PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats

Soothe your cat during stressful situations like loud noises, separation anxiety and more with this safe, effective calming collar. By utilizing pheromone technology and a pleasant fragrance, the collar helps modify stress behavior like inappropriate marking, excessive meowing and scratching.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
28 of 30(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Review 1 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

This product worked!!

February 27, 2014
by whitecatgirl
fromHackettstown, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat would meow repeatedly while standing near his water bowl. He would only stop if I emptied and refilled the bowl - even if the bowl was already full with fresh water from only a hour or two before. This has been going on ever since I took him home when he was a stray. (I suspect that he was without a good water source during at least some of that time and never got over it.)
I bought the calming collar because it got many good reviews, but I was pretty skeptical. The first day there was no change, but starting the next day I would say that 85% to 90% of the meowing and anxiety around water is gone! This cat is not good at taking pills so an anti-anxiety medication was not an option. I'm so glad I found this product. The reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is that remaining 10-15% of the time when he still meows - and I can live with that. More importantly, I think HE can live a much better life with most of his obsessiveness and anxiety gone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Amazing product...

February 22, 2014
by Catlover1324
fromGeorgia
I wish I had found this before! I had a scaredy cat who always hid, and over-groomed herself. Within an hour, she hopped up on top of the couch, and seemed like a whole different cat. She is not as afraid as before, and plays more often too. Overall, this product helped me get my loving cat back!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

January 29, 2014
by 4bloomer
fromva
We put one on both of our cats. The cats don't mind the collars being on them. It seems to be working. They've only been on for 1 week. The cats aren't getting into as many "play fights" and seem to somewhat calmer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Changed our cat's life

January 14, 2014
by Sassyb
fromSanta Clarita, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Several years ago my cat was stressed out because we had to put our other cat to sleep. She likes to lick herself a lot and this turned into her licking and biting her fur until she had bald spots and sorry for the faint at heart bloody. We took her to an allergist and had special food and litter and nothing worked but a cone. She even got steroid shots which turned into surgery to stitch up the area. We also spent $1,000 dollars trying to get a resolution. She was a mess and we didn't want her on the furniture or near our young kids because of her wounds. We had her in a cone for 18 months and she became depressed. To end my long story, we found out about this collar and she had never had to wear her cone again, her fur is back to being beautiful and so is her personality. We have to trade them out every so often but we got to keep her and enjoy her again. Absolutely recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

calming collar

January 13, 2014
by astevens
fromaustin, texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
wish I would of known about this calming collar a year ago she had been stress from the move from a house to apartment now she is as calm as ever she has had it on for like 3 hours and not a meow from her I believe it works!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Best thing I have ever bought for my cat!

December 12, 2013
by Betty1968
fromCT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
My cat is very aggressive when we go to the vet and to the groomers (bites, growls, scratches). My vet suggested the collar and within 2 hours of putting it on him he was an angel! He can also be aggressive with me (biting and playing rough) but once I put that collar on, he was a "changed cat"!!!! I haven't taken him back to the groomer yet, but I'm confident that it will make a difference! It is a little pricey, but it is one of those things that is worth the money!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

SENTRY Calming Collar works for my cat

December 10, 2013
by ImaCatOwner
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
This collar has done wonders for my gently aging Senior (16). Even as I placed it around his neck, his eyes widened as he sensed the pheromones; if he'd had eyebrows, they would've risen to the crown of his head. His anxiety, possibly the returning memory of being lost as a just-weaned kitten, which is how I found him, and certainly due to hearing loss, was instantly lessened and he's been much happier for the last two weeks. It may be too soon to know if the calming will continue for the month the info suggests; however, the 3-pack is a good price, especially if one finds it on sale. The effect is a great relief for both of us thus far.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

So far, it works well

November 19, 2013
by KittyRu
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
I just bought this last night in anticipation of a vet visit, which is never a pleasant experience with my cat. She is normally very sweet and affectionate to everyone she meets, but goes into attack mode when she is at the vet. I have tried a few oral calming products (treats, pills, liquid drops) to take the edge off her fear of the vet, but had disastrous results. I decided to give a calming collar a shot. She is a very energetic cat in general, but within minutes of putting it on at home she had noticeably calmed down. It didn't make her sleepy or lethargic, just mellowed her out a bit.
Today at the vet she was still extremely unhappy and stressed, but was calm enough that I could get my hand in the carrier to pet her without getting bitten or scratched. She wasn't calm enough for the vet to take her temperature, but they successfully gave her two shots. I call that a win.
I would recommend this to anyone. It isn't going to modify your cat's behavior entirely, but it will take the edge off of their stress and the unpleasant behaviors that come with that. Oh, and it smells really nice!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

AWESOME!!!

November 19, 2013
by MowglisMomma
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
I was skeptical about this product but I had to get something for my 6 month old cat to stop marking things after my roommate brought a new kitty in the home. He immediately stopped his weird marking behaviors and is acting like himself again. I thought I was honestly about to waste 39 dollars but it was totally worth it!!!!!
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Finally....peace and quiet!

November 10, 2013
by phil4bz
fromFullerton, CA, USA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
My 16 year old female cat, Shadow, had to be put to sleep about 8 months ago. I also have a 4 year old Russian Blue female cat, Niko, and Lacy an 8 year old female Maltese dog. Ever since Shadow passed away, the house seemed too quiet for both Niko and Lacy and also me. They both seemed to miss another playmate around the house. I was looking for another all black long haired female kitten to adopt like Shadow. One of my neighbors had a friend that had two kittens left. One was all black and short haired but a male. I have always preferred female pets since they seem more mellower than the males but I took a chance on Harley. Well Harley is now 6 months old and still a terror around the house. Both Niko and Lacy are always having to defend themselves against sneak attacks, etc. so I needed to do something or else I was not sure I could keep Harley because he was such a bully. I was hoping he would grow out of it as he aged but it seemed to only get worse. He was neutered as a kitten so I knew that was not the problem. I went online and the PetSmart.com website came up when I entered "calming pills for cats". I read the reviews and figured this collar might help my situation. Long story short, after only 24 hours, things have dramatically improved. I hope it lasts. So far I am very impressed with the product. I was a little shocked when opening the package and noticed the white stuff flake off the collar but after reading the reviews found out that this was normal. Also the perfume is a little strong so I hope that diminishes over time. The collar does work though so I will continue to purchase the product until the bullying problem is gone once and for all. I purchased the 3 collar package since it was a better deal in the store.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Severe Anxiety Almost Cured!

October 21, 2013
by SammD
fromKentucky
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
My little guy has really bad anxiety so when at Petsmart to buy all the stuff for his reptile brother(my bearded dragon) I was getting a few things for him too. I stumbled upon this while looking at the kitty caps and figured I would give it a try for my cats severe separation and noise anxiety. Almost immediately it helped with both. He would still get a little anxious about new loud noises(which we expected) but it was no where near as bad as it first was.
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews

Difficult cat

September 25, 2013
by Chuckq
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is the second time I have tried a cat calming collar on my temperamental Siamese. I tried again because of all the positive feedback from others who have tried it. I was hopeful but he's just as moody and angry as always. Still attacking his brother non stop. Maybe it's just my crazy cat!
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

WOW!

September 22, 2013
by Clivesmom
fromCollingswood, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
My husband and I bought this product last night on the recommendation of a shelter volunteer. Our new kitty is about one year old and is a very large, muscular, rambunctious male who was always "on" and who kind of made life a bit miserable for our two other cats. He would pursue them relentlessly - not really hurt them, but chase and try to wrestle, and they were not pleased. And he was a little hand aggressive in that he would sometimes bite your hand while you were petting him. I was unsure about the collar but it really has made a huge difference. It was noticeable within the first hour. He is much happier, less nervous and keyed up, and still plays with his toys, but when he chases the cats now he does so in a happy way, not like he's out to kill. And he is more restful and much more affectionate. I am extremely pleased with this product. It does have a rather strong scent but it's not really unpleasant, just a bit too strong, but maybe that will lessen over time, or I will get used to it. But we are believers! It has really helped our household become much happier. Highly recommended.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Makes a difference

June 5, 2013
by sasdrum
fromGreenwood, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've been struggling to get two of my cats to get along. After trying all sorts of furniture, layouts, litterbox placements, etc. I only saw slight improvement. So I decided to get one of these for my older cat who is terrified of the younger one. After a few days, they could at least be within a few feet of each other without her freaking out. It's been just over 30 days and it's quite clear that the collar has reached it's life span as my older cat is freaking out again. I'll be getting another one here in the next few days.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews

Didn't work at all

April 16, 2013
by Zarahis
fromLake Forest, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Well i have a cat that has been with me since she was around 2 or 3 weeks old, her mom left her in my house so i took care of her and stuff... but i don't know why she has been really agresive to new people or sometimes even to my husband and I! i saw this product and by reading the reviews i said ''ok! Let's give it a try'' i was reading how this works and it says that it has a pheromone similar to the one that the cat's mom used to have when giving birth and taking care of the kitties so i was a little afraid that it just didnt work but i gave it a try, so... i put the necklace on my kitty and waited for two days but nothing happened :( so i asker the vet and she told me that it was because my kitty was too young when she was separated from her mother so it just didn't work on her
the thing is that please before trying it, be sure your cat has been with its mom otherwise it won't work at all, i tried it with another cat that is also a little bit agressive and worked perfectly! so yes i guess the reason was the one i said before
Pros: price
Cons: didn't work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

good way to keep kitty calm

January 15, 2013
by gopatriots
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
one of our cats has been going to the bathroom in the house and though we have 3 boxes, this is the only thing that has somewhat worked. my only complaint is that it seems most of the powder comes off getting it on the cat. but she doesn't seem to mind it much and it does seem to last.
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Awesome product!

January 9, 2013
by SheriShopper
fromChippewa Falls, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
I bought this for my 5 year old cat whom has OCD. She licks all of the hair off of about half her body. She was really getting bald when we starting using these collars. She still licks some, but most of her hair is coming in nicely. She seems like a new kitty! Thanks for the great product!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews

On the fence about this one!

January 7, 2013
by Jennifer14
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
I have two males who are battling for alpha-dom. I tried this on the younger one and it didn't help, so I tried it on the older one. Things have tapered down, but I can't say it's all because of the collar, as there are other factors involved. Since my older one tolerated it well, I might try putting one on each of them and see how that works.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

sentry calming collar is an awesome product

January 1, 2013
by cats4u
fromlas vegas nevada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
I work with animal rescue and deal with many different cat personality etc. I had brought home 2 older cats that were 9 yrs old and were never around other pets. They were very stressed out in there environment with my own cats. I purchased the calming collars and it was a complete transformation that evening. It has been peaceful and there has been no fighting or hissing. I believe in this product and the other sentry prodocts that are offered. It really does work!!!!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SENTRY(r) Calming Collar for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

No more meowing!!

December 23, 2012
by thundersmom
fromBridgewater NJ
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Over the last few years, my 19 year old cat started meowing. A Lot!! She would walk over to her dish even though she had just eaten and meow. Over and over again. She only will drink water out of the faucet and she would sit in the bathroom and meow. Over and over. Day and night! Its been like having a baby in the house. I put the collar on her last night and she slept like a kitten. No meowing. She is much more mellow. She only goes to her dish now if she's really hungry and just gives a soft little meow. I love this collar!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next