PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City No Chew

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City No Chew

Whisker City No Chew helps deter chewing. Alcohol free and safe for use on pets, plants, and bandages. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
3 of 12(25%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City No Chew
Review 1 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Cat ate it and licked her chops!

February 9, 2014
by esalas77
fromDEtroit MI
This might as well be catnip perfume. As one reviewer put it, this product is completely useless. I can't say we experienced nasal irritation ourselves, but the cat simply licked this off the corner of the furniture that she enjoyed chewing and kept on with the gnawing. It did not seem to deter her at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Useless Product!

December 28, 2013
by Boodinki
fromDavenport, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our 2 year old cat loves to chew up any cords, so we tried this product. Instead of preventing her from chewing the cords, it encouraged her. In fact, I think she liked the taste of it.
The worse thing about it, once you spray it, it gets all over your hands and the taste goes down your throat. You can't get rid of it no matter how many times you wash your hands. It taste horrible to me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Terrible Product

December 2, 2013
by MeganA28
fromLimestone, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this product so that my kitties would not chew up my Christmas tree. I sprayed it all over the tree and first of all, the smell is very strong. It goes down your throat and you can taste it and it takes forever for you to get the taste out of your mouth. Second of all, it does not phase my cats. They are still chewing on the branches like nothing is wrong with them... I think the product actually attracts my cats to it. Terrible, don't waste your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Did not work, even with a drop in kitty's mouth

July 12, 2013
by BoboL
fromMS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got it b/c my 4mth old kitty was chewing on power cords. I spray this product on my hand and rub on the cords which I make sure its covered. Less than 10 mins I see my kitty chewing on it like nothing happened. so I put some on my hand, and feed to kitty. NOTHING... not hesitate at all. no run away, no odd face. I am going back to my clear tape sticky side up method.
PS I wash my hands and even shower, this thing is just not getting off, really bitter.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works like a charm - disgusting taste!

January 27, 2013
by LunaTheHimmydoll
fromPrince Edward Island
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
When you spray this stuff, it is so potent it goes through your nostrils and down to the back of your tongue. You can taste it! It's yucky! My kitten thinks so too. I spray it on every cord & then she'll leave it alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Didn't work!

January 4, 2013
by Jes10
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this product because my oldest cat has a bad habit of chewing up any of my fake orchids. With two cats you can't really have real plants sitting around, so this is as close as I can get to having live plants. Sprayed this all over them until they were dripping, left them dry sitting in the tub, placed them back in their spots, and he chomped away as if nothing had changed! Not even a flinch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Be very careful!!!

November 29, 2012
by victhisnicknameisnttaken
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
It seems to have worked, I used it 5 days ago and haven't noticed any new chewed wires. She didn't chew them all the time though, only when we were gone for prolonged periods of time so I can't say for sure if it's a good solution
***BE CAREFUL***
DO NOT spray this on anything you plan on touching yourself. I seem to be getting this on my hands frequently, every day, and then I inadvertently touch my face, and it tastes terrible. It lingers too, so even after washing my hands thoroughly I can't seem to be completely rid of it. It's on all my tv/xbox/router etc. cables for good.
I'd recommend the motion censored spray instead to keep cats out of areas you don't want them. Little pricey but worth it in my opinion
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Didn't work for us!

July 29, 2012
by Jerseypaw
fromJersey shore
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have one of my cats (boy) likes 3 different plants of mine, and honestly, I don't want to give them up, either. But this spray won't deter this cat. I have had a bit of this spray get into me, and it worked for me!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works Great!

July 16, 2012
by AmandaG
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I use this product to deter my cat from chewing and eating my plants. Since I used it the first time two months ago, my cat has stopped and will not even try to lick the leaves. Only took one bite to figure out how bitter it tasted. Does not seem to affect the plants at all or stain anything. Will definately be keeping this product on hand.
Make sure you wash your hands thoroughly after spraying.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Waste!

October 29, 2011
by rajahsmomma
fromMechanicsville, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Complete waste of money! Does not even partially work! I sprayed in on my laptop cord and less than 2 minutes later, my cat was chewing on it like nothing was on it. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Product!!

October 28, 2011
by ggsmith
fromSan Marcos, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Sometimes cats will tolerate the bitter taste when they are really
suffering from allergies or other skin conditions but I've had great success using Whisker City No Chew on my cat's hot spots. Just be sure you are treating the cause of the bald spots or hot spots at the same time you are using the No Chew.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City No Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

A good idea.... in theory

September 20, 2011
by Hairless
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought Whisker City's No Chew as a last ditch effort to stop my cat from chewing her fur off. She's an 8 year old domestic short hair and for the past forever she's been chewing the hair off her stomach and arms and nothing I've done will stop her. I thought if I sprayed some No Chew on her bald spots she'd stop but she just continues to lick it off.
Worst part is I accidentally got some in my mouth while spraying her stomach and now nothing I do will get the horrible taste out of my mouth. I found this product highly ineffective and not worth the money. Maybe invest in a cat toupee instead? I just hope that the label is accurate and no harm will come of this. If anyone has a better suggestion I'd love to hear it.
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.