PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit

Form and function unite in these easy-to-set-up, stylish aquarium kits. Made of crystal clear acrylic, ten times stronger than glass! The kits are so complete all you have to do is add water and fish! Choose silver or black trim in 4 gallon sizes.
Overall rating:
3.111 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great Tank!

December 31, 2013
by CharlotteRose
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I received this tank for Christmas and I was absolutely delighted when I opened it. I had been on Petsmart's website recently looking for a new fish bowl. When I came across this one I knew it was perfect! The biorb is perfect for my desk in my room. I've read other reviews where they stated there tank leaked, but you just have to keep the water level lower...read the directions! I have two 1 1/2 inch goldfish in mine, as I am aware of the 1 inch per gallon rule for fish. They have a mystery snail living with them too, who loves it! There is one downfall to this lovely tank though, the filter. It makes a weird buzzing noise if you do not position it a certain way. As long as you do this, it doesn't keep you awake at night. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend! It's great! And I rate it five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Baby BiOrb is not what you think it is!

August 10, 2013
by Koch
fromTexas, SA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I received this from a friend, brand new for a gift. It was easy to set up, but cleaning is a different story. The small opening makes it extremely difficult to clean. The filter media + add on are also extremely expensive. The acrylic scratches very easily and destroys the beauty of the tank. I would suggest buying a glass tank, it will be bigger, cheaper, and easier to clean!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

More than meets the eye

July 31, 2013
by KennyPL
fromGreenwich, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this tank and the larger orb. I got the alternate colored top and bottom for them so they matched my room. At first, mine was leaking a little like some other people had said. I took the box out (because I keep all of the boxes) to bring it back, and realized that right ON THE BOX it showed the water level inches from the top. I took out the instructions and it said the water should be a couple inches above the tube. I lowered the water level and NO MORE leaking. I'm happy because I love the look of the tank and I was upset that I was going to bring it back.
I keep small fish in the small orb. Use your fishkeeping rules of thumb. What is it, 1 inch of fish for every gallon or something?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great little tank!

December 19, 2012
by superduper
fromRockford, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tank is great. Too high maintenance? I've gone three months without changing the filter and it is crystal clear. It is not hard to change the filter. It sits in a fairly sunny room as well and I've had no algae growth. It is much easier to maintain than the tanks with over the side filters I have had in the past. It has never leaked, nor should it! It is assembled when it arrives, all you do is put the filter in and put the tube up. It is an enclosed tank with a sealed hole for the air tube. If it leaks, you have done something to it, or you have a defective tank. You can use different rocks in it, other than the suggested, as long as they are bigger than a pea. It comes with a bag of ceramic rocks to cover the bottom. You can not use gravel, just like you cant use gravel with some other in-tank filters, because it will suck the small rocks up and break the filter. You can also use regular plants and decorations. All of mine are generic from the fish aisle. Also, use common sense when choosing fish to go in it. Different kinds of fish have different tank size requirements. There are guides online for that. You cant expect to cram a bunch of fish in a 4 gallon tank, and you cant expect to have tropical fish in this tank unless you buy the heater that goes with it. I have a beta, a mystery snail, a ghost shrimp, and a few moss balls in mine. I would like to get this tank in the 16 gallon size someday because I love this 4 gallon one so much. My only complaint is that the biOrb line has gone online-only now, so none of the accessories will be available in store anymore. Also the top of the light is off-white and does not match the color of the rim and base and looks kind of tacky. I fixed that with a quick spritz of spray paint, as the light insert is removable. This is a great tank and everything should go smoothly if you just do maybe a smidge of research into fish care, as you should before ever getting any kind of fish. If it is defective, take it to your local Petsmart store. They will be happy to help you with your problem. Maybe they can help you fix it, if it is simple user error, and you can enjoy your tank like I do.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Great for ages 11+

May 5, 2012
by Bettafishowner
fromWoodbridge,VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have one in my room, you need a towel under it, it does leak. I have 1 beta in mine and he's happy as ever. I suggest getting a ring plant, around the filter. It kind of slows down the bubbles. It's really loud though. I got it a few months ago, and I have gotten used to the sound. Plus the light is bright. I would suggest in the day time you turn off the light, to save power. Thanks! I hope this was helpful.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

it does leak

April 17, 2012
by soto
fromUSA
Its nice for home decoration. But has some issue.We just got it yesterday, and we did fallow all direction, but it leaks right away after we fill it with water. Also the fact sun light can burn the house? So we hide it in corner and the light which comes with doesnt even light it. The pump is loud and must run 24 hours. I guess all pumps are loud....but do they need to run 24 hours a day? The air is coming thru bottom of the tank, so how it can not leak?
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great little aquarium!

February 29, 2012
by Elle68
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have had this aquarium for 3 years now and are really enjoying it. It is lovely and our beta thrives in it! I am unsure about why another reviewer says it leaks since it is an acrylic bowl. Ours runs perfectly! I would definitely recommend this aquarium to anyone looking for a unique item that is easy to maintain and pretty to look at!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

LEAKS

January 22, 2012
by 2betas
fromWilmington, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Looks cool. Our 2 girl betas love it. It is difficult to decorate. But leaking and ruining furniture was the last straw. Uncool.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Baby biOrb 4 Gallon Silver Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Nice but too high maintenance

December 18, 2011
by Mommyofacikid
fromMineral Wells, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The tank is a nice little tank for a modern home. It's hard to decorate since you can't use the regular gravel, and the rocks suggested are much more expensive. The plants are more expensive as well, and don't fit the tank well.
The tank filter is difficult to get to to change as often as it needs to be changed. It does a poor job of keeping clean long enough to take a breath. We have two small guppies in ours, and I'm constantly battling algae, and the tank light is rarely on, and the tank itself isn't anywhere near sunlight.
I would NOT recommend this tank or it's larger sizes to anyone.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.