PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food

Help your dog thrive by serving him or her this protein-rich dog food that's formulated based on the natural diet of canines' primal ancestors. Packed with hearty seafood ingredients, balanced with nutritious greens and botanicals and completely free of grains, the food properly nourishes your 4-legged friend to promote a healthy life.
Overall rating:
4.783 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 21
23 of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Review 1 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Gorgeous coat!

January 19, 2014
by YorkieTwins
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We love the Wellness Core Ocean formula...my yorkie always has an amazing coat on this food! Very soft and shiny!
Pros: high quality, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

product came quickly

January 12, 2014
by JoyceK
fromOrange County, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I am very happy with the delivery time, the price and the quality of the food - Core Ocean dry dog food.
Pros: high quality, digestible, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

December 5, 2013
by kalie
fromPhoenix, Az
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Golden developed food allergies as he aged. I weaned him onto Core Wellness Grain Free Grain at the recommendation of my Vet. It took 3 months for the dietary change to have an effect, but itching, chewing on paws, and GI issues are all resolved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

November 19, 2013
by Vonnie
fromDetroit, Michigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My Pug Diggie, have been licking his paws for the last two months and I tried so many avenue to remedy this problem. Diggie also shed a lot and been scratching quite a bit lately. I thought he was suffering from problems with fleas, but this was not the case, because he was dipped for fleas and use Frontline once a month. It was suggested to me to try wellness brand food, because he may have allergies to whole corn products in his food. I just started using the Wellness brand food and mixing it along with the other brand and Diggie is no longer licking his paws or scratching himself.
-14points
0of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Awesome product

November 19, 2013
by MSJN143
fromGulfport, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a 5yr old Westie that started getting skin problems common for the breed. Started him on this food and with in one month the problems were gone. Well worth the money to avoid vet bills.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Wellness Core Seafood Dry formula

November 11, 2013
by DukeMom
fromCharlotte, NC
My vet recommended Wellness to go grain free for my dog because of allergies. He loves it! And he's put on a bit of much needed weight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Great for allergys

November 2, 2013
by MrPackmansmom
fromSebring Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My frenchie has had very serious skin allergys and sensitive stomach. Poor dog had multiple cortisone shots and antibiotics for the skin infections. I know that continuing with cortisone shots can lead to Cushings disease, so we've tried a LOT of grain free products. (He loved Instinct, but it made him sicker). So far, (been on it for 6 weeks now), his itching and upset stomach has decreased immensely. I'm hoping it continues. We also use canned Merrick, Grammys pot pie. He gets 3-4 spoonsful on 1/3 cup dry. If (and sometimes he does) he still wants more I give him a little but usually he leaves some behind. Other times I can't give him enough! Who knows, he's picky but so very lovable! For those of you who have dogs with itchy skin (Head n Shoulders + conditioner is working better than the vets shampoo!) Who knew! Just found that out from other people too. Hopefully this helps others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Excellent product

October 28, 2013
by Wileyrules
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I tried this product due to skin allergies in my dogs. They seem to respond well to grain free food and my terrier no longer requires daily steroids. Also, I love that I can have the food delivered to my front door without huge extra costs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

grain-less all the way!

October 21, 2013
by KennyG
fromLos angeles, Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
I alternate between different grain-less kibbles for my dog. Wellness is one of the brands I alternate. I switch between Innove EVO, Wellness, and Blue Wilderness.
My dog has always been on grain-less since she was a puppy and has done great on it. Her fur are soft and shinny and doesn't get dirty fast. Her poopy are small and firm. She just loves Wellness and grain-less.
Go grain-less and you won't be disappointed!!
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Great product, my dog loves this food.

September 14, 2013
by skymoheyy
fromsan antonio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dog is just in love with this food, we brand hopped at the beginning; but with the help of a great friend he pointed us to Wellness. Her energy has changed, she's always ready for walks, her teeth are so much whiter, and her coat just shines beautifully. Great food, not to bad of a price, and we're sure not changing anytime soon.
Pros: high quality, digestible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

worth the money

August 1, 2013
by dobie2012
fromrochester, mn
We have tried lots of different types of dog food for our Doberman but she seemed to not tolerate anything with chicken in the recipe. We switched her to this formula cold without transitioning her because she didn't tolerate her other food and was having allergy issues. She had no problems with this food even without a transition and she is eating more than she ever has before. I think the benefits of this food is that its grain and poultry free. It does smell a little fishy when left out but at least you know the ingredients are accurate that way!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Greate product!

March 30, 2013
by Viktoriya
fromIdaho Falls
I did not have luck with other brands while introducing my dog to fish. We are going through food elimination process because of food allergies, and fish is new to her. On the Advisor this product was rated 5/5 stars and was very highly recommended, so I gave it a try. Eureka, she LOVES it! I believe she knows what is the best.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

February 3, 2013
by LittleMissSunshine
fromprospect heights, il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Excellent food! We buy the Wellness Ocean and Chicken/Turkey and mix them together - yummy! No food issues with our lovable new addition to our family! She is quite the spoiled one!
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

December 5, 2012
by lovemymutt
fromGreen Bay, Wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
My dog loves it. Would highly recommend to others.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Pricey but worth it!

December 1, 2012
by Rylie
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Our 55 pound goldendoodle was having trouble with frequent ear infections despite cleaning and trimming etc. Our vet suggested changing her food to Wellness Core Ocean citing she could be allergic to the chicken in her kibble. What a change! Ear infections gone, minimal itching/chewing on her paws gone. Can't say she sheds any less but we are believers in this brand! Her breath does stink right after eating but not a problem otherwise. Pricey but worth it!
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

great for allergies

October 16, 2012
by Jackierussell
fromEllensburg, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I use this food for my Jack Russell mix who has food allergies, and it has dramatically improved his coat, shedding, AND he's not so gassy anymore. I would recommend this food if you dog has a chicken/turkey intolerance like my little guy does, or just if you want to give your dog a nice shiny soft coat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

No More Scratching

July 26, 2012
by MickeyMouse
fromLuxembourg (Europe)
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my german shepard has had allergies for the longest and i tried everything. while i was going thru a food trial i came across wellness core. its PERFECT!!! the ocean fish is a cool meat and therefore does not give off any extra heat in her body which raises her temperature and increases the itching. its also high in protein which keeps her energy level up. i have had NO problems with this food AT ALL. I moved to Europe and continue to order it thru the website. Allergies are the biggest pain and after finding a food that works its best to stick with it. Thank you Wellness!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

BEST FOOD!

July 7, 2012
by Jon89
fromTemecula, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i have a black lab and all my dog has eaten is wellness and he loves it. he's been on this adult food for about a month now and can't seem to get enough. does not get bad breath because of it(which i was worried being a fish based food). his coat is always shinier than all the other dogs at the park! even with a bigger dog(about 60lbs right now) he needs very little of it so the medium sized bag goes a long way for us.
PROS: great quality!!
CONS: price of course but still worth it anyway!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

great!!

July 2, 2012
by pumbaasmommy
fromNorth Bergen,NJ
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my pet pumbaa he's a mini bulldog, LOVES this formula he used to eat blue for puppy's but he wasn't too fond of it . so i switched to this formula and he cant get enough and he's really picky eater so it's great to know that he loves it :]
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wellness(r) CORE(r) Grain Free Ocean Recipe Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Shiny coats and lots of energy!!

May 17, 2012
by DogMom6
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 6 Dogs, and they all love this food! 2 of our dogs have skin allergies, and this food has helped them dramatically! Their fur is always so shiny on this food.
My 2 senior dogs had no energy on their old food (Nutro Ultra Holistic), but after switching to Wellness Core Ocean they are like puppies again!!
The food is very expensive (especially with 6 large dogs), but it is well worth it. You can see the difference in them!
All of them love the taste. No problems getting them to eat it.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next