PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Exo Terra(r) Terrarium

This terrarium helps provide a safe and comfortable home suitable for any reptile. The coloured background provides an additional climbing surface, while the secure lock helps keep your pet safe and secure.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Review 1 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Awesome cage

December 1, 2013
by PetLover2003
fromMaryville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My gecko LOVES this cage! It's big and wide enough for my 2 inch gecko! I recommend this cage because your reptile has enough space
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Wonderful

November 12, 2013
by panzerfreeman
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my green tree frogs after wanting to get them out of a 10 gallon. I love the room it allows for soil and real plants to grow, its easy to clean since the doors open and allow for easy maneuvering around the entire container, the doors are tight and prevent any insect from getting out or in and swing very smooth. I adore the spots for the additional mister however the styrofoam background does need to be pressed or cut to allow the tubes to fit properly. It is by far the best tank I have owned and am planning on buying the large horizontal version for my bearded dragon after Christmas.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Poor Quality Plastic

October 21, 2013
by Edmund
fromSacramento
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased the exo terrarium at a local store since I liked that it was vertical, opened from the front, and the price was fair. I soon discovered though that the additional basking bulb I had added at the top screen had melted a large chunk of the plastic that divided one screen from another; the purpose of this plastic strip (apparently to provide structural screen support) should have either been omitted or the plastic used should be of a type that doesn't melt from a 60w basking bulb after a couple hours of "partial" contact. Of course the warranty does not cover the over heating of their poor quality plastic so I am now left with a visual eye-sore when viewed from the top. See photo for view of melted strip.
Cons: low quality
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Not bad at all...

September 24, 2013
by tschneiloski
fromTwin Falls, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
After reading a lot of reviews on another site I was told that the tank was great but the background was terrible. However, price won out and I bought it for a really good deal here.
After owning this terrarium for a little over 3 months now I can honestly say I don't have any problems with it. I love the accessibility from top and front of the tank. Didn't have any problems finding accessories for it and actually do enjoy the background. It is made from Styrofoam, and if you wash it and scrub it, well it will do what all Styrofoam does [crumble], which is why it didn't get a perfect cleaning rating from me. However it does make it easier to put in the wires and humid air exchanger that I need for my hermit crabs.... Yes I have hermit crabs in this terrarium, how spoiled they are. Anyway, the styrofoam is easy to cut and I can make holes anywhere I need to for better concealment and still allowing air tubes etc... Also the crabs love to climb all over it.
I haven't had any leaks or cracks or problems of that nature. Even after having it shipped to me. The one change I would like to make is the top wire mesh to a glass top and that is only to keep the humidity in. I have a problem with keeping the humidity above 75%. The heat lamps tend to kill the humidity and the hermie's need heat AND humidity, so I have been using a damp warm towel over the exposed mesh to help with that for now and misting with a water bottle [which the hermies dislike].
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great enclosure

July 13, 2013
by lechicken
fromAmarillo TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my new crested gecko and I hope he enjoys it.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Love it

May 24, 2013
by Dee13
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this as an upgrade for my Crested Gecko and am very satisfied with this purchase. My Crestie climbs all over it! It's very easy to clean with the front and top openings, as well as allowing ventilation through the front and top.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

best enclosure i`ve bought

March 14, 2013
by Carriethepetlover13
frompittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
this is the enclosure FOR YOUU!
this is a great cage for bigger reptiles! i love it. the price is very low for a cage like this. and it is also has sturdy glass. i highly reccomend this product!!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Exo Terra Sri Lanka terrarium

February 9, 2013
by KarenLR
fromFranklin, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I've purchased this so that I can set up a planted terrarium before Repticon Nashville when I am planning to buy 3 crested geckos. Exo terra front opening terrariums are recommended for arboreal species like cresties, & this was by far the best price I've found online for this size. The background was an added bonus & adds another dimension as well as a more stimulating environment for the cresties. I've not unpacked this yet as I'm still waiting for the plants to arrive from Black Jungle, but I am sure it will look awesome when it's planted up.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

February 2, 2013
by Seano
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
We love this cage not only does it look good it's easy to feed or iguana witout him jumping out.. And its cleans easy.. He jasper loves it as well cuz he can climb up the back and get his exercise. I would recomend this cage to anyone with a green iguana and the price was awesome..
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Nice Terrarium

January 30, 2013
by Michael28
fromDenver, Co
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
I like this terrarium because of the easy access doors. I didnt like the decor very much though. The decor is a foam and its about a half in. short from the top(meaning crickets can get behind it). I recommend this product but I recommend taking the decor out.
Pros: sturdy
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great size for larger arboral critters

January 17, 2013
by Jdubs
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
When it comes to this tank, there are pluses and minuses for me. I love the size of the tank for adult female cresteds (if you have two that are known compatible AND gurenteed female). I purchased these specifically for my female cresteds, but would also work for day geckos, anoles, ect. The weight is nice because i know the tank is not easily pushed around, but i will warn all who read this, the tanks is larger then you think, and you need some wide furniture for it to sit correctly, 18.5" on the base, and it has a swoop on the underside that is designed for heat pads to be placed under, but can make the tank unstable if it doesnt have a large enough space to sit. I personally do not like the exo-terra latch systems, i prefer the zoomed easy latch, just as secure but MUCH easier to open and close. The background looks amazing, but dont go gung-ho when cleaning or you will take the 'paint' right off. The nice part is that you have two carved out ports in the cage, so that if you have a water pump, thin fogger tube, or somethign of that sort, you can run it behind the background so you dont have the odd cable strung through your enclosure. Over all im very happy with these, and have 2 of them.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

January 10, 2013
by ladylollypop
fromcentral islip,new york
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this item because I plan to buy a bearded dragon. I really like the appearance of this tank as it can be used for many things. I have even thought of putting my orchid plants in it. It would hold the humidity as well as look great. I also collect gems and crystals which also make a great display especially combined with the plants.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This is a absolute amazing tank that I recommend!

January 7, 2013
by reptileOwner
fromMd
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
These tanks are exetremely convenient for all reptile owners. Built with opening glass doors gives you easy access to handle your reptile or clean it's cage. These tanks really do make your animal feel at home. On the tank there is holes that make it very easy if you need to have a cord in your tank. In the front of the tank is a part where a locking system where you just close your doors then slide the lock over and keeps your pet from escaping. Finally since the tank is made partially of glass it is very easy to enjoy watching your pet.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

December 7, 2012
by Geckogurl123
fromSacramento ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this tank for my Anole's They love it.... It has built in spots for their monsoon mist system and the top fits two of the light fixtures perfectly so you can have heat and uv the light fixtures have a groove to hold the thermometer and hygrometer so everything is clean looking and right where you need it not to mention the ease of cleaning and feeding with the front doors....
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

tank with background

October 25, 2012
by matt789
fromPA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
this cage is ok quailty black trim around tank and doors seem fragile. The background on the other hand is a complete peice of junk i washed it very gently did not scrub and handled with care and after a few washes the foam on the corners fray and break off and the color comes off it do not waste your money it is an easy break foam background.
Cons: low quality
-6points
8of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exo Terra(r) Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Love this product!

October 7, 2012
by 3lise
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Have been through a few products with my ball python, purchased this for a baby red tail boa. Absolutely love the way it hides the wiring for sensors and heat sources behind the Buddha, and it looks great too! Want to buy the other styles for my other snake now!
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.