PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats

A wholesome pet habitat made from a renewable wood.
Overall rating:
3.343 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
39 of 67(58%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Review 1 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews

Smelly and hard to clean

November 7, 2013
by vzoo
fromwisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
The first cage we bought, the wood was broken. We returned it to petsmart and exchanged it. The second cage was perfect. It was pretty easy to assemble. We have 2 female rats who love the cage but it is very smelly as the rat urine just soaks onto the wooden shelves. We have tried everything to get the smell safely out but even after cleaning the cage it still stinks. The rats have also chewed through a few areas of the wire. We have had the cage for 4 months and I just ordered a new cage with plastic shelves and heavier wire. Not worth the $$ if we are replacing it after a few months of use. As soon as we get the new cage this one is going into the garbage.
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews

Best Hamster Home!

August 13, 2013
by JJMUGS
fromOntario, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
I bought the smaller hamster version of this cage for my syrian hamster 3 years ago but wanted something a bit bigger after awhile. I bought this one because I loved the other one so much and could use the 1 platform/ramp from the previous cage in it so that the ramps wouldn't be so steep. I think this cage is perfect with 3 platforms/ramps instead of 2 but it only comes with 2. My hamster passed away and I now have 2 dwarf hamsters in it. The doors are a bit stiff sometimes but other than that it's great. So easy to clean and lots of room for toys/food/water/house. Maybe I'm just lucky but my hamsters have never done their business on the wood and everything is still as good as new. Would highly recommend this cage for anyone whether they're a beginner or not!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews

great product but damaged out the box

August 10, 2013
by HamsterGuy2
fromtoronto ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
This cage is great for a larger hamster which is why I bought it but pet smart are crafty and sold me the last one that had been returned busted. I had to tape up the busted corner of the base with duct tape hopefully my little gal dosent chew her way through. other than that this thing is great lots of room for little buddy to run and climb and the levels are great. When my gal is happy im happy.
Pros: stylish
Cons: low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews

GREAT CAGE!!

June 20, 2013
by Ratattack13
fromMaryland
I got this as my first cage for my first rat. i liked it at first because the price was low but after i had it for a while and had my rat in it for a while...EVEN BETTER! she loves it and because it has the different levels in it it allows her to climb up and look at me when i am going through my morning routine. it gives her a ton of space to run and its very easy to clean!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews

NOT GOOD FOR RATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

June 2, 2013
by ratlover13
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews
do NOT buy this cage for rats, especially for males! since males like to mark their "territory" they urinate to "mark." i got 2 male rats and within 3 days, the cage stunk! i had to get rid of it and get an entirely new wire mesh cage. wire mesh cages are WAY BETTER! they're easier to clean. plus, when my rats did their #2's, it left a stain on the wooden...everything! i totally do NOT recommend this product
Pros: sturdy
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews

an average cage, nothing special.

May 23, 2013
by rattieRi
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
I like this cage, but I don't love it. It was on the lower end of the price spectrum for what I wanted, and I can see why. Setting it up was frustrating but not impossible. It is easy to clean the bottom but I'm going to have replace the shelves for it already because my girls just love to urinate on them. I cannot get the smell out, so they continue to do so. While I appreciate the lightweight nature when I'm cleaning it, I also think it is on the flimsy side and I've had rats in the past that might make short work of it. In hindsight, I wish I would've gone in a different direction as far as a cage goes, but it does the job for now. If I decide to expand my brood, this will definitely be the transitional cage/temporary cage and I'd invest in something more substantial.
Cons: low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews

Okay Cage

May 18, 2013
by MsMegan
fromHamilton ON
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
I love this cage, it is lightweight and easy to move. However it is not a cage i'd recommend anyone who does not want to clean the cage frequently. I use mine for rats and the wood stains of urine and fecal matter daily so I have to soak my wood in CLR every week upon cleaning. Overall this cage is not a very good BEGINNERS cage. If you want a cage for a child for a birthday id suggest a similar cage but with metal or plastic platforms which are easy to clean and easy to keep un-yuckified LOL. Overall though with the cost, the size and the quality, it is definately a cage worth buying for anyone with cleaning experience.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews

May 15, 2013
by Summer33
fromFayetteville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
I just bought this product yesterday for my new Guinea Pig, it was very easy to assemble (had my husband do it) (: it is a fair size for the price. A few things i do not like about it, is the bottom ramp doesn't stay in the holes (Anytime my Guinea Pig bumps it or tries to go up it, it falls and he no longer even tries), the hut it comes with it way too small for my animal, the shelves it comes with is too small for the hut. (when my Guinea Pig tries to get out of it, it falls off the shelf every time)
A good thing about the cage is there are three doors so no matter what you will always have access to wherever your animal is.
Cons: low quality
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews

Very stinky

April 20, 2013
by tncsmommy
fromLincoln, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
I'm not sure if all rats will do this, but ours urinated and defecated all over the wooden platforms in this cage and the urine has soaked into the wood. It is impossible to get them clean and the rats have now marked them as their bathroom. They REEK within a couple of days of being cleaned.
Otherwise, it's pretty easy to clean in terms of detaching the base. But you still have to remove the platforms and clean them separately.
It was also very hard to assemble! We are planning to buy a different cage with wire platforms and ramps. This was very disappointing.
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews

Very good product

April 8, 2013
by Christina1992
fromEverett, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
This was purchased for my brother for a birthday present along with a 2nd rat. Its amazing how light weight it is and the rats love the ramps in it. Its easy to clean and was very easy to assemble. Only thing I do not like is all three doors are right on top of the other. There should have been one on the side. And sometimes its hard to unlatch. Over all I would recommend this product :)
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 67 reviews

It was a good buy, but.....

March 8, 2013
by Thefancyratdiaries
fromGreenville, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It could have been built a little better. I mean seriously 2 door right on top of each other?!?! And apparently you DO NOT want to get a cage made with wood for a rat. They will EAT AND CHEW IT! I have seen many spots that my fancy rat has chewed pieces off the top shelf. I had to go out and buy a new water bottle because she chewed a hole in the other one. She gets handled on a daily basis but she just won't stop chewing. I guess it's in her nature. Hopefully I can get her a male companion to keep her company and when that happens Im probably going to get the 2 of them a new home too.
Pros: easy to clean, stylish
Cons: low quality
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews

Needs to be made with stronger materials

February 23, 2013
by Tarantula
fromchattanooga, TN
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
I bought one for my Degus. some of the bars broke off almost immediately after taking out of the box, i liked the space but my degus chewed threw the bottom in less then a week.
The store doesn't sell just the bottoms so then had to buy different cage.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
Cons: low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews

Great for dwarf hamsters

February 15, 2013
by Alpha
fromSC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
My son has two dwarf hamsters, male and female. Bought the really small cages when we first got them, but no room to put anything. Bought two of these cages over a year ago and there is plenty of room for a silent wheel (got tired of the squeaking from regular wheels) food, water bottle, toys. They sleep in the wood house on the top level, and have a edible house on the bottom. I find it very easy to clean and use a little soap and water on a paper towel to clean the wood. No problem if you change the bedding on a regular basics. They have more than enough room to run around and climb. Neither one of them has ever escaped, but not from lack of trying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews

Plenty of space for my hamster

February 2, 2013
by Crimsonclovers
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
I got this form my hamster and he loves all the space to run, however the wood is difficult to clean and I tried to soak the wood in a water and bleach (10 to 1 mix) mixture to get the urine out. And the wood became warped. It can be difficult to move the levels also. The space is nice and I was able to decorate the wood base which is removable. Overall my hamster Chinpokomon seems to enjoy the bottom level best, but he can climb the walls and the wood platform when he wants to. I may try to find some plastic shelfs to replace the wood ones with.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews

February 1, 2013
by GingerFuzzyBottom
fromKitchener, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
This cage is awesome! I got this cage for my baby rat and he seemed to enjoy it. Opening the doors is a bit of a pain but you get used to it. The wooden floors are the biggest pain on all! Urine seeps into the wood so I recommend that people put fleece on the wood to make the wood last a little longer. Putting the floors in is also difficult and my least favorite thing to do.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews

Fantastic for baby chins

February 1, 2013
by ErinDee
fromCaldwell, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
I bought this cage when a couple of my chinchillas were young/small enough to escape from regular chinchilla cages. Both fit comfortably and stayed inside. I wouldn't recommend it for an adult chinchilla, except maybe as a birthing cage.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews

Great Product At First, Now Horrible!

January 21, 2013
by RatLoverX100
fromColorado Springs, CO
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Okay so, when I first bought this my rat LOVED IT!!
The cage was wonderful, odor free... Until one day I looked on the bottom while I was cleaning it and... THERE WERE HOLES. I decided to throw the bottom part away, and keep the top. I put it on an aquarium and he loves it.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews

Great cage for the price

January 17, 2013
by TuckerRat
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
This cage has lots of elegance with all the wood. The only problem is that when the rats defecate and urinate it stains and the wood is a little hard to clean. But it is the best cage i've ever had!
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews

Fairly decent hamster cage

January 12, 2013
by CrazyCatLady5
fromAlbany, New York
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 67 reviews
This was the only decent cage I could find in stores for a Hamster. I've been using it for my Dwarf Hamster. It has a deep enough tray for appropriate substrate, wide enough ramps and ledges to keep his wheels and food/water separate from his nesting/potty area. There's also room down below for some bridges and toys. It may be somewhat cramped for a Syrian, but it is still better than ANY "starter kit" or those ridiculous CritterTrail cages geared towards children. I wipe the wood pieces off with a small amount of water, but luckily my Hamster does not urinate on the wood. It's amazing that this cage is marketed for Rats. I would imagine this would be much too small for anything other than a Hamster.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ware Natural Wood Cage for Rats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews

Originally loved it...now, not so much.

January 1, 2013
by RatMommasBack
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 67 reviews
My first review of this was positive....5/5 stars. Now that I've had it for six months, my mind has changed.
I originally bought this in the end of June upon purchasing my rats. Big mistake.
The wood was the first downfall. It soaks up all of the urine. I tried to make it easier to clean by super gluing placemats to the wooden surfaces, but the edges still managed to get all soaked in urine. It's not very big and my two girls were practically on top of each other all of the time because of the lack of space.
There were flaws upon assembly ... pieces that were bent or didn't fit together ... it was a real pain in the rear.
Originally I loved the cage, but the wood and lack of space was the deal breaker. If you don't mind spending a bit more money, I'd go and look up the "Rat Manor Habitat" ... I've since gotten that cage for my girls and they love it. Tons of space and easy to clean.
Cons: low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next