PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter

Keep your aquarium water crystal clear with the Grreat Choice Internal Power Filter. Your finned friends will love you for it, swimming circles around the tank, blowing you crystal clear, bubble kisses of appreciation. Only at PetSmart.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Review 1 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Very good internal filter for the price.

March 17, 2014
by JohnR
fromCincinnati OH
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This filter is getting bad reviews, but I think it's a great buy for the price if you want an internal filter.
Yes, it's large, but that makes it into a great "media bucket". Take out the plastic holder on the inside and just put in a wad of filter floss and then some bio-media on top ... with a good amount of media and a very reasonable flowrate of 90 gph, you have an excellent filter for an average-stocked 10 or 15 gallon tank, and would even work fine on a lightly-stocked 20 gallon tank. I have mine in a 12-gallon Eclipse system (didn't like the stock filter it came with), and it's doing a great job. Crystal-clear water and happy healthy fish for at least a year now.
Although I agree with other reviewers that the suction cups aren't good (they can't be easily reinserted if the come out of the filter body), this isn't a showstopper for me.
The motor and impeller seems to actually be of very good quality. I've had mine for at least a year now, in an aquarium with sand substrate. Others would have me believe that my filter should have been killed by the sand by now, but it's still going strong.
Finally, how much easier can it be to change the media in this thing? You don't have to touch or remove anything! Just reach into the top and pull the media out.
$15 for a filter that's been working great in my little tank for over a year now? Good stuff.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Don't bother.

January 19, 2014
by PonyGirl123
fromColumbia, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
I got this filter with a starter kit, my first tank, and it didn't work. I didn't like how much space it took up in the tank and it didn't do anything. Took it back and got an Aqueon QuietFlow. Don't even bother with this filter.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Horrible

July 22, 2013
by Dabballking
fromWeston,fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
The filters cartridges run out in like one week and the filter died in 3 months it's takes up soo much space and if you don't have the tank filled high enough the flow rate comes out horrible the suction cups come out impossible to put in and the hang clip always falls off
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work, Hard to Install
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Not very effective

July 21, 2013
by hobo
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
This filter is for 20 gallons but the gph is only 90. The intake easily takes in small fish and frogs. It is easy to use and install. It is also quiet. I would not recommend this product.
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Suction

May 23, 2013
by keepinmind
fromCrowley, Tx.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
When you buy a starter aquarium (hood, light, and Grreat Choice internal power filter included) or the Grreat Choice stand alone internal power filter,note this filter does not have a speed indicator on it. The flow rate is 90 gph only. It will suck and hold to the inflow housing (located at bottom) many small fish that grows to 1 inch. Many small frogs too. For beginners, please choose a internal power filter with a speed control setting on it for smaller fish. 20 gal. tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Great Value

May 7, 2013
by drenglish
fromWylie, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
This is a great filter for beginners and novices. Easy to set up, clean, and replace filters. The current could be a little strong for some fish especially small or baby fish. Sometimes has a faint hum but otherwise very quiet.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

not too powerful, in a good and bad way

March 31, 2013
by MyTrueReptiLove
fromScranton, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I have this filter in my ten gallon tank. I like that it comes with two of the hooks. Its not too powerful for my tiny goldfish, but it doesn't suck up all of the "waste". When the hood for my tank was touching it, it made a loud buzzing sound so i had to put it on the front which blocked a small area, but that's OK. Its not loud at all. I probably wouldn't get it for a 20 gallon tank though.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Decent

March 30, 2013
by qwerty1234568790
fromToronto
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
The first few weeks I the filter worked fine. Then recently it broke down.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice(r) Internal Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

January 6, 2013
by eatapineapple
fromToronto Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
i didn't buy this product because it came with the "20 gallon aquarium" made buy them so that's why i put a only "good review" it cleans "Ok" not the best so i WOULD NOT put it in a 20 gallon tank. the main problem is that it a eye swore.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.