PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate

It makes a great bedding for frogs, toads, dry-land newts, tortoises, Box Turtles and other terrestrial type turtles, forest-dwelling lizards and snakes (not desert species) and all types of invertebrates, including hermit crabs.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
14 of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Review 1 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great!

January 17, 2014
by YellowTurtle
fromValley City, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have this for my Russian Tortoise, and it so nice! It gets dirty quickly, but it's not expensive, so easy to replace. Doesn't smell.
He accidentally eats it sometimes when he's chewing on his cuddle bone, and it nice that it doesn't get impacted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

November 4, 2013
by hermitcrab13
fromGlobe, AZ
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Zoo Med Eco Earth is very easy to clean and looks great in the enclosure.
Pros: easy to clean, looks great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Excellent Substrate!

June 19, 2013
by Geckomaster
fromTerre Haute, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great substrate for maintaining humidity, easy to clean, extremely naturalistic
I would recommend the compressed Eco Earth bricks for those of you who are intending to have a higher humidity initially. The bricks allow for more control over the initial moisture.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing!

April 20, 2013
by LeahRenee
fromCarmi, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a hermit crab and was originally using aquarium pebbles which was all I could get at a local store. I did some research and found out about the Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate from a very helpful woman at PetSmart! My hermit crab seems so much more happy with this substrate than he was with the pebbles. He immediately started digging around and burrowing in it! It also is very helpful in maintaining the humidity he requires to breathe properly! Fantastic absorbancy and relatively odorless! Although, the price is a little high it is definitely worth it for my hermie.
Pros: looks great, easy to clean
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

hermit crabs love

February 7, 2013
by jblove
fromsan Diego
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
As soon as I put my new hermi one this he buried himself under. It's just awesome. Keeps humidity in the tank so I only have to mist once a day. Sometimes twice. It doesn't smell at all and its good my little angels. I definitely recommends this instead of sand. And u only have to change it every 6 months
Pros: looks great, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great For Hermit Crabs!

February 1, 2013
by IzzyLucyHardi
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This substrate is really good for hermit crabs! It really helps to keep the humidity in the cage, which hermit crabs really need. I would definatley reccomend this to all hermit crab owners. It is also very good for the crabs to burrow in when they molt or when they just want to burrow. I really reccomend this bedding!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Happy Hermit Crabs

January 31, 2013
by AZBee
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Finding a comfortable bedding material for my hermit crabs was a trial and error process until I purchased Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate. Felix, Gino and Harry love it and burrow happily. It has a light, earthy scent and is quite absorbent, handling water dish upendings easily. The boys enjoy a small amount of Zoo Med Hermit Crab sand mixed into the loose coconut fiber. One bag contains enough product to fill a 10-gallon aquarium 3"s deep for several bedding changes. Economical and functional - a real winner for this crab-mom and her critters.
Pros: easy to clean, looks great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great for humidity

January 25, 2013
by ChristaMarie
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
We used this when we had anoles and for the treefrogs and it keeps the humidity perfect! It's easy to clean up and is odorless. The price can be a little high sometimes, but it's worth it.
Pros: looks great, easy to clean
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

grate for hermit crabs and other animals

June 20, 2012
by hermitcrablover123
fromlouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i got this to try it out and it was one of the chepest things on the sheld at the time. it is grate for hremit crabs. yes it is mess when u put it in your tank and wet it but if u let the walls dry the wipe it off its ok. yes it does stick to your hermit crab or any thing eles that is wet but once it drys all u have to do it wipe it off and hermit crabs dont mind it at all they really love it comeing from some one that has had hermit crabs for a long time this is all i get :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

wonderful

April 28, 2012
by smileyfreek
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Really great. Holds humidity and makes spot cleaning easy. Lots of it in one bag and worth the price. Fills up a ten gallon with about three inches about 5 times.
Pros: looks great, easy to clean
Cons: messy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Holds humidity, though expensive and annoying.

March 24, 2012
by variousanimalowner
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I bought Eco earth for my first time hermit crabs, Spazz and Tazz. I was happy to see it jump start my desired humidity levels (I live in a dry 11% humidity climate) though I was dissapointed in the way so much of it stuck to water and food dishes. I lost about 2 tbsp. daily, and I can't afford to spend $10.00 a week on such a small pet. I thought it imitated it's natural environment very well, however, and prefer it to sand or gravel.
Pros: looks great
Cons: price, messy
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

O.k.

March 13, 2012
by TheGecko
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I helped my friend set up her hermit crab terrarium and I researched about this stuff so I said it'd be good to get it. We brought it home and poured it into her 10 gallon. It acts like really loose dirt, so it stuck to our hands and got her bathroom dirty. It also doesn't work well when it gets wet. When she put her hermit crabs in it (they were wet because we sprayed them) the dirt completely stuck to them and got their shells dirty. It even got inside and stuck to the new unused shells. It looks fine only if your terrarium walls aren't wet. If they are, it fully covers the walls and blocks the view. This product is okay, but because there is better substrate out there, I wouldn't recommend this certain product.
Cons: messy
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Top Quality Substrate

January 15, 2012
by Kid59python
fromMichigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This Substrate Is absolute perfection. This substrate is soft and light, I like to see it as Memory foam for snakes because it forms around your pet! It even allows for some great burrowing with great ease. The substrate is so small that it can be digested with- out any problem and best of all there's no dust! (give that you pour in from top to bottom) Also one bag is fills a 20 gallon long tank at the perfect height with ease, So overall this is a great product... Oh and I have a ball python in case you was wondering.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great product

September 29, 2011
by Skate23
fromGrand Junction, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great bedding base for hermit crabs! Just mix this with sand and it makes a great substrate. If you do 60% sand and 40% coconut fiber it should be pretty similar to hermit crabs natural environment. The consistancy should be moist enough to pack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth(r) Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product