PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control

Patented Perfect Bark for the most reliable bark detection. Safe, humane and effective for all dog breeds. Best suited for dogs over 40 lbs. One year warranty.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Excellent product really works fast!

December 3, 2013
by weinerdogowner
fromVernon, BC Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I bought the small dog version of this product as it was recommended by the sales associate at the store. I was skeptical but thought I have to give it a try as I had a very yappy daschund that barked all the time and at anything. It took one day of using this collar to correct my dogs excessive barking. We were so amazed and pleased with the product. My dog has been using this for 2 weeks and even when the collar is not on and I let her outside she still does not bark. I am totally impressed and satisfied with this product. It works!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Excellent Product

November 16, 2013
by Rayzor1748
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
We just brought home a new dog to our family, a very large dog with a loud, deep bark. After a few weeks we decided we had to try a bark collar. It worked the first day! It took Sarge only 2 or 3 barks before he learned and corrected his barking. It has been working ever since with no problems at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

March 17, 2013
by Baycon
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
I purchased this product for my boxer/whippet mix who's a barker. I was extremely disappointed in this product. It didn't work what so ever. I wouldn't recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Works like a charm!

March 13, 2013
by ISay
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I have an 80pd pitbull/mastiff mix who was an excessive and loud barker. I was skeptical about the collar when I purchased it but wow I'm glad I tried it! Her barking immediately decreased on day one of wearing the collar and she seems calmer. This collar has been a lifesaver for myself, my family and my neighbors!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Good training tool

August 16, 2012
by doglover90
fromNewport news, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have an 11 month old weimaraner who barks non-stop in his crate. After months of training with him and trying to deal with it there was no improvement. So after a complaint from the neighbors we went to our last resort. I talked with the trainer at petsmart and she suggested this collar. I am using it as a training tool along with hands on training. My only complaint is it will zap him when he isn't barking for loud noises. He ran down stairs which are wood so it's very loud and he kept yipping out. I notice it again when I yelled across the house to my husband. Other then that I think its a great training tool! Saved both me and my neighbors
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

LOVE THEM

February 24, 2012
by OPKS
fromKS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have two 90+lb labs (not overweight, just big) that are big barkers in the yard, gotten worse since neighbors got a new puppy. I got one of these collars at my local Petsmart and tried it on both dogs and then went back the next day to get another it worked so well!!! It might've "corrected" each of them only a couple times before they got it. Now they stay away from the fence and don't bark at all unless they know the collar isn't on. I recommend following the instructions and being out with your dogs when they first have it on so you can praise them for not barking. Mine just acted like they stepped on something unexpected when the static corrected them. They don't run away when I put it on either; I hope they are enjoying being out in the nice weather more since I don't have to sprint to let them in as soon as they start barking. It is a HUGE stress relief!! I wish I had bought these YEARS ago!! (and I'm sure my neighbors do too). I wasn't sure if they would work on such big stubborn dogs but works like a dream.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that there is the possibility that the collar rotates while they wear it and if the box isn't right against their throats it will not work. Most of the time they stay put.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Slow to start, but works like a charm now

February 8, 2012
by Nestor
fromMirabel QC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My big Royal Poodle laughed at the first device I bought him, the "Bark Off", which had no effect on him. But with the Petsafe bark control device, it took about a week for him to fully realize that he wasn't supposed to bark at all. It's been four months now, and he still wears it daily, just for reinforcement. There have been times when I've dashed out for a quick errand, and not put it on, he doesn't bark, which is always rewarded with a doggy treat. I have to admit, like most similar products, you have to make sure the neck hair isn't too long, or it won't work 100%.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe (r)Deluxe Big Dog Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Complete waste of money

November 28, 2011
by GermanLabMalteseJack
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just bought this for my adult German shepherd and it's immediately going back. Unless you have a naked or extremely short haired dog there's no way you will get good contact with the dog's skin. It says you may have to cut the hair on the dog's neck but don't shave it because it may cause irritation. I would have to completely shave my dog's neck to get any contact. I bought the Innotek one for $50 for a small dog a few years ago and that's what I'm going to exchange this one for. The prongs are much longer and I really don't see that this one (for more than double the money, has any features that that one doesn't. You can't manually set the correction level on either one. Save your money, buy a $50 one!
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.