PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Parasite Guard(r)

Keep your aquatic pets healthy and lively with this parasite remedy. The treatment removes external and internal parasites and comes in fast-dissolving tablets for easy
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Review 1 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Fin and barbel parasites on corydoras.

January 11, 2014
by MRFISHFOOD
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased some Peppered Corydoras from another company in town. After a couple of days I noticed white fluff on the dorsal Fin of one of the new corydoras. I used my camera to get a closer look. Turns out the fish was covered in parasites on the fins and barbels. I only had the fish since 1-3-14 so I knew it came that way from the shop.
I tried from 1-5 to 1-9 to use malachite green and formalin. This did not work and the parasites spread to my older albino Corydoras and to some bronze Corydoras.
I picked up tetra parasite guard on 1-8 and treated (after a large water change on my 29H) the aquarium with 3 tablets. At 4 hours I watched 2 parasites drop off of one bronze Corydora. At 12 hours my heavily infested peppered Corydora looked much better. At 24 hours, no parasites could be found on any of the Corydoras.
Please see photos. I was very happy with the treatment. I had the option to take back this fish, but even if I did I would still have to treat my other fish. Will be doing a second and final dose at the 48 hour mark to make sure any parasites that may have escaped get killed.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Perfect

November 13, 2013
by KLLoomis
fromClarksville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I treated my tank with this and I noticed my black moor starting to perk up and seem to be feeling better in less than 24 hours. Couldn't ask for anything better.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Disappointed

July 16, 2013
by MsKia
fromSaint James, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I used 2 boxes and it still did't work had to end up buying the more expensive brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Seems to have worked

May 24, 2013
by CarleyS
fromMT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I used this for my bichir whom had been suffering from internal parasites. This product does contain praziquental, which is a good all around dewormer. I recommend soaking non-flake food for a minute or two in medicated tank water before feeding to make sure it soaks up the medicine if you intend to use it for intestinal worms to make sure the fish gets a good dose.
Also make sure you take out your filter while using this product or it will bind to the carbon and not work!
Pros: works great, easy to use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

it took the whole packet and it still didnt work

July 9, 2012
by whatsproduct
fromarlington,tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i had one anchor worm to begin with and i put two of the fizzy tabs and it took that one away but two more came up and i ended up using the whole packet of them on my twenty gallon and also water got like greenish
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Quick and Effective

March 22, 2011
by ChelleBelle248
fromWichita Falls, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
My Black Moor Goldfish was always sitting at the bottom of his tank, not moving much, and was barely able to make it to the top of the tank to eat. He also had white, fluffy poo. I did some research and it indicated that he probably had an internal parasite of some sort. I put this medication in the tank, and within two days, he was back to his perky self! I am very happy and I think he is too!!
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Works well on Lernea (Anchor Worm)

March 15, 2011
by utty
fromminnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I had a serious infestation of anchor worm on my fish tanks. I tried a few remedies. There was one tank that was much more difficult to cure than the others. Ultimately it took this medication Tetra Parasite Guard to get rid of the lernea in that tank. It saved my fish and I am very pleased with that. I keep some on hand all the time incase this ever happens again. Highly recommend. I have kept freshwater aquarium fish for over 20 years.
Pros: works great, easy to administer
Cons: price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Tetra Parasite Guard(r)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product