PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper

Trim nails every 4-6 weeks. After trimming nails, gently smooth rough edges with a nail file. file only in one direction from the top of the nail downward. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Review 1 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Nail clipper review

March 16, 2014
by garygx
fromVallejo, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
It works well enough. A bit cheaply made, but about what I would expect for the money. It's guillotine design helps insure that I do not cut my dog's quick while trimming the nails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

Not approved by my vet

March 2, 2014
by MarkMA
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Before opening the package, I took these clippers to my vet. She suggested I return them because in her experience the Guillotine type clipper can shred the nail. I returned them and purchased a less expensive scissor type clipper which works fine. So my review is not based on my own experience; just the advice of my vet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Does the job

February 20, 2014
by maxandvixie
fromLong Island, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We were nervous cutting our cat's nails ourselves for the first time, but the sight lines on this clipper made it fool proof. I was always worried about cutting the quick, but you can see exactly where you are cutting with these clippers. I guess the cut could be a bit cleaner, but that could also be because I was snipping a little too slowly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

February 1, 2014
by Nutmeg13
fromAnderson, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Overall it seemed very painless, and sharp enough that it cut through pretty easily. Only thing was that it left jagged edges, but those were easily fixed with the nail file.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Good find!

January 5, 2014
by PugOwner13
fromTustin, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Overall this nail clipper was pleasant to use for two dog owners who are brand new to this nail clipping thing. If you cut at the right angle you won't struggle at all-- however, if you don't, you might end up with a jagged dooggy nail. It's a great value for the price you're paying. I've only used it once, however, and don't know how it'll hold up with more uses.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Easy to use

December 29, 2013
by MidnaHan
fromNorman, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cats are generally good with letting me mess with their nails/teeth (I brush those as well). Sometimes they kick up a fuss. But it was fast and painless this time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Only used them once but I like them

December 26, 2013
by mlssl28
fromManchester, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My pup has some colored nails and some clear nails so it is difficult to ensure I don't cut the wick. While these do not guarantee a painless experience, they are fairly easy to handle and I am more confident cutting her nails with them than I have been with other nail cutters..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great product

November 14, 2013
by cags
fromBolingbrook, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is greatest product I've found. It blows all the clippers out of the water. It's very easy 2 use w/o complaints from my dog. Now I have a perfectly trimmed dog & no more scratches on our legs. Thanx
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Great product - would recommend

October 1, 2013
by glockgirl9mm
fromColorado
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product was exactly what I was looking for. It does not pinch your skin/hands like so many other models. It makes a nice cut and does not leave any hangnails.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City(r) Guillotine Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

5 out of 5 love it

February 12, 2013
by zoomiesangel
fromSt. John's, NL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm the crazy cat lady and I definitely put this through the ringer with my 5 cats. It looks a lot like cheaper versions except with bigger handles but it works much easier. Quicker spring back and light feel. Worth the extra few dollars that I throw away when I get fed up with the cheaper ones.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.