PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food

Made with deboned lamb that's supplemented with flavorful and nutritious whole grains, vegetables and fruits, this dog food tempts your dog's taste buds while nourishing his or her body with a well-balanced meal. The unique LifeSource bits help boost your small pup's health with a special blend of antioxidants and other key nutrients.
Overall rating:
4.867 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
15 of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Dog ignores the old food

March 6, 2014
by MarkMA
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
My little pooch loves the Blue Lamb flavor dry food. I put in a little water & microwave for 15 secs, and she loves it. Avoids the old food altogether. I mix in a little spoonful of canned food, but she seems to be crazy for the kibble.
Pros: high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

This stuff must be delicious!

February 25, 2014
by terriermixmama
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
My friend works at a vet and has always recommended Blue Buffalo products. It is not as affordable as some other options, but I felt that I would give it a try. My terrier mix seems to LOVE it more than anything I have ever fed her. If you have a picky eater, this is the food for you, and if the nutritional value is what I hear, it is well worth the extra bucks.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great

February 21, 2014
by deerrun
fromE. TN.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have been using Blue Buffalo for over a year now and our malti poo and toy poodle love it. They are staying healthy and their energy level is great, sometimes too great......
Pros: price, high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Brand and Great Quality

February 10, 2014
by GrandmaW
fromNortheast PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Our fur baby has allergies and intestinal issues. She loves this food and it minimizes her tummy troubles. Not too many companies make a small breed food in such an array of quality formulas.
Pros: high quality, digestible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Dog loves it.

January 17, 2014
by Doktor
fromOklahoma City
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Our 12-pound 4-year-old Morkie was eating two brands of prescription dog food to facilitate normal bowel movements. Non-prescription products we tried simply left her constipated, so the Vet switched us to the prescription dog food 3 years ago. Problem: Gaining weight! She went from 6 pounds to 14 pounds over the 3-year period, eating nothing else.
We switched her to Blue, her BM's are normal, and she is down to 12 pounds so far. Our dog loved it right out of the first box.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

November 2, 2013
by Juniper59
fromIllinios
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Very pleased with the Blue Buffalo products. Zoe is a Min Pin she is my first small breed dog and she is a "FOODIE" but she still stays lean with Blue Buffalo.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

my dog likes it alot.

July 13, 2013
by blueyandcami
fromMiami, FL
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
my dog enjoys eating this dog food the only thing he dosent like is the kibble that is round and filled with minerals.
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Best food for my small dogs!

February 3, 2013
by ErikaP
fromUpstate NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
We have always had a difficult time finding a good food that our picky Jack Russell/Chihuahua will eat, but this is a clear winner. The lamb formula seems to be a favorite in our house, both of our dogs love mealtime and wolf down the whole dish. Blue Buffalo is awesome!
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Fantastic food for a small breed

January 7, 2013
by Richard25
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
My pomeranian loves this food. The kibble size is perfect for smaller breeds and offers him a chance to try a different protein source than most other brands (which are typically poultry or fish). While a little pricier than other brands, it is extremely high quality dog food, second in my opinion, only to Blue Buffalo's Wilderness series.
Pros: high quality, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

My small dogs love it!

November 28, 2012
by beeseason
fromOntario, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This is a first impression review. I was meaning to change my two dogs food for awhile now, because they got tired of the Lamb and Rice Eukanuba dog food they've been eating for a while. I just got home and fed them. I mixed a little of the Blue Buffalo dog food and a lot of the Eukanuba. When my older dog was done, I checked her bowl and saw that all of the Blue Buffalo food was gone and all the Eukanuba was still there! I'm impressed because she's a very picky eater, and now I'm very happy that she loved the food. Will be repurchasing for sure! :)
I will be updating this review after having them eat it for a while.
Pros: high quality, taste
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

October 2, 2012
by angel81
fromsaint charles mo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my 6 yr old schipperke, buddy loves this food-- when we put the bowl down.. he litterally, doesn't lift his head until the last bite is gone... job well done blue buffalo, for making a quality product..
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

September 8, 2012
by shiny1
fromColorado
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Stryker loves blue he eats lamb w/brn rice.
I prefer the ingredients (ie) no meat by product and corn (etc) I will not go back to grocery store dog foods.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

dog likes it

March 4, 2012
by Anonymous
fromMiami, fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my rat terrier likes the food it's not like in the commercial when the dog can't wait for meal time, but he takes his time eating it and I notice that he is not getting any chubbier for the same amount of food he is consuming
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Awesome food!

February 27, 2012
by ARJ220
fromClay, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I had my dog on blue buffalo small breed chicken and rice when I realized she liked the flavor of her brother and sisters food better (lamb). I was so excited when I found out they were coming out with a small breed lamb flavor and I wasn't disappointed. She loves the flavor and I love the ingredients!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for BLUE Life Protection Small Breed Adult Dog Food
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product