PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit

All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
20 of 26(77%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Review 1 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Dependable, Lasts Long, and Good Deal

December 20, 2014
by NatCatRat
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this cage! I got this cage for my two female dumbo rats, Iris and Stella. They have not even attempted to chew through the wire/plastic bottom. Though, I would definitely recommend getting another hammock right away. I got a new one two weeks after I got my babies, because the hammock was like vinyl and they were just slipping around and it got dirty right away. It was absolutely NOT a problem, though. I had no use for the food, because I make their food (otherwise their feces stink to high heaven). For the price, what you get, and durability, this is a top product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Missing parts

December 12, 2014
by Nanarosa
fromFountain Hill, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It's a nice size for the price and really easy to put together. Just wish the shelves and ramps were metal because the rats are going to chew those up. Kit includes two ramps but only received one. I would definitely suggest get something better but it's good for a starter cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Cages

December 5, 2014
by Ratmommy14
fromBath MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i recomend this cage its great i have mamma rat in it with her babies. plenty of room so she can get away at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

December 1, 2014
by RattieRat23
fromwahiawa. hi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This cage is okay, but should not be a 'long term' investment for many reasons. It is a good price for all that you get but there were many issues I think overall. First, the clasps to hold the cage in place to the pan are also wire and to me, flimsy. They often get stuck under the cage itself when putting it back onto the pan, so you'll have to fiddle with it a bit to get them out, which sets off the top part of the cage to wiggle side to side or slumping over entirely to get it to match the pan right, and by then you might have to reset the clasps (again) This process can be made even more complicated by escapees after a cleaning.
The platforms are plastic and can hold my three rats, however take some elbow grease to clip into place properly. Once in place if your rats like to jump or play up high, they will slide and may cause your rats to fall off (like mine). The ramps were easy to install but the bottom ramp takes up space and if you are a new rat owner trying to socialize with your rat, it creates blind spots to see your rat. You do not want to stick your hand in any cage of any animal and not be able to see them. While I've never seen a domestic rat bite out of malice or anything like that, it is still a precaution you should take, especially when learning your new pet's behaviour.
(if you used the weird 'walking dish the bottom will be even more cramped) so in the end we removed them.
The hammock is a cheap piece of plastic that looks and feels like it was recycled from a trash bag don't rely on it, get something sturdy. The dish is small and holds enough food for one rat. Rats do best in pairs or more so unless you wish to keep refilling, you will eventually want a bigger dish as well. I did really like the chord that holds the water bottle. It was flexible but much more adequate in holding the bottle in place. Instead of a hook, it actually clips on to the cage, so I like that. The bottle itself is average, does it's purpose but leaks when upright, will have to tilt to prevent leaking. My main concern was that the the pan itself was small. There was no real place for a rat to play after the walking disk, ramp, and hiding place were put in. It may comfortably fit one (assuming its a small rat and does not need a bigger hiding house) or two but three is definitely the limit. The walking disk took up a lot of room. There is no space left for any extra toys except for the one provided and thats a meager toy. Since it is a starter kit and if you only plan to have one rat the whole time then it should be fine. But rats like to play, especially male rats. Without ample space they could get a little nasty with each other (like mine do) and if you have female rats that tend to get a little anti-social during her heat, then expect some tempers to flare. LASTLY, it's a cage for rats so I was disappointed at how thin the plastic pan was (it is deep though so prevents kicking up too much of the bedding). Rats chew, chew, chew! they could chew threw it overnight if they liked to or even sooner (again, like mine) and trust me, waking up in the morning and finding two rats escaped during the night and could be anywhere in the house is not comforting at all. The bedding is enough for a one time use, and the food is a good amount. I really did like the ability to be able to move the cage around house to give my girls new things to see and smell, so the wheels were a plus. Like I said you get what you paid for. It's ok for a beginner, but if you plan to have multiple rats and/or long term, INVEST WISELY
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Not A Good Experience

October 8, 2014
by UnimpressedRatOwner
fromDartmouth, NS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Had this cage for about just over a month...
Came home one night and noticed only 1 of the 2 rats in the cage. Closer inspection had me see the hole they were able to chew through. Needless to say, had to rush to the store to get another cage.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great HUGE cage!

September 7, 2014
by RatOwner1tiersw
fromTexas
We just bought this for my child's pet female rat and it is a great cage. My son assembled it in about 15 minutes (he is nine and said the instructions stunk) and we were shocked how much space little Ratty has to run around in now.
She doesn't chew plastic so I am not concerned with the plastic bottom. If she did chew a hole I would place the cage in a plastic storage box, so no problem.
We love the three doors, ramps, and floors. We hung toys everywhere. The hammock is horrible slippery so we lined it with a cloth, but she ignores it and sleeps in her space pod.
I hated spending $100 bucks on a rat cage, but our rat is so happy and we now have room to get her a friend or two. If you have the money buy this cage, your rat will thank you!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

They downsized it!

September 1, 2014
by RascallyRodents
fromOR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the earlier version of this cage, and it was OK. I found it hard to get the shelves and ramps in, and somewhat hard to clean, plus after two years they chewed a hole in the base, but otherwise it was a fine cage (I have since then updated to a CN.)
However, the new version is so downsized!
This used to come with three shelves and three ramps, and larger wheel (Wire wheel, so I didn't use it anyway). It also used to be much larger, but now it's tiny!
With both versions the hammock is garbage, and I would definitely recommend making some yourself out of old clothes, towels, pillowcases, Etc.
I would not recommend the food that comes with it, as it is too fatty, and has a bunch of seeds and junk food.
Like I said, the original cage was OK, but I wouldn't recommend buying this one since you pay more than the older one and get less.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

*GREATLY* Recommend For Rats

July 31, 2014
by CallieH
fromGC, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
PROS: Spacious, lots of climbing room and room for toys and hanging objects, deep pan for lots of bedding. Sturdy shelves.
CONS: Hammock is slippery for the rats and they tend to fall out, and shelves are the pain-in-the-butt to get in, but are sturdy once in.
This cage is perfect for rats. it currently houses my rat GusGus, and I plan on having more eventually.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Inferior Product

June 26, 2014
by GreatlyDispleased
fromOregon
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We decided to add a rat to our family. We shopped around for cages taking into consideration the needs of the rat and the cost of the cage. We decided on this one. WRONG choice! The rat defecates on the shelves making it stinky and very unsanitary. We removed the shelves and made the cage more rat fun and friendly with other products. We tossed the wheel as it didn't work properly and takes up a tremendous amount of space in the cage. (We purchased a different cage mount wheel.) The BIGGIE...the rat is able to chew through the cage!! We came home to find a hole in the cage, and a hole in our flooring!! We plugged that hole with steel wool for the time being. She was then able to chew ANOTHER hole through the cage and proceeded to escape!
Save yourself the money and grief. Do NOT purchase this cage. Buy a cage with a metal bottom, and wire shelves.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Not a suitable cage for rats.

May 22, 2014
by RatDude
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This cage is great in the sense that it's tall, spacious, ventilated and provides great exercise for rats but there's one important thing that was forgotten when making this product. Plastic. Plastic is the material for the bottom tray and for rat owners, everyone knows or now knows how much rats love to chew on plastic. I had this cage for less than a month and my rat has chewed the entire side. She and her sister has plenty of toys, huts, chew blocks, everything you could think of but nope. She loved the feel of that soft plastic on her teeth. I would definitely not recommend this cage or any other rat cage with a plastic bottom. From here on out I'll be going with a metal bottom, without grates.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

My rats love this cage!

May 12, 2014
by Jaymemig
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two dumbo rats and they love this cage! There is plenty of room for both to run and play. The wheel is a bit big for they cage but they use it and seem to get around it just fine. They really enjoy the hammock that is included in the kit!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Good for only TWO rats.

May 3, 2014
by Adrelaa
fromGainesville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Being my first time owning rats, I purchased this cage to start off with. It's been maybe about two months since I adopted my two rats and this cage and I decided to get another rat. I regret it, I feel bad for them. I constantly have to clean their cage and had to add a litter box. The plastic tray just absorbs the urine and it is terrible, no matter what I do, I still smell it. I even bathed my rats thinking it was them, it wasn't. Doing my research, you want a metal tray with rats, not a plastic. This cage is okay for one or two rats, but it is way too cramped for three.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good for HAMSTERS

April 24, 2014
by BubbatheSyrian
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I like this cage for HAMSTERS. This cage is too small for rats. But for hamsters, it isn't too bad. The flying saucer takes up quite a lot of space (although it is the correct size for Syrians), and the shelves can be a bit of a pain to attach to the cage, but overall, this starter kit would be great for a Syrian hamster.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Very dependable

April 8, 2014
by Bestratcageever101
fromIndiana, mount vernon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is by far the best cage I have seen. It is very spacious for two of my adult rats and the love it! I would recommend this product to and rat buyers! The multi-levels make it roomy and my rats love to climb up the sides of the cage. Plus it comes with food a food bowl, water bottle, running plate, and chew toys! It's also a lot bigger in person haha...
Keeps rats happy and that's what matters.
Definitely will recommend to anyone:) thanks
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Excellent Kit

April 7, 2014
by Mimi793
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is really great for first time rat owners who are perhaps a bit hesitant about building their own cage. My two boys love it. It's got plenty of room for both of them, although I have made a few modifications, adding more hammocks and another level that I made myself. It's easy to take apart and set up for cleaning. I've seen some people complain about the water bottle not working, but I have never had a problem with mine.
Another thing about this that I love is the raised bit of plastic for the food dish to sit on. The rats don't flip it over or move it because of this (and my boys are flippers!)
The food it comes with isn't great, but it's ok, and I personally like their brand of bedding better than CareFresh, so that's a plus too.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Product!

March 10, 2014
by JayMig
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the pen I use form my 2 rats. They love the size and hammock. My rats have not bothered the plastic bottom. However, I have a ton of toys and chew products in the pen for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Great cage

March 7, 2014
by Corysmom
fromRockford, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Great cage especially for the price. I did close down the hooks with pliers after I had it together so my girls wouldn't hurt themselves on them. Its a great size and was easy to put together. The wheel is a HUGE pain to get in and out for cleaning but the girls don't care for it so now I just leave it out, problem solved:) The water bottle did malfunction after a few days and kept flooding the cage so I replaced it, not a problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

My rat chewed through the plastic base in 2 months

March 5, 2014
by Ratguy
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Do NOT buy a rat cage with a plastic tray/base. Rats chew right through it!
I got this cage for Christmas, along with 2 rats. After 8 weeks they discovered that they could chew through the plastic base, and made three holes in one week. I had to order a new cage (all metal).
This cage was a complete waste of money. It's cheaper in the end to buy a cage that will actually hold a rat.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great cage so far!

March 2, 2014
by renandstimpy
fromMassachusetss
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I bought this for my 2 rats and so far, it's held up well and is very easy to clean. It's lightweight and I'm able to move it around from room to room with no problem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All Living Things® Rat Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Rat Cage

February 22, 2014
by RatsRUs
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I really like this rat cage. We have two rats and they have plenty of room. What I especially like are the access doors. There are 3 of them. One at the top and two on the sides. I also like how they lock.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next