PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop

KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop

The right harness makes a big difference in the dog walking experience. Try KONG® Harness with Traffic Loop for Dogs today for a safe, comfortable choice.
Overall rating:
4.297 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 63
52 of 64(81%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Review 1 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Not Durable!

October 22, 2014
by Melissa89
fromNew Hampshire
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 5 month old bernese mountain dog and I bought him this harness because it had the handle on it. Well he chewed right through it while he was wearing it. This is not durable and I'm pretty disappointed in Kong and will never buy this again!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Great harness at first

August 24, 2014
by Tristen19
fromAkron, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a dachshund/beagle mix that we got about 3 months ago. We got this harness for the loop and durability. At first it was great, the loop was very handy. However, the back loop with the clips rubs the skin on his belly to the point that he develops a rash (this has happened more than once). Once we take it off, it's fine after a while. Now this may be because he's short-haired so he doesn't have a lot of "cushion" there or the fact that he likes to army crawl on his belly outside which will make it rub his skin more. It's not a tightness issue either, we can get 2 fingers under the loop easily. Regardless, we'll have to find him one with padding on the underside now. This is a great harness otherwise though!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Didn't make it 4 days

July 15, 2014
by Silvermist6091
fromRedding CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was so excited for this dog harness. I LOVE the traffic loop and used it quite a lot over the last 3 days. We had the associate fit my 2 year old collie mix and show us how to use it. I also checked it the next day and tighten it were needed. It was a great tight fit. She had it on Sat ~ Mon. Today (Tue) when I got home after work, I see that it is hanging on her and she has chewed it in so many spots it cant even be repaired. Going to have to try out a different one. This is not a good one for a chewer
I gave it 2 stars cause I loved the traffic loop so much! Hoping to find a different type that has this also
-20points
4of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Perfect for corgis!

July 10, 2014
by JanHuff
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have two corgis , one is always ready to explore the world and the other is scared of his own shadow. We have had issues with other collars and even harnesses. They could "back out" of them, not a great situation with one that is scared and will run. These are comfy for them and because you can customize the fitting so well to their body type I am secure when I take them out that they will not slip the collar and get away from me! Love these and the leads as well, extremely comfortable!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

June 30, 2014
by LizM842
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Bought this because I wanted a sturdy harness for a particularly skittish 45-lb rescue, and this is the one they recommended in-store. They helped me fit it to him and we adjusted it so that the strap around his belly was on the tight side. I also purchased a collar for him and only put the harness on him for walks so that he's not uncomfortable around the house with a tight harness on. I hope to be able to loosen it a bit as he becomes less anxious.
He has tried to back out of it and not been able to, although I think he could if he straightened his legs (he tends to plant them to give him leverage to push backwards). So I also keep an emergency slip collar on him and clip it to the leash just in case.
The harness seems comfortable for him, and I have great control on walks. The padded loop on the top is really handy. I also bought the matching leash and really like the padded grip and traffic loop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Love love love it!

June 3, 2014
by Brodysmommy
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought this item for my baby english bully. He's 4 months, so I just got him recently. I read stuff about how its better for them to have a harness instead of a collar. So I decided to buy one. This caught my eye because of the comfort part. Which I completely agree with. My puppy doesn't mind me putting it on. He actually sits and lets me put it on & adjust it on him. I got the medium size because I know he's going to grow, so its a little big at the moment, but its not big enough to the point where he'd slip out. Theres no tearing or ripping like I've seen on other comments about this. Maybe because he doesn't chew on it I'm guessing. Overall, its a great harness & I love the vibrant colors! Plus the handle is great too for just in case stuff!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Love it

May 30, 2014
by KodisMama
fromSafford, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Siberian Husky and he's a big boy. So finding a harness that actually fits can be a challenge. I was surprised when I put it on him to adjust it correctly I had to tighten it (usually it's the other way around).
Love the harness and the color (green).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

I wish the material were softer!

April 15, 2014
by HannaheL
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Before I get into the negative, I would like to say that I actually really like this harness. It gives me much more control of my Great Dane, and she is unable to slip out of it like she does a normal collar. However, the material is a bit abrasive. The straps that go around her belly and legs have started to rub the hair off, and she is constantly scratching. We have never had this problem with nylon collars, but the harness is just a bit too much for her.
If the material were a little softer, I would definitely buy this again!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Love the design and functionality, BUT....

April 10, 2014
by SamtheMaam
fromBlacksburg, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i really want to love this harness. It's attractive with a great design. The handle is really handy if you have a dog that jumps or you have a pup you need to grab easily. And the handle is padded! My dog handled wonderfully in this harness, and it adjusted to fit her perfectly.
BUT.
The first one I purchased started tearing before even having it for a week, so I decided to try another, just in case I had gotten one that had slipped by quality control. Nope. The second one didn't even last a week, either. The tears went clean through a rib and were in places that I knew my dog couldn't reach to chew. The design would be perfect, if only the nylon were stronger. If you have a smaller dog that will put less stress on this harness than my 55lb labXpit did, it may be worth a buy. As for me, I returned it and bought some toys and will look for a sturdier harness elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Extra Small size was disappointing

April 8, 2014
by bekabug
fromMaryville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I really wanted this harness to work for us because I like the single D ring, the traffic strap is very handy, I love KONG's products, and the amount of sizing buckles made one hope it lent itself to a great fit for many different sized dogs.
I initially bought a size Small but the strap that goes underneath the dog's rib cage didn't shorten far enough. I returned it for an extra small. It has the same issue.
Our 9 pound yorkie is continually slipping her front legs out of it causing the chest straps to ride up her throat. The entire reason we have her in a harness is because she has a collapsed trachea and something pulling on her neck is dangerous for her at this point.
The strap that goes underneath doesn't shorten far enough. My mother's chihuahua is significantly smaller than our Tori so this harness would definitely not work on many "extra small" dogs.
I contacted the KONG company to give feedback and was told "...the KONG Comfort Dog Harness is strictly a PetSmart proprietary product. It is made and distributed directly by PetSmart only." I am returning this product for a refund at the store and will be getting something else for our dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Very Sturdy Harness

March 14, 2014
by Gjeschik
fromUtah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This harness is super strong, easy to put on, very adjustable, and looks great. It's thick and strong. I bought the medium size for my 30 pound miniature Schnauzer Labrador mix, which I had to tighten up quite a bit, but it fits great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great harness for my JRT

March 8, 2014
by coloradosuz
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My JRT can't slip out of this. And for some reason, he pulls less with this on than a regular collar. The harness has several adjustment areas so it's easy to get a good fit. It also appears to be well-made so I think it will last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Good product

March 1, 2014
by JAJW
fromCurrently live in NJ, however, moving to AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My boy (Jake & Luke) seem to be quite comfortable with their new harnesses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

February 26, 2014
by 22420
fromUpstate NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Great harness! I especially like the traffic handle. It is easy to put on and take off. Good product. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

kong harnesss w/ traffic loop

February 26, 2014
by wolfenrojo
fromtx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
best control for " difficult" dog!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

All dogs should have doggy seat belt in car.

February 20, 2014
by Shellyd
fromOrangeurg, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this harness which has a dual purpose. It is a great doggy seat belt when we take she is the car. She jumps into the back seat and knows that she is going to be hooked up to the seat belt through the loop on the harness. Keeps her safe in seat while I am driving. It is also great for walks or if I need to hold her I can grab the loop. Great design. I have recommended this harness to several people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Love the harness

February 11, 2014
by Billy3921
fromVictoria, TX
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This harness works great. I love the handle on the top since it makes it easier to control the dog at certain times. It is easy to get on & off. The metal "O" ring located near the dog's chest is good for clipping the leash to when training a dog to walk at your side and not in front of you. If the dog gets ahead, the leash will make it awkward for the dog to walk and the dog will usually move back by your side.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

February 11, 2014
by lsweave
fromBloomsburg, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Very happy with product had purchased another one for our other pet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Does the job

January 5, 2014
by Jadi2
fromnorthern Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My trainer insisted that I get this particular harness for several reasons. First, she believes dogs should be trained with the leash on the chest, not the back. This harness has a ring on the chest. However, I don't care for the way the leash attaches there. It's obviously not intended to attach there. The leash rubs on the puppy's chest from that location. The trainer also likes this harness because there are not straps across the dog's shoulders, which apparently can cause injuries. This is supposedly an issue with the "no-pull" harnesses. Having said that, I use a tandem leash for both my dogs and attach that to the intended ring on the back of the harness. It works great! The harnesses are easy to get on over each dog's head; they don't seem to mind wearing them. There's a lot of size variance based on the buckles, so both the puppy and the adult dog are wearing a medium. They are definitely well-made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG® Comfort Dog Harness & Traffic Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Christmas present that already broke!

December 28, 2013
by junior112
fromSan Marcos, ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The harness looks great and fits well, but we got it as a Christmas present for my dog and it's already broken in a spot it shouldn't have been. I didn't like the tightness going around my dogs head when taking it off, but he didn't seem to mind. Not sure if i would want to buy another one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next