PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise

This ready to assemble Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise converts any 10 gallon aquarium to an easy to view multi-level home for small pets. It has a well ventilated fresh air design and comes with spring locks and safe mesh floors and ramps. Made of durable powder coated wire.
Overall rating:
2.941 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
9 of 17(53%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Review 1 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Dissapointing

December 12, 2013
by Mrptc
fromFort Myers, Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Cage doesnt fit together perfectly. Had to use breadties to keep platforms from falling and make sure Hamsters could not fit through the cracks. The opening in top is poorly spaced. It should have been on side so as to give access to the lower tank to adjust, move, clean or replace items. Definetly overpriced and not worth the hassle to take cage off and on constantly. Way too expensive for its quality.
Cons: price, hard to clean, low quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Great Habitat Addition

December 6, 2013
by HammieSon
fromSF Bay Area
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
My son has two little hamster girls sharing space and as they were growing up fast they needed more room. This addition provides a great solution, it fits perfectly on the 10 gal aquarium expanding the habitat area without spreading out. My 9 year old son could assemble it with minimum help. The cage sits snug on the aquarium and 2 additional security clips provide tight closure. The top opening door is a little loose.
Our hammies seem to enjoy their new condo with more room to roam.
Pros: sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Difficult to clean

December 1, 2013
by HamsterOwner25
fromIndianapolis, IN
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
The problem I had with the cage was that it is difficult to clean the aquarium without taking off the whole upper assembly. This always ended up disturbing my pet and was rather a pain. I ended up buying a single level cage that I could clean more easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

November 10, 2013
by Verne
fromLondon Ontario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Well worth the money. Well made, easily attaches to a 10 gallon aquarium tank, giving much more space for our gerbils to explore and exercise without taking up more space on a table top. Having an aquarium on the bottom is the only cage that keeps them from throwing shavings out of their cage.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

good product if you're willing to work on it

October 17, 2013
by bonehead420
fromsacramento
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
The product went together fairly easy. If you want to separate the cage from the aquarium, the whole thing falls apart. To avoid this I just used some bailing wire and a pair of pliers to reenforce all the areas where the cage walls connect to each other. Now it's real solid and can be separated and re-attached quickly and easily
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Not recommended, poor design

September 27, 2013
by Hannibalhhh
fromProvo, Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
The first one I had to send back because the parts didn't mesh. The second one was difficult to put together for similar reasons, but I was able to get it to work. It doesn't fit on top of the aquarium very well, but with the spring clips it will stay in position.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

I don't really like it.

May 23, 2013
by Collierox22
from….
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
I got this cage when I bought my rats(well my mom bought it for me since my rats were a birthday present.)
After a year I changed to the all living things luxury rat pet home (Which is better but I do hope to upgrade to the critter nation since I now have five rats.)
Because This wasn't a very good cage.
For one thing, Its very small even for just one rat let-alone two, and rats really shouldn't live alone.
For another, The platforms are wire, and while wire doesn't necessarily cause Bumble foot, it still hurts rattie feet. I mean, can you imagine walking on thin wire while barefoot all of your life? Ouch!
Also the bowl is made of a very cheap plastic that rats will chew and tip over. The water bottle was actually a pretty good one, though Each of the water bottles made have a different quality, so some may leak and some may not.
The welding isn't that good either, after a few months the bars started breaking.
Its over-Priced for what you get, especially since you have to buy the tank too.
It might be good for mice or hamsters or maybe even gerbils, and a temporary travel cage for rats but not for a permanent home for rats.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

ONLY good for travel cage

January 28, 2013
by ajdenfeld
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Even though it says its good for rats, ITS NOT! Don't even think that this is a good cage for rats. It might be good for a travel cage for two or three days, but never a permanent cage. For one thing this wouldn't be good for even one rat, and you should never keep a rat alone.
CONS.
Breaks easily
Stinks up quickly
Way too small
Hard to clean
Not enough ventilation
Way to expensive
PROS.
Easy to move
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Okay for the price

June 13, 2012
by Anonymous
fromSpringfield, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this to expand the space I had for my two rats. One of the bars broke off as I was lifting it up to set it up, right out of the box! I managed to fix it easily, but I was surprised to be in "fixing mode" already. The overall quality is what you can expect for the price, and my rats do love running around and climbing on the bars.
However, this comes with a small plastic water bottle--do NOT use it! When I woke up this morning, the entire thing had leaked all over and the bedding was soaking wet.
Overall, I'm ambivalent about this. If I had the extra funds, I would have bought something else, but for those with no alternative, this is good enough.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

pretty nice

April 24, 2012
by teddybearlover
fromFranklin, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this for my teddy bear hamster after finding out that he did not like the tubes that other hamster cages come with. He loves to climb on the shelves. The only drawback was that it was a little pricey, but for me it was worth the price.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

not the best

April 21, 2012
by localowner
fromrochester, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Poorly made. Not very sturdy.
Bad assembly directions. Assembly is annoying and semi-difficult.
Would not recommend this to anyone. It starts off being sturdy, but weakens in about 2 weeks. The more you remove it and put it back - which you obviously have to do in order to clean it- the more flimsy it becomes.
Do not buy this, it is cheaper in the long run to just buy a new cage.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Cool but made poorly

April 18, 2012
by VvNeo2000vV
fromGA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The joints are so weak, 2 bars came off the frame and one of the hooks on the side was broken off right out or the box. My Syrian hamster loved the idea but the quality of this is so poor I returned it.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Works really well!

March 8, 2012
by StandingSilence
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It works really well and it adds a TON of space, my hammie Juliet just loves it! It didn't fit on my 10 gallon tank as well as I would have liked it too, but I just wedged some cardboard in the places it was loose and she hasn't escaped yet! I would totally get this...
+19points
25of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great for teddy bear hamsters!!

February 27, 2012
by Loveouranimals
fromDallas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Our teddy bear hamster is just too big for most of the other hamster habitats!! Once the shelves and ramps get hooked in well, they stay put unless you really try to get them off. It fits PERFECTLY on our 10 gallon tank, and I love the side spring locks so that our crafty border collie can't dislodge it. Cleaning is easy! The top part doesn't really get dirty, so I just lift it off and set it on the floor, then dump the bottom into a plastic bag and either wipe clean, or for a more thorough cleaning, hose it off outside or in our utility sink.
We flipped the lower shelf so that the lower ramp lets off nearer the wall, and the upper ramp is then on the same side. This allows a running wheel on the wall opposite the ramps.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

February 26, 2012
by thebigbear2227
fromKenosha,WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is what my hamster likes.ALOT!!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Hassle

November 30, 2011
by HaleyK
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was very excited when I ordered this for my hamster, however when I received it I noticed several problems.
1. The cage didn't actually fit onto the aquarium I purchased and would slid side to side.
2. The shelves and ramps do not stay locked in well and kept coming out while I was trying to set it up.
3. The hook that holds the short ramp on was broken.
4. It is impossible to reach into the aquarium while the cage is attached. It was such a huge pain that I finally decided to just return it.
+14points
29of 44voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Ware Chew Proof Small Animal High Rise
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product