PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid

The StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid helps you reinforce positive behaviors in your dog. The clicker comes with a training guide so you can get started quickly.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
9 of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Review 1 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Horses!!!!!

January 3, 2013
by cowgirlrebelrider
fromnorth carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
this works great for biting horses. i use this for my horse who bites when saddling. its a very humane way to break bad habits without hitting, scolding, physical contact.it also works to move their feet....i love this clicker and i can say i thought of this by myself...however im sure someone else has too so i wont take credit for this idea...just saying it works for my horses
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Durable, Reliable and Aesthetically Pleasing

November 13, 2012
by Hasledowy
fromUT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I absolutely love this clicker! The sound is always the same, it fits in my hand perfectly, it's quiet enough for inside training and loud enough for walks on blustery days, Good design and great color coordination. I've heard some clickers that are kind of weak, but this one is clear and has a good tone. I'm not a fan of the box clickers, but was worried that because the metal is partially covered it might muffle the sound. Not so, I love the sound of it and because of clicker training, so does Keeba.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

My favorite Clicker!!

August 29, 2012
by ayramoto
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I have quite a few of these, they're my favorite clickers. Easy to click no matter how you hold it, I've even used it under my foot to teach my dog to let me handle her mouth in preparation for teeth brushing.
Its a nice loud clicker, I never doubt whether not my animals heard the click ( I also clicker train my donkeys).
This is the only clicker I'll buy & I recommend it to everyone.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Favorite clicker

August 24, 2012
by incandescent
fromConcord, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
As a professional trainer, this is far and away my favorite clicker. I spend a lot of my day with clicker in hand, so the comfortable shape of it is appealing to me. It also doesn't have that awful harsh, tinny noise like the box-shaped clickers do, and it's much more reliable to press. I recommend this to all of my customers, but I insist on it for families with children -- the big button makes it much easier for little fingers to work with. I'm surprised to see such low reviews on here. Of the clickers that Petsmart sells, this is easily the most comfortable and (in my experience) the most durable. The only real reason to buy a different one would be to get the cheap-o box clickers for a couple bucks less. I've personally found that, over time, this nicer clicker makes up for the extra few dollars in the initial price.
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

great tool for training!

April 23, 2012
by dezz
fromThunder Bay, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i don't use this tool to train my dogs to sit, or speak...my dog is the kind that run away and don't come when you call them so the very day i got this tool, my dog got out...now instead of freaking out i just repetitively clicked the clicker...in a matter of two minutes she came back! if you have a dog like this, i highly suggest you buy this product!!!
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

i don't use it for a dog.

February 23, 2012
by Budgiewuva123
fromNevada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
like i said i don't use this for dog training but really i use it for bird training. Well after my bad attempts to train my stubborn parakeet i figured i would try a technique more commonly practiced on larger parrots, and other pets. Clicker training, though with any animal you are using this with. You first must let the animal understand what it means. Gather up your pets favorite treat. Next show the animal the clicker but keep the treat in a bag or behind your back. Click the clicker and then give your pet the treat. Repeat this multiple times until the animal has associated the sound of the clicker with getting something they love. Then this can make training much easier and quicker. And as for this clicker in general I really like it though it is pricey its well worth it. Its very loud so the pet can better hear it, though it varies on the animal.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Ok

January 3, 2012
by Pasha1
fromToronto, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought this after the trainer suggested, works while teaching, while you want to train your dog in this manner. This product works if you know understand what you are doing. I personally found this product useless when I went to an advance trainer, as this item has no daily use for me or my dogs now.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

So quiet!

December 10, 2011
by My3Puppies
fromHanover ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I went to the store to get another clicker. I thought that this would be good because it looked more advance, but it is terrible. My dog does agility and I tried teaching her something with this clicker and she didn't seem to get it! It's also very expensive! I would just stick with the cheap and great pets,art version ( with the petsmart logo)
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Best Clicker

September 27, 2011
by Tay90
fromMacon,Ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this to teach my dog simple commands and to obey me at times ex: sit and stay. It works well but I lost it and didn't feel like buying another so I got a cheaper clicker that works good as well. It's loud but not too loud and my dog did listen when he heard the clicker
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Perfect

July 16, 2011
by McCrackin2
fromBeckley, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great clicker. I highly recommend clicker training if you know how to use it right. And this clicker is wonderful. Some clickers you have to set everything up inside and it gets complicated. With this one, it is already put together and it has a big button that makes clicking easier. I also like the little hole at the bottom so you can attach something to make holding it easier. I just thread a rubber band through it so I can wrap it around my wrist. If you are considering clicker training I would deffinately recommend this one.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for StarMark Clicker Dog Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Excellent training tool

June 7, 2011
by DLeigh
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pros:
Clickers, of all kinds, are excellent training tools. Dogs (or any creature) quickly learns "click = reward" and that clicks immediately follow all rewardable actions. They prevent accidentally rewarding a dog for the wrong action, because you pinpoint the desirable action with a click as soon as its complete, no fumbling for treats! Every behavior you teach your dog with a clicker gets easier and easier to train, because the training method is always the same, no matter the goal!
Pros:
Effective, simple training that is easy for the dog AND the person to understand and preform.
Lots of books, forums, and guides are available on how to use clickers (this clicker comes with a guide)
Attaches to a keychain so its always on hand, in hand, and ready for when you dogs unexpectedly does what you were waiting for!
Cons:
The little orange button broke off of mine after a few months of use. The clicker still works by pressing my thumb down on the little metal plate, but the sound isnt exactly the same.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.