PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fluval Q Air Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fluval Q Air Pump

Powerful yet extremely quiet, the Fluval Q Air Pumps produces consistent air flow thanks to the advanced swing-arm & diaphragm design.The Q 0.5 is quality constructed and will provide lasting and reliable performance for aquariums between 10-50 U.S. Gallons.
Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
2 of 8(25%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fluval Q Air Pump
Review 1 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Noisy and weak

July 18, 2013
by ezfisher
fromWest Valley City, Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
I have been through two of these in 6 months. The first one went one month. I returned to store for replacement; it lasted five months. It started of very good, but after a while it just stopped. I allowed a back pressure relief as directed in the instructions, but it still died young.
It is advertised as quiet, but it is not really. It isn't as bad as some, but it is still rather noisy.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

What The?

May 7, 2013
by Reefmaster
fromJersey Shore
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I plugged in the Q0.5 and WOW. SILENT! Cannot understand the bad reviews!?!? Fluval/Hagen makes GREAT Filters AND the new Q series Air Pumps are no exception. Most quiet air pump I have ever owned, and powerful too!!!
Pros: works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Unbelievably Noisy

April 30, 2013
by Snowman10
fromMinneapolis
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
This pump is well made and pumps a lot of air without losing pressure, but it's incredibly noisy, even noisier than a tetra whisper. Costs a lot, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Works Fine

January 22, 2013
by JimmyM
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Bought it to replace a Tetra Whisper Air Pump that broke after 4 years (not bad). I figured I'd try something new and it's just as quiet if not better.
Pros: works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

This is not worth buying!

January 2, 2013
by MNFishGuy
fromRochester
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I bought this and it must be broke one side works fine the other however if I put an air hose on it I can hear it across my house. This is not worth buying I have many others that are way better. Tried to contact fluval about this but they want me to send it using certified mail and pay all the shipping etc. Save your time and money.
Cons: didn't work
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Fluval Q1 is LOUD

November 13, 2012
by Moonraker
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Fluval produces quality products but this Q1 air pump is way too loud.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

21 days later

August 26, 2012
by atterratt
fromthe city
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
This pump is not worth buying. It worked great for 3 weeks, then stopped almost dead. The air line only had to go 8 " down in the tank, as the aquarium was only partially filled due to plants emerging from the water. It was very powerful and quiet when first plugged in. 21 days later, it could barely push air 1/4 of an inch into the water. Then it could not push it at all. I am returning it today.
Cons: didn't work
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Q Air Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews

Too Loud

August 18, 2012
by syork
fromBC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
This works really well but it's way too loud, had to return it.
Pros: works great, easy to install
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.