PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand

Your furry friend will enjoy spending time in this multi-level cage. The cage also comes with 4 shelves, 3 ramps and a spiral slide to keep your pet entertained.
Overall rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Review 1 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Not Bad

December 29, 2013
by LokisMommy
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So far the cage doesn't seem to bad, it was a bit of a pain to put together, mainly the slide! And I can see where people are talking about some of the bars being pretty weak and a little bendy. But so far nothing has broken, I did have to rig the water bottle a little because it was kind of heavy on the spot I wanted it at. Loki seems pretty happy so far (except he isn't used to the height and has fallen a few times) so as long as he's happy that's all I care about!
Pros: stylish
Cons: low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

Adequate choice

November 6, 2013
by kraesmom
fromCanton, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This cage, while roomy is somewhat flimsy. The shelves sag after using it a while and there are some bars that are thicker than others, so the shelves simply won't attach there. I found it difficult to keep clean and didn't care for the smallish doors and noisy latches. That said, the deep lower pan does help contain loose bedding and the "moats" along the edges of the shelves, while a pain to clean, do prevent spilled water or food from flowing down onto lower levels. I put two shelves next to one another around the middle of the cage to prevent long falls from the top level. It worked okay, but I'm much happier with the Ferret Nation cage we bought at petsmart.com to replace this one (and for about the same $$ even).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Perfect for my rats

October 25, 2013
by Elphie22
fromDenver, CO
I have 6 female rats who all love this cage. They are all full grown (any rat who isn't full grown will escape through the bars.) I've read reviews that say the cage is hard to clean, but I just wipe the layers down with wet wipes when I clean the cage and it looks brand new. The only part of the cage I don't love is the spiral slide, my girls constantly knock it down. I really recommend this cage to other rat owners.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

I'm happy I bought it!

October 16, 2013
by ChinchillaLovingMomma
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
SET UP - I bought this cage for my chinchilla, got home set it up super easily, I put him in it... and seeing him so happy in such a huge cage for my little guy made it worth it! He has room for all of his toys and overall if he's happy I'm happy.
CLEANING - I've had it for a week and so far cleaning is wonderful, I personally take the hose to my vacuum and open the cage while he's in the ball and spot clean all the little poops and take a baby wipe to the shelves to clean up dust bath, so so easy to clean, takes me maybe five minutes.
STURDYNESS - I see no issues, except for the slide, he goes up and down it a million times in a night in his hyper stage (its his favorite spot) and sometimes he's knocked it down all together and its a pain to get back in there. but I could easily take it out or sparingly use super glue and glue it in a way he wouldn't be able to chew and digest it for safety reasons... EASY FIX
I think its an awesome cage, and am thinking no one else was quite fair.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Perfectly Acceptable Cage; Great Price!

September 14, 2013
by FerretsRFamily
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
We got this cage on sale. We spent $110 which is an amazing price considering the alternatives out there. This cage has 4 levels and is much more roomy than the cage our ferret was in since we first got him.
Now, I'm hardly saying this cage is perfect, but, for us, it works. It was easy to assemble, it is fairly sturcy, and it wipes clean easily. I will admit that there was some minor gapping at one of the edges, but I simply squeezed the looser hooks together with some household tools.
This cage fit our needs perfectly!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

Can be trouble for tiny ferrets

March 24, 2013
by CassH
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
I bought this cage for my two ferrets because one of my ferrets is very tiny and was escaping from the previous cage. This cage seemed to have a sturdier outside so she couldn't squeeze through the bars. However, in a few days she was escaping and moving the bars to fit through. Since I spent a good chunk of change on this cage I had to go out and buy wire to wire up the whole cage. My larger ferret does enjoy the cage but if you have a tinier ferret I would not suggest it because she is still getting out. I am thinking of getting a different cage now after only 5 months. Sometimes the door locks are hard to lock or don't stay closed either.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

March 10, 2013
by ursa123
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
This was an okay cage. I got this for my 2 ratties Ursa and Luna. Luna escaped by doing a pull up on the top level Ursa escaped 2 times using the cage sides. But the levels are sturdy and my rats love them. After a few modifications ( oh great Ursa escaped time to go to Lowes) It was fine my rats used the sides and climbed up this was an okay product but only use it for ferrets and large rats.
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

I wish I hadn't wasted my money on this

March 7, 2013
by Lollifox
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this a month ago and just replaced it today. Let me get straight to the point. The food and debris stick to the plastic shelves and fills the moat around each shelf. It doesn't want to stay together at the sides at all. The spiral ramp wobbles and has thrown my rat off of it a few times, it's heavy, the wheels stick, there's no room on the shelves for toys, impossible to take apart the shelves to clean it by myself, the doors don't stay closed, and this is definitely just for ferrets. I thought it would make a very lovely rat cage but my boys keep getting their heads stuck in the bars. I wish I had done my research before rushing into this purchase.
Cons: price, hard to clean, low quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Not Good for Rats

December 16, 2012
by BobandFredsMom
fromWaterford, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
I know this is designed for ferrets, but in my research of cage options, it seemed a universal opinion that rats and ferrets can use the same type of cage. I have two ratties, so I thought this one would be great because it was on wheels, multi-level, and the perfect size for our living room. All of that was definitely true, BUT my nephew put it together and complained the whole time, saying it was not sturdy enough and cheaply made. Although true, that didn't present any major problems except the ladder between levels. It keeps coming unattached on one side and has fallen a few times which didn't thrill the boyz when they were trying to get to their food. :-/ Worst of all, this cage is an absolute NIGHTMARE to clean!! Very difficult to pop off the shelves and get them out of the openings for thorough cleaning without getting debris falling everywhere and even though the cage "pops" off the bottom tray for easy cleaning...NOT! Its an absolute struggle each time and difficult for one person. If I hadn't spent so much money on it, it would be in the garbage already. I guess I got my money out of it(1 yr), but I'm definitely searching for a new, better constructed one.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KAYTEE(r) Super Pet(r) My First Home Deluxe Multi-Level Ferret Home with Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Terrible

November 7, 2012
by Weatherford
fromVirginia
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
DO not buy this product it only last two weeks before two of the bars broke. It is very cheaply made. I know my ferrets are a little trouble makers but still is not worth the money!
Cons: low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.