PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Whisker City(r) Play Yard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City(r) Play Yard

Your crazy kitty will love playing or just lounging on this play yard. Ideal for multiple cats, the play yard features durable carpet for scratching and plush surfaces for comfortable napping. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
21 of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Review 1 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

worth the price but purchased on sale

February 11, 2014
by felinerescueperson
fromWest Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
For the money, this one is well made, sturdy and stands up to use. My guys did manage to tip it over but because they were really having fun. Put some weights on the bottom for stability. They did scratch right through the sisal rope in short time. Oh, well. (At least it wasn't the sofa) I have 14 rescued cats and 8 trees. This tree is my favorite. We have 2 and they are both holding up well - except for the sisal which never lasts long anyway. I have learned how to repair and eventually replace the sisal rope. :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Great tree

December 29, 2013
by Horatio
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was looking for a sturdy and stable tree for a large cat and this one fits the bill. I'd read how other trees might be unstable and need to be placed against a wall and this one doesn't seem to have that problem. My cat loves this tree and after a few hours was jumping and climbing up and down the three levels, then curled up on the top and took a nap. I can see where other reviewers say the carpet may not lasts because of the quality, but I think this is a problem with all trees. I know the feather will be quickly destroyed, but I switch them out with replacement danglers - my cat goes crazy for them so it's a bonus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great Tree

November 4, 2013
by MaineCoonMan
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was looking for a strong tree. A tree that would hold up to my young, slim and still growing 17 pound Maine Coon. He has no trouble climbing to the top. I did add some extra weight to the base for safety. Probably not necessary. I believe this tree will serve his needs for many years. He loves to curl up in the bottom and top perch.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Cheaply made product

November 3, 2013
by MrsTigercat
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We got the Whisker City 4-tier "Play Yard" cat tower at Petsmart in July 2013. Our 2 cats love it, but within a month the carpet covering was coming apart. Little tufts of fibers shed off of it all over the place, and the nylon threads stick out - that my cat chews on. I have to cut those threads off daily. I paid $135 for it, but it's very cheap quality carpet covering. The overall structure is good, though. No warranty on the label.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Happy Picky Cat

September 1, 2013
by JSSW
fromNYC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat really loves this tree. She never leaps up to the top herself, but when placed there is very pleased to look out the window, and can easily get down. Usually, she uses the bottom and third tiers, the former for napping and the latter for bird watching. Since she only scratches cardboard and plays with paper, the scratcher and toy features go ignored.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Perfect tree

August 17, 2013
by Extremelyhappyfamily
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the best tree for my cats. They are 13 and 10 pounds and like roomy comfort. This tree has been a favorite nap place for my larger kitty. The oval shaped level is perfect for him but he also spends a lot of time at the top. Also, the levels are easy to climb and this is important because my other kitty has short legs and can be clumsy when jumping. The placement of the levels and carpeted posts really help her. Today, I purchased our second replacement (third tree) because the posts do take a lot of scratching and destruction from the smaller kitty. Each tree has lasted 1 1/2 to 2 years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great product!

August 2, 2013
by Breazer
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our cat really loves this tower and all the levels it has. It is providing her with a lot of entertainment. I think it was a good purchase, and I would definitely recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

This stand is extremely durable!

June 29, 2013
by keepitreal1
fromChattanooga, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My cats absolutely LOVE this stand. They wear the scratching post out - which protects my furniture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Very Sturdy Kitty Condo

June 29, 2013
by CMCastro
fromRenton, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two rescue cats (got both through PurrFect Pals through Petsmart) both of them seven years old. One is 15 pounds and the other is close to 17 pounds. They both jump up and down all over and it is very sturdy. BooBoo has decided that she wants this all to herself so I am going to buy her brother Hummer one of his own on my way home from work. She was abused before we got her and is at times territorial. She has her moments. Would definitely recommend this tree to anyone. Safe, sturdy and tons of fun for the cats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Loved by both felines and humans!!!

March 6, 2013
by Idamaescookies
fromBroadview, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall I am very impressed with the quality of this type of cat furniture. It is sturdy and looks great. The height of the tower allows my cats to “survey the land”, which thy love! The feather toy can be replaced when the toy gets destroyed, which I know it will. I now have 2 cats and this is the first large piece of furniture that I have gotten them that did not require some assembly…yay! Tyson is my 8 year-old, 15 lb. big boy, and Knuckles is my 5 year-old, 7.5 lb., kidney stone afflicted little boy. I purchased this tower on the 4th of this month from my local Petsmart. At first, Knuckles was the only one who seemed interested, but by day two Tyson started to come around. I sprinkled a little catnip on the platforms to get Tyson started. Since then the boys have been all over it. My cats have such a difference between their weights. Since Knuckles has been ill, he has lost his appetite and Tyson has gained a bigger appetite. I am hoping this tower will help both of them tone their muscles from playing around more. There was one surprise I had at the store: my purchase was different than the online photo, which I knew was a possibility, It did not have a sisal wrapped lower leg, and there are no plush inserts for the circular and oval platforms. The entire piece is carpeted. I was initially disappointed, but that quickly resolved when I looked at the craftsmanship of this tower. Luckily, I can sew and I will make inserts that I can easily launder. Every being in my household is thrilled with this new addition to our living room!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

loved by all

February 18, 2013
by luvmycats3
frommcminnville or
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have this cat tree and my 3 cats love it.the feather toy was broke within minutes but they love climbing and sleeping on this tree,i highly recommend!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Purrfect!

January 15, 2013
by keithkarma
fromHot Springs, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great tree. My cats love the differant levels, & love to sleep on the top of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Very sturdy product

January 7, 2013
by tilghman
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our 2 rescued cats love this tower. I put ping pong balls in the upper lever and they kick them out, a fun game. They both can wrestle in the penthouse without it moving much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

December 29, 2012
by catlover1957
fromMinneapolis,Mn.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Im totally impressed with this product! My cat Ace just loves it!! It took him only about 5 min to feel comfortable with it. after sniffing around to make sure he was safe he jumped up to the second tier and then to the 3rd tier. It took him another 10 min to get to the top tier. he finally has rested on the 3rd tier and has been there for 2 hours straight!! hahahahah I highly recommend this to any cat owner and make sure you have your camera ready when you bring it home. My wife and I were on the floor laughing so hard watching Ace tryin to figure out his new tree.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Awesome kitty furniture!

December 12, 2012
by Rockrmom
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My husband and I picked this up for our 3 cats this past weekend. We had been eyeing it up for some time now but it was on sale and we couldn't pass it up! They love it!!! They have another cat tree but it's 6 years old...they needed an upgrade! This is perfect for multiple cats. Our oldest cat loves lying in the furry bed at the bottom and our 2 younger cats have claimed the top 2 tiers as their own. Only problem is the cat toy became detached within 15 minutes of the cats checking it out. Guess we'll have to staple it back on or something.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great Tree!

December 10, 2012
by almonty55
fromBrooklyn Center, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 4 cats (2 of them being VERY destructive little monsters) and this tree has held up amazingly well. I've owned this tree for over a year now and it's still going strong. Just needs a little trimming of stray fibers and I run a comb over it about once a month to de-fuzzify it. The hanging toy did get ripped off and destroyed about 3 months into owning it, but the chain is still attached.
My cats range in weight from 8lbs to 10lbs. Very sturdy tree, never had concern that it would tip, they LOVE it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

November 19, 2012
by oreoazure
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was a perfect tree because the middle platform is level with my window ledge. They love nothing better than to lay there and get the sun along with a view
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

November 12, 2012
by kruss
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I am very pleased with this product. It is great for larger cats. It is very stable. My two cats took to it right away and there is enough levels to keep them both busy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Cats Love it

October 20, 2012
by FLCatMom777
fromJacksonville florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 2 cats just love this tree. They have a lot of toys, but this was their first cat furniture. I had it a year. They climb and jump on it and sleep in the two upper levels. They do not use the scratching post on the bottom but they do not use the free standing one I have either. They do like to scratch on the verticle carpet posts-which are almost worn off now. I would recommend this-the cats really do like to play sleep in it
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whisker City(r) Play Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

GREAT tree!

September 26, 2012
by DsCats
fromStafford, CT
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have 5 fussy indoor cats - I picked this tree because of the plush beds, different shaped beds and contrasting colors. My 17 yr old girl loves the oval bed (at 39" h) and has no problem reaching that bed. Our 4 yr old girl launches herself to and from the top bed without the whole tree moving. It has nicely staggered beds/platform, is sturdy and very inviting. The rug does wrap around on the bottom, but I placed felt pads on the bottom for added protection to the floor.
I paid full price and it's worth every penny :-)
I highly recommend this cat tree!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next