PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor

Delicious & convenient gelformulas Added fiber for digestive support Great chicken flavor GNC Gold Card discount not valid on purchase of GNC Pets items.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
5 of 11(45%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Review 1 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Kitty didn't like it!

February 7, 2014
by susanb0721
fromChicago, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I think this product is too expensive, but I wouldn't mind if my cat liked it. I had to put it on his nose so he would lick it off. He liked the stuff I bought before that was 1/2 the price. He licked it off my finger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

happy cat

December 25, 2013
by captmike
fromcolonial beach ,va.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
mable,my cat,has had problems with hairballs until we started using this gnc hairball gel.she is greatly improved now and loves the taste of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

The Cats Do Not Approve

December 7, 2013
by CycloneChick
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 2 cats liked this when I first bought it & it was still fresh out of the tube. However, repeat offerings have consistently been declined, by both of them. They like Laxatone, but absolutely refuse this.
Seems like once you open the tube, the quality quickly declines. Not sure if the product actually expires, but the oils separate out from the paste, and even if you shake the tube vigorously, you can't get them to mix up again. Once you take the cap off, all this stinky liquid spills out, and the malt paste, etc. stays in the tube. It's disgusting, so I'm not surprised the cats are picky about it!
I would NOT recommend this product, especially with what you get for the price. GNC does not specialize in pet care, has had limited time in the pet market, and I do not feel they are focused on providing the best-quality products for our pets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product!

October 27, 2013
by Ciacia
fromDearborn, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 8 month old kitten/cat can't get enough of this. She LOVES it! My vet recommended laxatone with my older cat. When shopping at PetSmart the clerk said they now carry this GNC product. My older cat just thought it was OK; the younger cat, Mojo, begs for more. It just depends on the cat--they all have different tastes--just like people. I like this product since it contains additional vitamins and is also labeled as a high calorie booster, if your cat needs an appetite stimulant. It also promotes healthy skin and coat. Although it is chicken flavored, the product does NOT have any offensive odor to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

The ONLY One My Cat Likes

July 8, 2013
by 1Kitty
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This stuff works GREAT!!! I put recommended amount in a bowl and he licks it up. Already went through one tube and will be buying more.
For finicky cats I would suggest mixing well in wet food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Not Good

April 13, 2013
by Wiz1
fromCovington, LA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The good news is that this product lasts a long time. The bad news is that it lasts a long time because my 5 cats refuse to eat it. The only way to get them to consume the product is to smear it on their front paw. They are then very unhappy with me. The cats do like Laxatone, but the Petsmart store does not carry it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Started out okay, cat now despises it

March 3, 2013
by PavlovPersian
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Persian used to yak some of the largest hairballs I've ever seen and she would do this on an almost daily basis. I picked this up as a suggestion and at first I was very excited about it because she took to it readily and couldn't get enough. I never fed her the maximum amount and I just gave her a pea-sized serving every few days.
About 3 weeks down the road, she has suddenly decided she doesn't like it. I can't trick her into it either. If I smear it on her paw, she will find a way to bat it off or wipe it off on something else. You can see the disdain for this product on her face. I just find ways to trick her into eating it, such as smearing it on to her treats.
Outside of her not liking it in the slightest, the stuff sincerely works. However, I won't be buying this product again since I'd like to find a happy medium between the cat and myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Cat wanted nothing to do with it !

July 19, 2012
by Flbgs
fromMarina Del Rey, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought this brand yesterday because the Laxatone was only available on the website. There was no Petromalt left in store, which should have been my first clue not to buy this brand.
All that was left was the GNC. Put it on my cat, he had no clue I just put this strip of goo on his paw, finally when he realized it, he freaked, and started shaking his paw to get rid of it. Uhhgg ! It went everywhere. It was also grainy and medicinal smelling. I returned it today, and purchased Laxatone, and we'll see how this goes.
I may syringe it into his mouth if he doesnt accept it on a spoon. Forget the paw method, that was a disaster already.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product

March 23, 2012
by GadgerBadger
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two cats that started having what seemed to be hairball issues so someone recommended this product to me. It worked the first time and they loved the taste - they were nibbling my finger trying to get it all off. I am very satisfied with this product and plan on buying more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

poor product

March 8, 2012
by homerjsimpson
fromchicago, il
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 4 cats. Nothing will induce them to eat or even touch this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Chicken Flavor
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product