PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs

Curb separation anxiety, excessive barking, inappropriate marking, destructive behavior and your dog's other natural reactions to stress with this safe and effective calming collar. The collar uses pheromone technology to soothe and relax your dog during boarding, grooming, loud noises, traveling and other stressful or frightening situations.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

works great!

August 13, 2013
by chessiegirl
fromDenver, CO
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Our 4 month old Chessie puppy had a slowly increasing problem with dribbling when greeted, until he was dribbling urine every time you talked to him, let alone trying to pet him, even after we'd been home for hours. Nothing traumatic ever happened to him, so we are not sure what caused it, but the calming collar has worked great. Within minutes of putting it on him, his ears were no longer back, he seemed happy and more relaxed and the dribbling decreased and then stopped in about 24 hours. We can now play with him indoors and give him all kinds of love and attention without constantly cleaning up messes. Its amazing. I may just keep it on him full time for a while and then see how he does without it.
Pros: works great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews

Worth a Try

June 16, 2013
by Shmicklet
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our dog was always a nervous wreck when we left with crazy separation anxiety. When we got this collar we noticed improvement, meaning when we came home he barely whined and freaked out like he always did, also his overall day to day demeanor seemed calmer. However once it was raining and I forgot to take the collar off, it was ruined and needed replacement. Living in Oregon that is a problem. I enjoyed the smell and I am very sensitive with bad smells causing migraines and I had no problems with the smell of this collar.
Bottom line, if you have an anxious dog this is worth a try, just don't let it get wet!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Positive results on first trip

June 2, 2013
by hcalitri
fromHamburg, New Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We took our two Pekingese dogs on a car trip from New Jersey to Vermont. Our youngest dog is a 10-month who has shown tremendous anxiety any time he has gone for a short ride in the car. We had bought him from a breeder in Arkansas and we got him when he was just two months old. The first leg of the trip, we put the collar on him and gave him a small dose of acepromazine to calm him and his stomach...he made the trip in fine style. But, we noticed he was groggy for an extended time. During the brief stay in Vermont, when we drove, we did not use any medicine, just the collar. He handled the short drives well so when we drove back to New Jersey, we only used the collar. Again, he handled the trip without any anxiety. He was calm the entire time. We felt the collar was highly effective. We strongly recommend this collar and give it a 5-Star rating based on this first experience.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Miraculous

March 29, 2013
by Anonymous
fromMT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Our 13 yr old Basset was getting us up 4 times a night. She's always been a nervous, needy dog and now has lymphoma. Since we started using this collar she's sleeping 8 hrs and is much more mellow.
I just realized we are using a too-narrow collar on her but we've still been getting 2 weeks of effect with each collar.
Highly recommended. Don't notice a strong smell at all.
Pros: works great
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Fabulous - and it makes your dog smell great

March 13, 2013
by ElleAZ
fromScottsdale, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After our older dog died, our younger dog developed separation anxiety. I bought this but wasn't really sure if it made any difference (I thought that time was healing his grief). I took the collar off of him to return it to the store only to find his anxiety behavior (pacing, anxious, etc.) returned in FULL FORCE! I quickly got the collar out of the packaging and almost immediately we got the nice calm dog back. Now, I swear by this and the calming diffuser. I also love that it makes our baby smell so nice.
Pros: works great
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Excellent Calming Collar

January 7, 2013
by anytennis
fromGroton, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a puppy who is always moving around, breathing heavy, and seems nervous in the car. My husband and I have tried a few different solutions and nothing has worked, until we tried this collar. We tried a pet barrier, car harness, and filled a Kong toy with treats, but all of these ideas failed. This collar worked miracles for us, with the lavender and chamomile scents to calm her, which put her right to sleep.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Works pretty good for my dog

October 2, 2012
by LovesBoxers
fromSpringfield, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my older Boxer who has a heart condition and was overly stressed when I was pet sitting for a family memeber with her and my Boxer pup. It has worked tremedously for her! She has been a lot calmer and you can't see all the stress written across her face.
Like the previous review, I, too, am sensative to smells and it's generally smells that cause my migraines. However, I did not find this collar that overwhelming. It is strong though, just as a forewarning.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Smells Terrible

June 17, 2012
by LoveMyPack
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I thought I'd give this a try for my overly nervous dog. I did notice the box said it was scented with lavendar and chamomile, but assumed that since it was made for dogs the scent would be very, very mild. Wrong. I tore open the sealed baggy that the collar is stored in and was slapped in the face by the overpowering stench of cheap, flowery perfume. My head was instantly throbbing. Within minutes my entire house just reeked. After an hour I had to take it off my dog and drive it back to the store for a refund just because my head hurt so bad I couldn't stand it. Then I had to come home and open all my windows and turn my fans on to air the house out. I will admit that I'm just one of those people who is sensitive to smells, but this was really a bit overpowering, especially when you consider the fact that our dogs have millions more scent receptors than we do, and if it's giving me a headache, what it is doing to my poor dog? I didn't notice any real change in that one hour, but realize that an hour isn't much time. I would've like to have given it longer, but was nearing a full-blown migraine. I'll try a different, unscented brand.
-5points
20of 45voted this as helpful.