PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit

Start your bearded dragon off right with this ZOO MED REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit. The kit includes a 20-gallon terrarium and heating and lighting components to create optimal conditions for your scaly pal. Meal dishes, a food sample and ReptiCalcium sample are included to help you easily provide proper nutrition to your bearded dragon in his or her new home.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
14 of 18(78%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Review 1 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Decent setup, a few gripes

November 14, 2013
by laurasaurus
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Got this on sale for my baby beardie who I also got at Petsmart. A good starter setup for a baby but way too small for an adult dragon. The tank itself is great, I love the sliding top and the light fixture was good quality. The sample vitamins are a good size and have lasted me a few months. My only complaints are that it comes with sand ( a bad substrate for baby beardies) and that the UVB light is a compact UVB, not a tube which is better for their eyes. Still, if you plan to buy a reptile carpet and replace the UVB, it's a good deal if on sale.
(Bonus pic of my beardie Percy attached.)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great

October 4, 2013
by Kgirl530
fromCharlotte,NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Beardie loves it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

I love this cage

September 24, 2013
by Iloveiguanas
fromMS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this cage for my baby iguana. I love this cage. I think this cage would be good for starters
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

very nice

August 15, 2013
by animalguy101
fromnew york
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this came with everthing a juvinille berdie would need even tho it cost some money i think it should come with a 40 gallon. if ur putting a baby berdie in this tank i dont recomend using the vita sand ur choice might cause impaction. the water dish and food dish is good for a baby berdie .the light is nice #warm. the calcium powder was nice extra. my berdie is getting a little big for this 20 gallon tank it comes with
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Maybe

May 24, 2013
by Allybat
fromRogers, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This isn't a very good way to save money on a bearded dragon set up. Here is my reasoning behind that statement:
1. The UVB bulb is only a 5.0 when anyone who knows anything about bearded dragons knows that they need a UVB of 10.0. Even then, the fluorescent tube UVB bulbs are better for the lizard than the coil type that this comes with.
2. It comes with a bag of vita sand which, no matter what the packaging says, is NOT digestible and is not appropriate for a young, growing, and curious bearded dragon.
3. This tank will maybe last you 3-4 MONTHS before he needs to be upgraded to at least a 40 gallon breeder.
Sometimes I just wish I could make my own bearded dragon starter kit with all of the good stuff so I know I'm setting the little guys up for success. Anyway, if you want to spend the money to replace all that stuff, go ahead, but I personally wouldn't waste the money on this.
+28points
34of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

March 26, 2013
by kush914
fromyonkers
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
the tank is very good but made cheap. once receiving tank the top was cracked off, top bent, doesn't close right, and did not include a heat rock or heat mat as included in picture.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great Birthday Present

February 10, 2013
by April456
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this for my daughter's 4th Birthday and she loves it! It works great for the two bearded dragons she got for her birthday as well. The lizards seem to be doing great in it. We had to take the sand out because it stuck all over the lizards, but other than the sand we loved it. We added places for the lizards to hide and climb on and a humidity gauge and therometer.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 13, 2013
by ChristaMarie18
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I own this for my baby beardie and i have to say it is really nice! He loves it in there! It comes with everything you need to get started and it has a nice length to it and it's very spacious. The price is a little high but when you see everything it comes with, you'll understand it and know that it probably would have been more costly buying it all separate!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

i bought this for my iguana

January 13, 2013
by angel200168
fromchambersburg,pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
i had a friend who had a bearded dragon who i knew could use most of the bearded dragon food and beading but this HABITAT work great for my iguana for about a year cause it out grew it lol
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: price
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great for beginner reptile owners

January 12, 2013
by Shopsavymommy
fromYalaha, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
We purchased this kit for our baby beardie. It was a great size, and included everything we needed to get started. Would definitely recommend!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

It lasts for a short period of time.

January 11, 2013
by Ibad
fromChino CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this kit for my baby bearded dragon and overall it's pretty good with a few minor setbacks such as: bearded dragons need a 10.0 UV bulb, and the kit comes with a 5.0.Also, you'll eventually need a bigger tank. I would recommend buying the Zilla deluxe startup kit because it comes with a 40 gallon. If you buy the Zilla setup at around Christmas it should be significantly cheaper.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Has the good and the bad

January 2, 2013
by Jace202
fromWestern Mass
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
It's a good temporary tank. And some of the stuff it comes with is not necessary or isn't the best option such as the sand or the UBV light it comes with - upon further research, the UVB has been known to cause eye problems and you don't need the UTH for beardies unless you have a hard time with heat and sand is not the best substrate. Not to mention the one in store is different from the one online.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love it!

December 1, 2012
by lilguppy
fromLouisiana
We just picked this up for a baby Bearded Dragon. We are keeping the sand until he is older and just using newspaper. There are no decorations with the kit so you will need to get that. We also had to get a cricket keeper. I think its a perfect start up for young Bearded Dragons.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Good for baby beardies

November 20, 2012
by ktlh
fromLufkin, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
I just purchased this habitat and it is great! It comes with the lighting needed, calcium, dishes and pellet food. The only thing I would recommend is buying greenery for your beardie since this doesn't come with any. This habitat also comes with sand, if you have a baby beardie, I would buy carpet instead of using the sand. Other than that, this is a great home for your baby beardie!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

needs more space

October 9, 2012
by dredragon
fromMI Southfield
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
In my opion the tank for a bearded should be 40 gallons and up.
-3points
7of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

good product.BUT NOT FOR ADULT BEARDIES.

September 8, 2012
by Jim826
fromWaterbury Ct
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Much to small for an adult Beardie.A 40 gallon breeder tank is the minimum for an adult dragon.
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

NOT for bearded dragons!

September 8, 2012
by bettafishcantliveinbowls2
fromPittsburgh Pennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This can be tempoary for a bearded dragon, but not a permanent home. A full grown bearded dragon needs a 55 gallon, minium.
-14points
7of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med REPTIHABITAT Bearded Dragon Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Pretty good deal, just needs some additional items

August 25, 2012
by Aceae
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Overall this was a pretty good kit. It is missing a couple key things for your dragon though. We have had to buy a basking spot and we have a hide for the mid-temperature area in her cage. I also suggest getting a background our beardie (Kitty) keeps seeing herself and gets nervous.
One BIG problem was the hood/light for the UVB blew out in the first 24 hours. Now Zoomed does have a good return policy but it takes 4-6 weeks to get a replacement. Also, the UVB light provided is a 5 and most reptile sites suggest at least a 10 which would reach the bottom of the cage. Kitty did not sleep well with the red night light so we ended up going back and getting a black one but eventually will be getting her a heater coil. Overall yes it was worth it I did buy it when it was on sale though for like $20-30 off. Overall a good cage just be prepared to get some extra things to go with it and let the lights cure for a day or so to make sure they are working right.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.