PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats

The Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats provides an enticing place for your cat to scratch its claws. Place it anywhere your cat can reach.
Overall rating:
3.381 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
14 of 21(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Review 1 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

My cats loved it

March 13, 2014
by eml52023
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two cats, both 2-years-old. One of the cats is definitely on the bigger side, like 15 pounds. They both love this scratcher! They're constantly using it. I have noticed that when my bigger cat lays on it you can see the cardboard kind of sag underneath his weight. However, it's definitely sturdy, nothing has broken yet! They both really loved the toy that is hanging in the inside. They had it ripped out the first day and spent hours tearing it to pieces. My other cat likes to put both his arms and his head in the hole and just lay there. Very entertaining to watch them play with this scratcher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Very Good!

March 12, 2014
by kattyCat
fromMiami
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I bought a lot of this kind of stuff for my three cats, it is my firs time with this, I got it for an amazing price and my cat loved as they used to do with scratchers. I always sprinkle a little bit of catnip the first time to attract them, after that my furniture is safe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Too small

March 10, 2014
by Sascha
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Unfortunately this product says it's a Play Cavern Scratcher for cats, but it's actually for kittens. It's so tiny, there's no way that a regular size cat can get in to it. Also, the little toy inside was destroyed in under 5 minutes. It's great as a scratchy box (because it's at an angle), but it's not a play cavern for cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

A great value in a scratching post

February 13, 2014
by Jean89
fromLutherville, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am disappointed that I could not find these posts in retail stores. I went to 2 stores in my area to find them, to no avail. That's why we ordered them online.
This post is an improvement over the one that lies flat because it is wider, on a slant, and has a toy dangling under it. It also can be refilled when both sides wear out. A nice value, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

not yet user

February 5, 2014
by munger
fromfalls,pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i have no opinion as of yet! only had it less than a week and have seen no interest. my cat loves nip but won't use the scratcher, she will play with the toy in the back though.. i've put on the board ten times but just has'nt got with the program. she seems to like the living room chair more. maybe i should have got a post instead?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

great but...

January 12, 2014
by vals
fromPomona, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats liked the scratching part and also the toy. However, the toy should not be of meltalic material, and it came apart in a short time frame. Charge a little more and put a better toy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Not interested

December 26, 2013
by 2CATS5FISH
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Not sure why, but neither of my cats are interested in this scratcher. My cat that loves corrugated box scratchers has shown almost no interest at all. I wonder if kittens might find it more interesting than my adult cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Has lasted for 10 years

December 1, 2013
by BaileysMommy
fromMiami, FL
I agree that the toy disappeared very quickly, but since the inserts are replaceable, I've had my cavern scratcher for about 10 years (!), through multiple cats. My present cat is 3 1/2 yrs old, 14lbs and he uses it every day, along with his sissel scratcher. The incline design works especially well for him as he has cerebellar hypoplasia, and having issues with his motor coordination, he has difficulty using vertical scratchers.
The front corner has finally worn out (I've had a piece of packing tape on it for a few years), it's time to buy him a new one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

smaller than appears

October 26, 2013
by 2MNana
fromMemphis TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I actually purchased 2 of these items based on reviews from others saying how much they liked it and that you could not get it in stores. It appeared larger in the photo than it really is. The cat cannot get inside it like it appeared and my kitty likes to be enclosed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

cat scratcher

October 22, 2013
by dakotansooner
fromMoore, OK.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats just love this!! It was a replacement from the one I lost in the tornado, so my cats were glad they have one back!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Horrible - cheap, and broken in a day.

October 11, 2013
by DMykeT
fromDecatur, Il
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Made 100% of cardboard, including the scratcher. Small. Ball inside is made of something cheaper than tin foil. It was broken and in pieces on the floor within a day. Definitely not worth it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

acceptable for the price

July 27, 2013
by goosieist
fromPalmdale, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a very cute, functional scratcher, but only good for a kitten, it is very small, but my kitten likes it a lot. The reason I only gave 3 stars is because just 5 minutes after I got it home, the toy dangling inside was ripped off & in pieces by my kitten. instead replaced that shiny toy for one of his plastic jingly balls. Will wait til he outgrows this to invest in a better quality scratcher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

May 17, 2013
by CatMom2
fromCulver City, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
One of my cats, Kelly, really loves this cat scratcher, she uses it everyday. Sometimes one of my other cats, JJ, competes with her because he just wants to lay on it, but Kelly likes to scratch on it! It's fun to watch them. Please don't stop selling this item online. You no longer sell it in the store where I shop most of the time (I wish you did), but as long as I can find it online, I'll be satisfied with that. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Good.

April 7, 2013
by LibertyandJustice
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My cat liked this a lot! She loved the toy in the middle and she loved to scratch. This was her welcome home present when we adopted her (6 years ago). She was a tiny six month old kitten back then so she could fit inside and it doubled as a house. Would really recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Does the job

February 9, 2013
by Anonymous
fromToronto, ON
The usage rate of the product will depend on a cat's personality - two of our three cats love it. Wouldn't say the scratcher adds to your home style but it does the job and is a pretty good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

waste of money

December 1, 2012
by CatLover123456789
fromMillbrook, On
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My one year old DSH destroyed the hanging toy within an hour and then proceeded to rip apart the cardboard holder for the scratcher.
I kept having to put the cardboard holder back together as it was so flimsy when she scrached it kept collapsing. In total the toy lasted about a month (being generous here) and then it was destroyed, including the cardboard holder.
I highly recommend the pastic circle on where you can replace the cardboard scratching peice in the centre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

My Kittens loved it!

September 24, 2012
by 3catmomma
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I enjoyed watching my kittens play with this they sure stayed entertained it only had two minuses on this. One the teaser was torn to shreds instantly! Ha. And that it would be nice if it can come in a larger size since my kittens have grown and don't fit in it anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Good scratcher

September 9, 2012
by Heather4
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had a version of this scratcher for 5-6yrs. I've had to replace the cardboard insert but it still get used by my 4 cats. They tore the toy out long ago but I stash toys in there & they work to get them out & enjoy the challenge of getting the toy out of the "cavern". It does shed cardboard bits everywhere but only when the insert needs to be replaced. You can flip the insert over & use both sides though so that's great! It's better than them destroying my furniture & it's easily movable to scratching trouble spots in your house. I don't usually put cat nip on it. Sometimes a little sprinkle. They like & use it regularly either way. The only problem is that as they've gotten bigger, it does need to be propped against a wall or something or it will scoot across the floor as they're trying to scratch on it. Other than that it's a 5 star cat item!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

My kitten loves it!

September 30, 2011
by Teena
fromPennsylvania
I bought this when we first got our kitten in June, she was 3 months old at the time. She not only used it immediately to scratch on, she still uses it today. I did not use the catnip to attract her to it because it wasn't necessary. She loved the toy on the inside so much that she managed to tear it out of there within a month. Which is why I only gave it 4 stars. She's too big now, but she would play on the inside until she no longer fit comfortably.
I would say this is an awesome product for a kitten up until about 6 months of age, because that is when they can no longer get in and out easily.
Pros: easy to assemble, price
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grreat Choice Play Cavern Scratcher for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

worst scratcher ever

July 9, 2011
by Sp08
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The scratcher slides all over the carpet when my cat tries to use it - had to be against the wall to be even remotely effective. And the toy inside the cavern? My cat could care less. Don't waste your money.
Cons: poor quality
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next