PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication

Anti-bacterial medication for common tropical fish diseases such as bacterial tail rot, cotton mouth fungus and gill disease.
Overall rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
4 of 10(40%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Review 1 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

both bad and good

January 21, 2014
by JamieT
fromBurnaby, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
It makes such a mess of the tank! If you don't scoop the messy foam off the top every day, it will take over. BUT it did its job, and saved most of my fish! I would use it again.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

read

January 15, 2014
by dede53
fromindiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone. I have nothing but a mess with this product. You CANNOT get this stuff out of your tank. I have done three 50% water changes and the tank is still yellow. It foams so badly that you cannot even top feed your fish and they are freaking out cause of all the foam. People on here that support this product either sell it or NEVER done the dose on directions. PLEASE stay clear of this product or you will have a headache coming your way. It is just bad stuff and just not worth the time or all the trouble it causes.
Cons: didn't work, hard to use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Working great

December 31, 2013
by Starfire612
fromCleveland Ohio
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I'm really not sure what the other reviewers are doing but this has worked wonders for my 11year old goldfish. It is in a fifty gallon tank and was extremely red and lethargic. I added five packets and did the twenty five percent water change on days 3 and 4. The water color change is barely noticeable and I'm thinking the other reviewers are using way to much. The fish is doing much better and the redness is significantly decreased and it's much more active. Follow the directions and it works fine.
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Wasted money.

October 4, 2013
by Chihuhua2mom
fromNew york, N.Y
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
My fish has cloudy eye, I was handed this product by the fish guy at the store. I have used it according to the directions. We have two packets left and I haven't seen any improvements in fact now fishy has it on his left eye also. My water is a high yellowish orange and it is dark. My tank has slimy foam on the top and looks like dirty water. I hope it wont take another box, I don't want to go through the process again. I now see white on his outer eyes too.
Cons: didn't work
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Works great!

April 17, 2013
by kef2004
fromSt. Paul, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
My betta fish had this weird white fiber on him and was laying at the bottom of the tank. I had never seen anything like it before so I treated him with quick cure. It usually fixes most problems. The external fibers went away but the disease returned weekly. I did some research...pretty sure it's the beginning of cotton wool disease. The number one solution online was tetracycline. After one day of treatment with this product, his belly isn't swollen and he's swimming all around his tank super happy. It was a little difficult portioning out the correct dosage because he's only in a one gallon bowl and the treatment is 1 package for 10 gallons. I dissolved the package in 10 oz of water and separated it into 10 1 oz ice cube trays. Just pop a cube out, let it defrost and you're good to go! Thank you!
Pros: easy to use, works great
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

This product works when used correctly!!!

March 17, 2013
by Ilyas
fromSaskatoon Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
This product is for bacterial infections. The complaints I read here all sound to be parasite issues and not bacterial which is why the product failed you. You should have used general cure for parasitic infections. Its like putting diesel fuel in a gasoline engine. Can you expect it to work?
Pros: easy to use, works great
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

December 11, 2011
by jake69
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
This medication is ineffective at all been treating my goldfish whit red sore/ulcers for 4 straight day and there's no improvement at all. What a waste of time and money. $14.99, I could have bought something else like metro+ or maracyn. I want my money back.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: price, didn't work
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Terrible

September 13, 2011
by khov
fromFredericton, NB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
I used this product on my sick Betta and not only did the red leisons around his gills not heal, but his fins and tail deteriorated significantly over the course of treatment.
I followed the directions, my ph is fine, and I did not have any activated carbon in the filter. I'm not even bothered by the waste of money, I just want my fish healthy again.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work, price
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

would not recommend

September 6, 2011
by MedicTP
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
The package say’s it “this medication will cause SLIGHT discoloration of water which can be removed with activated carbon” however just halfway through treatment my tank water was a blood red color making it difficult to see, also had a soupy texture on top of tank. I followed the directions to the letter and now 3 days after treatment my tank still has foam on the top and is still very red even with the activated carbon filter in place.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API T.C. Tetracycline Anti-Bacterial Fish Medication
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

May not be effective

February 9, 2011
by Jennifer03030
fromBaton Rouge, Louisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Turns your water a deep red/orange color, and can create a thick foam on the surface of the water. It also becomes ineffective if your pH is high or your water is very hard, so check your parameters before using! It can harm/kill your beneficial bacteria and it is just a mess to use, so do not buy unless you absolutely need to.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.