PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50

Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50 Keeps water crystal clear in 4 easy steps.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
4 of 12(33%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Review 1 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

flow-yes; quiet-NO!

August 21, 2013
by blue20AE
fromBC, Canada
What is your gender?M
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Not sure how they come up with their name, it flows water all right, it is no where near quiet at all. I bought this as suppliment to a canister filter and to increase water flow. However, it is so noisy that I have to unplug it before I can watch TV.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Quiet not so much

August 19, 2013
by seenohearyes
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been through just about every power filter you can get for my 55 gallon tank. I bought this because I want something quiet. This is horrible, its is far from quiet however it does do the job but since I paid for the quietness its getting a 1 star.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

I cant sleep with the filter

April 3, 2013
by Anonymous
fromdallas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Really nice filter but LOUD i think its the motor dont buy louuuuuuud
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

This filter

March 25, 2013
by FishermanHanauce
fromCanada, Ont
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I have had the Quiet flow 50 for four months and it broke today. Beware there is no flow rate adjuster and the cartridge clogs very easily. plus they are pricey.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

BAD FILTER MEDIA

September 25, 2012
by Ashman
fromToronto, Ontario
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pros- Its quiet
Cons- It doesnt clean the water properly, the filter media is not sufficient. You are replaceing filter every 2 weeks (not every month).
Filter clogs very easily and bypasses filter media.
Not enough carbon inside filter
Nothing to remove amonia problem.
Just bought the Aqua Clear, 2 days later tank is crystal clear. It may be a bit louder but worth it.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

May 28, 2012
by Slappo
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just bought this power filter after my other louder and problematic power filter broke on me. It was always loud and I had to take it apart many times because it was always stopping due to overheating issues from the motor even after bein cleaned. This new one not only was easier to set up but is so much quiter then my old system. The filters are a lil high but my old setup had the foam, carbon, & amonial filters that were the same if not more then these.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

LOUD...hope you can hear me.

April 29, 2012
by pogi
fromSurrey, BC
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I added a new aquarium and bought this Aqueon filter. Can't believe the motor is sooooooo loud. I've been using "whisper" & "top fin" for 8 yrs for my other two aquariums with no noise issue. This Aqueon is 5 times the noise of my old filters. If your planning to buy this, I would recommend you to go to any hardware store first & buy some ear plugs.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great!

January 30, 2012
by BettaBettaBoy
fromCumming, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These filter(s) are great! There so quiet, i love them. I have a somewhat small room so i can't have a really noisy filter. I sleep like a baby with this! I hardly even notice it. Love it! The only filter cartridges i saw at petsmart at the time was like a 10 pack for 20 dollars. I'm sure they have smaller ammounts for much lower price! :)
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Runs through filters

June 24, 2011
by Brandon253
fromFederal Way, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I have had two of these set up in a 37 gallon tank for almost 6 months now. First the positives it works really well great flow and havent really had an issue with motor noise. It does tend to be a little loud but for the price I expected it.
The real complaint I have had is the filters get clogged so quickly that you are replacing them every two to three weeks. I wish I was exagerating but Im not. I clean my tank every week at a minimum but sometimes the water still gets cloudy so I look at the filter and again the mesh of the filter is clogged that the water goes over the top and through the side. Its a good filter but since it would cost 30-40 dollars in filters every 3 months it doesnt seem worth it.
I recently switched to AquaClear and after a couple months of using that Ill write a review, though I already like the fact it uses a foam medium so I can replace just that if it becomes clogged for a couple dollars instead of the whole thing.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

★★ NICE FILTER ★★

May 7, 2011
by bryan1717
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bout two of these for my 50 gallon aquarium and they been working just fine makes a wired noise once a while but outstanding filter keep my tank clean I WOULD RECOMMENDED THIS TO PEOPLE!!!!!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

LOUD!!! filter

April 1, 2011
by thark
fromFDL, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i use the aqueon 55 and 30 and really like them as they are very quiet and since i fill them with my own media (i do not use their cartridges) they work very well. I bought this one because it is supposed to be a better flow rate, which it was, but it was the loudest filter i have ever heard! it's so loud i could hear it upstairs! i could only take the noise for 2 days and had to return it to buy another 55 which is quiet
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Aqueon(r) Power Filter QuietFlow 50
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product