PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage

" Care Area" Divider with Ramp Covers Full Removable Wire Mesh Top Leak-Proof, Washable Canvas Bottom Lock-in-Place Doors Double as Ramps Attractive Epoxy Coated Panels Provide Ample Play Area (8 Sq. Ft.) No Tools or Connecting Pieces Required Great for Indoor or Outdoor Use Folds Flat for Storage & Travel
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
13 of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Decent, but with Problems

January 29, 2014
by LoveAnimals1234
fromAnderson, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I bought the Midwest cage upon arrival of my second guinea pig. I needed a larger cage to keep them from fighting. The canvas bottom was very durable and not able to be chewed through by the pigs and didn't rip. Although durable, the canvas was very bendable and not sturdy at all. I had to custom-build a table that was the exact size of the cage. The canvas bottom also stained brown the first time I used it. I scrubbed with both vinegar and bleach(Don't worry, I thoroughly rinsed afterward), but the stain wouldn't come off. I thought I would enjoy the easy-to-remove Velcro attachment system, but soon found out otherwise. Oreo and Zeus, my naughty little boys, were able to reach a part of the Velcro and chewed through it. They did that on multiple Velcro attachments. The wire bars were thin and easily bent. The canvas base only came in one color, as well. It would be considered "Stylish" if it came in purple, pink, blue, black, etc. I also believe it is overpriced.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price, hard to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great cage for price

December 30, 2013
by RebeccaG
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I got this cage for my birthday because my first guinea pig had outgrown his cage and I was going to get another guinea pig because my first one was lonely. Received cage, it took literally 10 minutes to set up! Easiest cage to put together! And it is gigantic! However, this is not the sturdiest cage. Therefore, I would not recommend moving it to different places. Pick a spot and leave it. With the cleaning, I use newspaper, towels, and fleece. I lay down about 3 layers of newspaper then put 2 towels over that, then the top layer is the fleece. After a week, I wash the towels and fleece but throw out the newspaper.
I definitely recommend you to keep only 2 guinea pigs in this cage unless you add on to it because guineas need a lot of space, especially if they are with other pigs..
Unfortunately, my beloved piggy passed away at only a year old due to lung infection and respitory problems (took him to the vet and got antibiotics and meds but still didn't make it) but I have my other one in there currently and my sister got one and they are now happily living together in this mansion. :)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Love love love this guinea pig habitat

December 21, 2013
by BellofCA
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
When we received the cage, I read the instructions to my 11 year old daughter and she assembled it, it was so easy. We've had it for about 6 months and couldn't be happier. clean up is simple, I line the bottom of the cage with puppy training pads and fleece.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

December 13, 2013
by Blue2015
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Our guinea pig loves it and is always running around in it.He is satisfied with it.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

my piggies love it!

August 2, 2013
by guineaperson
fromVirginia, Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
It never leaks and it is surely big enough I definitely recommend it! the price I got for it was good to!
Pros: sturdy
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

GREAT Cage!

July 22, 2013
by Golden2404
fromSpanaway, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just got this cage the other day and its great! I love the design and I love how big it is. It's bigger than it looks and I really like that. It was easy enough to put together although i took it completly apart and rearanged where the doors were. It only took about 15 mins to put together and ended up pretty good. It was a bit flimsy but i fixed that with a handful of zipties and a good pair of pliers. Now its so sturdy it wont come apart at all. We even managed to work it so the entire top is hinged and opens all at onnce with just zipties and pliers. The bottom is a bit flimsy but if you put some plywood under it, it makes it much much sturdier. Another good thing is that even though the bottom is canvas its completly leak prove. The only real con I have is that it takes up a ton of bedding, but its totally worth it! All in all its an awesome cage for a really good price. I love it and I know my guinea pig does to. It truly is a great cage. I highly recommend it for one to two piggies but no more than that. I also love that if you buy more than one you can connect the two and make a huge cage. I plan to do this in the future so i can get more piggies! Anyways I really hope this helped!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Flimsy

July 9, 2013
by AmyP789
fromHouston, tx
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Great idea--love the large size and divided areas--but the bottom is flimsy canvas. Maybe if they added a solid bottom or at least put in an extra wire grid similar to the top, it would be more functional...
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Flimsy cage

May 18, 2013
by wetters
fromGardner, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I know everyone else who wrote reviews has loved this cage, but when I received it and put it together it was so flimsy and the bottom has no stability at all. The bottom of the cage has very nice heavy duty vinyl/canvas but to me to clean it well you'd have to remove all the Velcro tabs every time unless you have a guinea pig that only potties in one spot all the time. If the cage had a wire bottom the canvas bottom would have been fine. The metal part of the cage is so light and bends easily. This cage cannot be moved without disassembly and must be kept on a hard surface such as a table or piece of plywood. I do love the divider though. I have had many a guinea pig cage and this one is not one I would recommend. Sorry.
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
-3points
13of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Glad to see someone sells a big enough cage!

May 17, 2013
by SHC1192
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm very happy to see that at least one major pet store sells a cage that is big enough for guinea pigs! 1-2 guinea pigs need AT LEAST 7.5 square feet of space. Many people don't realize this and buy much-too-small cages and wonder why their guinea pigs aren't healthy or happy. Guinea pigs NEED to run! This cage is big enough, and wire, which is another great thing! (Guinea pigs CANNOT live in tanks.) This cage is big enough, made of the right stuff, and it has a loft! Wonderful! Good job, PetSmart!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great! Love! Wonderful!

May 7, 2013
by Taby
fromGreenville, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
When I ordered this cage, I was just anxious to get it in the mail! I love this, it was even bigger than I was expecting when it got here and that was so awesome! It was pretty easy to assemble, all you have to do is put the fences up rectangle, put the platform down and put the straps on. I got it backwards at first, but it was easier as I got it and had the help of my mother. I love the plus because you can put the care (water and food ect) on one side and the play area on the big side. I love this cage and it's pretty easy to clean aswell, not hard just a little time-consuming. I recommend this for 1-2 piggies, I have just one and it's perfecttt for her! Though, the price is a little bit higher than it was a while ago, I dont like that. But awesome cage!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Love it, Love it, Love it!!!

March 28, 2013
by PigPerson
fromClarion, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Good deal of space, easy access and area divider makes for a happy piggy and piggy parent!
Pros: easy to clean
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great for Guinea pigs!!

February 22, 2013
by Blue186
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Awesome set up for multiple pigs.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great cage for 2 pigs

February 21, 2013
by artgecko
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This cage is perfect for my guinea pigs and much larger / cheaper than all other pre made cages that I know of. I, too, found that the "dining area" separated the cage too much, so I removed the panel and use a small cat litter box under their hay rack (with paper pelleted litter) where they go the most. This gives them plenty of moving space inside the cage.
Note that the cage has a soft bottom, so you will need to put it on a hard solid surface (floor / table etc.). The cage has also been easy to clean, because the top comes off and you have access to clean the whole thing from above. This is very important because the pigs will go EVERYWHERE in the cage.
I have really enjoyed this cage and could see myself buying another to attach to the current one when they need more room.
Pros: easy to clean
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Perfect Size For Up To 2 Guinea Pigs!

July 8, 2012
by CaraTheExoticsVet
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This cage is the perfect size for 1 or 2 guinea pigs. I connected another onto it for my pair of guinea pigs. It exceeds the recommended MINIMUM 7.5sq feet (60x115cm) recommended for 1 to 2 guinea pigs, and can be used for 1 rabbit as long as ample floor time is given.
Love the attractive design.
Great quality.
The only thing is that the cage has a separate dining area, which takes away from the space they have to run laps of the cage and popcorn (little excited jumps cavies do when they're really happy).
+71points
87of 103voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat Plus Cage
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews