PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food

Authority Large Breed Puppy Food provides real chicken as the #1 ingredient, offering quality protein to help your puppy build strong muscles. Fish oil rich in the nutrient DHA promotes healthy brain and eye development.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Review 1 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

great stuff

August 9, 2013
by haleygrl1
fromchesapeake va
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 4 month old rotti/mastiff mix and this food is awesome she is full of energy and just cant wait for meal time. Our friend got a puppy from the same litter my dog weighs ten pounds more and is much more healthy. thank you authority..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

tremendous quality

February 27, 2013
by juanka
fromCAROLINA, PR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
one of the most complete foods for my pet what is this brand as I have a black labrador 6 months, the model I use is puppy food large breed since the second month and I'm using a lot of energy, strength, great action and more that I have no use for my puppy vitamins daily. I found this product more than food. is tremendous quality, good nutrition and a good deal better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

VERY SURPRISED!

January 25, 2013
by BoxerLabMami
fromSan Antonio Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We started our boxer baby on grain free food which i know is like the best food to put my lil guy. Well after SEVERAL different one i couldn't get him to have solid stools at all. We switched from Nutro Natural Choice thinking it was gonna work out nicely cause he would go from loose to hard but mostly loose. I finally decided enough was enough. I went to Petsmart and ran into one of the managers who her and a relative had delt with the exact same stuff with their dogs. She pointed out Authority Large Puppy and after reading the ingredients noticed MOST of the bad things were out but it had the grains that MORE than likely my baby needed. Go figure within the first 24 hrs he FINALLY had good solid stools within the following day he still had solid stools and normally he has nothing but diarreah or loose stools. I believe by completely taking him off the other stuff and starting him fresh really helped him ALOT! I couldn't be happier and am thrilled that its been going as wonderful as it has been. It might not work for every fur baby but it def worked for ours. Thanks Authority!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Puppy LOVES it!

November 16, 2012
by Bugsy88
fromIdaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have been feeding my 9 month old St Bernard Authority Large Breed Puppy Food since she was weaned. Her coat is so soft! She eats about 8 cups a day. We did try Iams puppy food... but it didnt agree with her system. She loves this food. Would recommend to anyone! and everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Excellent

September 15, 2012
by chico6724
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog loves it. Excellent food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great Product!!!

September 5, 2012
by malamute
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Malamute was on a pro life product but he always tried to eat my cats food and im guessing it was because it contains fish. Also his coat was very dry and he didnt seem satisfied with his food. So i researched all types of dog food brands and Authority seemed the best fit for my malamute. Best choice we made for his food. He eats everything and now has a beautiful coat! Plus we got him some dog treats that contains salmon and loves them too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

My pup's love it!

August 20, 2012
by ceeceelnblf
fromAbq, NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I adopted a two puppies in April from the shelter. They were being fed science diet, and I wanted something better so I fed them natures domain from Costco. My male liked it okay, but my girl scarcely ate. They are Rottie/Australian Shep mixed, so they're not small by any means. At six months the male was normal sized, but my girl was SO SKINNY! I switched them to CAnine CLub, which was terrible for them but I just wanted to see if she would eat something. Still nothing. I was terribly worried. Finally I switched her to Authority because I thought the ingredients were okay. She LOVES IT! She would never look at her food before, it took her all day to eat about a cup. Now, she eats 2-3 cups/day and gets so happy during mealtime. My male eats it too! I now have to feed them seperatly, because they try to eat eachothers. I HIGHLY reccomend this, and they'll be eating this, and I will be switching them to adult Authority as well.
My senior dog loves the food too, but she's never been picky anyways(:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great! Very satisfied!

July 25, 2012
by GreatDanes4Dobies
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Whenever I have litters of either Great Danes or Dobies, they love this food!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

best food for the price

June 21, 2012
by newfyguy
fromNashwauk,MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a 17 month old male Newfy who is about 150lbs and he has been on the Large Breed Puppy Authority food since day one and he loves it. His coat is great, BM is solid and no gas. The price is awesome as is the ingredients. It seems to keep him full too, he is eating about three cups in the morning and three more at night. It would be nice to get a Petsmart up in Northern Minnesota soon, hint,hint...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great for my lab

June 5, 2012
by Labpuppies
fromSalinas, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was having trouble finding a good dog food for a reasonable price. I tried a few other brands and they weren't working too well for my pup cause she kept having the runs. But after switching to this food she's been having normal stool. Good food at a good price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

April 27, 2012
by tjnick
fromPa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've purchased Large Breed Senior for over a year up until our dog passed away. We were so satisfied with Authority that we have been purchasing Large Breed Puppy since September 2011. The food seems different in the last two bags he's used. The food pieces are covered in the crumbs that you would normally just find in the bottom of the bag. My daughter also has been purchasing Authority puppy and has noticed the same excessive crumbs in their most recent bag. Wondering if anyone else has noticed this change? I wouldn't even think twice about this except our dogs recently have been experiencing diarrhea.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

My puppy actually eats all her food

April 25, 2012
by arizonasun
fromGlendale, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was feeding my 4 month old labrador puppy the same food the breeder was feeding her, but she was not eating anywhere close to the recommended daily amount. A PetSmart associate recommended this food and I mixed a little of it in with her other food and she eats all of it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great Coat Aid

April 21, 2012
by Angie1008
fromCleveland, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We adopted a Lab mix who wound up having parvo, yeast infection, and skin fungus. Has improved tremendously after being treated by Banfield vets at a reasonable cost with the vet care insurance. I switched to Authoirity because of all the positive reviews and her coat is like new. It was scabby, dull and she had bold spots. It is beautiful now. Only bad thing is aweful smelly gas passed. I guess we can deal with that.LOL
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great product

April 9, 2012
by Lovesthebullies
fromSpringfield, Ne
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have used all kinds of foods from dog chow to Nutro. I most recently fed Iams, until 4+ months ago and felt like it was comparable to dog chow. I adopted an underweight male Dane and read up on the different foods and went with Authority. I feel they all (two Pits and a Great Dane) look better coat wise and feel better. Highly recommended!! I will switch to adult Authority shortly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

great product!

January 19, 2012
by boxermamma
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 4 mo old boxer. We were feeding him Nutromax as per directed when we got him. I was on the hunt for a quality dog food, with wholesome ingredients and found this one. When we decided to start swithing him over, we mix some of the old food in with the Authority. He won't start eating until this brand is mixed in the bowl! When he's older, I will most likely continue with the Authroity brand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Hungry Dobie

June 1, 2011
by Heimdog
fromWI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
When my 14 month old Doberman found his forever home with me he was underweight. Not terribly but clearly needed to fill out. After comparing many brands and "premium" dog foods I settled on Authority. Max eats it with gusto. His muscle tone is excellent, his coat is glossy black and he is slow but sure adding the weight he needs. When he out grows Puppy variety I'll switch to a different Authority formula.
Pros: high quality, price, digestible, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Happy we switched!

May 24, 2011
by Mastiffmama
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I have a 5 month old bull mastiff that was eating a very expensive holistic food. With times being so hard and him eating so much we could no longer afford to purchase that brand. We love our baby and didn't want to feed him junk. After some research I learned about Authority. It's a really good food. My rocky loves it.
Pros: high quality, price, digestible, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

She loves it!

March 29, 2011
by KCMP
fromTN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have been researching dog food for a while now. When we got our German Shepherd puppy I started her out on Authority Large Breed Puppy food. She loves it! It is all she has ever had and she gets so excited when she knows it's time to eat. Her coat is so soft and shiny!! We have a golden retriever who in all of her 10 years has only been able to keep down another brand's Lamb and Rice food, we are in the process of trying to switch her to Authority Senior. I really hope she can adjust to it because it is better for her!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Authority Puppy Lamb

March 24, 2011
by PitbullMama
fromWheat Ridge, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
The ingredients are great as well as the percentages of Protien, crude fat, etc. Both of my Pitbulls started out with the Authority Puppy food. The price is great and manageable and you are getting a quality product. I had to be pretty picky with the ingredients and Authority made it easy!
Pros: high quality, price, digestible, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Authority(r) Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

puppy wont eat dry

March 9, 2011
by sullytex
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
I have a boxer puppy that I have purchased this food for,and she WILL NOT eat it, unless u add a bit of regular milk to it.
I have tried it with some can dog food mixed in it and dry both. Wont touch it ! I dont know if the product is bad or if I just have a picky eater???
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.