away!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

Doesn't solve the problem

May 15, 2013
by Dougp
fromWichita KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We purchased this pad holder thinking it would solve the issue of the puppies wanting to chew/eat the pad. Unfortunately they just grab the pad in the middle and tear it up anyway. Another issue we ran into was the pads are not a standard size that fits this holder. They're either to small or to large. We bought the larger size and had to trim them to fit the holder. Overall it's a good idea that just didn't work for us. I would not recommend this if you're concerned about your puppy or dog chewing and swallowing the plastic pad liner.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

The pup thinks it's another bed...

March 30, 2013
by Tartufo
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this for a pup that was mostly potty trained when I got him - mostly for just in case he had to go when I was at work, I hoped he would go on the specially scented training pads. It seems like a good quality item and it is a good idea to hold the pad in place and keep the "deposits" from leaking through. I'm pretty sure I'm going to return it though because my dog often sleeps on it - even though he has several super fancy and expensive other beds in the house. Since dogs won't "go" where they sleep, I assume he'll never use it for the intended purpose. I do feel bad that he'll have to go back to using his actual beds though.
It made me laugh to read about the dogs that are afraid of it - I definitely don't have that problem.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Huge solution to our problems!

March 22, 2013
by akio
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Our puppy is trained to go on paper when we aren't around to take him outside. We suddenly were having a problem with him tearing up his potty pad when we were at work then having nowhere to go and making a mess in his area.
We thought we would try this out to see if it would discourage him from ripping up his pad. Worked like a charm! We come home from work to a happy puppy who eliminates in his proper spot.
The other benefit is that it improves his aim. No more going on the edge of the pad and mostly on the floor.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Nice Price & Nice product

March 3, 2013
by scrad750
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Don't listen to low reviews. I bought 2 of these and they both work great. At 1st my little one was scared of it, but with the family giving her assurance she has learned to use it just fine. In less than 1 week she uses it with ease. The snaps on both sides holds the top ring around the pad in place and if by some reason you do have a leak through. The lip around the bottom tray holds it all in and is an easy clean up. No run offs!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Amazing!!

January 4, 2013
by PetOwnerandRescuer
fromPikeville, KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have used two of these training pad holders for over 4 years now! I haven't had any problems at all with my dog using them. I love the facts that it holds the pad in place and that it allows my dog to know where the edges of the pads are. Be deliniating the edges of the pad, the dog knows where to "aim"! I would highly recommend this product to anyone and have many times over the years!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

The Perfect Pad holder

December 11, 2012
by Daddy1234
fromArizona
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this pad holder for our new puppy and it is perfect! The pad doesnt get all bunched up which makes for my clean up so much easier. For those of you who said your having issues with it, take it back and get a new one, maybe that one had a deffect, who knows. But the one i have works perfect and does exactly what I need it to do. This is by far teh best pad holder on the market. I tell everyone about it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Tiny 2.6 lb Maltese - 4 month old puppy !!!

November 22, 2012
by GeoMan
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
WoW!! From day 1 of coming home, our little Maltese puppy started to use it with almost no promoting. I have never seen anything like it. Don't pay attention to these low reviews. Give it a try. Your puppy dog may take to it and then they may not. My guess is that the younger they are, the easier to get them to use it. If older dog, probably a bit harder if not impossible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

November 20, 2012
by toypoodlepuppy
fromCedar Lake, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My puppy had no problems with this holder.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

not worth buying

November 11, 2012
by newpupgus
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Got this for our new puppy - he hasn't used it once. The buckle/snaps to hold the pad in place keep opening up, which obviously isn't working for us. I wouldn't suggest this product for anyone, just use the pad on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Excellent to hold Potty Pads in place!

November 3, 2012
by Jillybee
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This frame works perfectly to hold potty pads in place. I like the rubber feet that keep the frame from sliding. My puppy had no problem with using the pad in the frame and it kept her from dragging and chewing the potty pad. It's very easy to change the pad and very
easy to clean the frame. Well made and well worth the price.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Do not buy

November 1, 2012
by PottyNightmare
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Do you have a dog? Don't buy this. This is not for dogs. It's actually not good for anything.
I read the other reviewer's comment about their dog being scared of this product and I thought that was silly. Nope. The thing doesn't sit flat and has a big bulge in the middle so it moves when a dog steps on it. Why???? I broke it trying to bend it into a normal shape.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Paw Training Pad Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

I'm scarde

October 17, 2012
by mookie12
fromWindsor, On. Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product for my new puppy before I got him. He is so scared of this frame. If I put just the pad on the floor he will use it. When I put it in the frame, and I put him on the pad, he runs away, he is so scared of it. I took off the stickers and tags and threw them out. I hope that I can return it, I still have the bill.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.