PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter

Keep your aquarium water fresh and clean with this powerful filter. Ideal for use with aquariums up to 50 gallons, the filter provides mechanical, biological and chemical filtration.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Review 1 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

best HOB on the market

February 11, 2014
by ctach
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Bought this filter in-store on Sunday, had it up an running that evening. I have tried literally every power filter on the market, and have been nothing but let down with everything I've tried until now. The design is so intelligent, I can't believe it has taken this long for a canister-like design to make it to the power filter market. It was noisy at first, but I greased the impeller assembly and the only noise is the motor hum which is inaudible from more than ten feet away. The one and only potential drawback is the low flow rate, but just simply buy the next filter up from what the manufacturer states.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Excellent Product!

December 8, 2013
by Paolo
fromWDC Area
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Nice filter. Good price for a great filter! Quiet and easy to install.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

awesome filter

November 24, 2013
by BestTank
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i just got this filter to replace my aqueon 30 because it just kept getting clogged so i bought this and it's doing way better than i even expected
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Amazing & Quiet!

September 24, 2013
by Nate13
fromWoodstock, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This filter is just out of this world! It cleans the water amazing, has a very modern design, and is incredibly quiet. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who wants an amazing quality filter!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great and Powerful product!

July 28, 2013
by Techmatt816
fromEl Paso, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This is a great filter for my 36 gallon bowfront tank. it keeps the tank clear and is easy to maintain. I've heard other reviews that it's noisy, but you have to do is put the intake tube as far down as it can go and adjust the flow to the more flow (turn the intake tube to the right) and within a day of a little rumming noise, it will clear right up.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

POSSIBLY THE BEST FILTER IN THE WORLD!!!

June 9, 2013
by LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
fromOttawa
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I got this filter with the fluval 26g bow front kit and this might actually be the best aquarium power filter maybe after Aqua Clear. This little thing has FIVE filtering stages before sending the water back in. Just by looking inside, you can see it's gonna work. I love the two last stages, the first stops debris to reach the biological stage and the last one has biological trickles gives oxygen in the water eliminating ammonia and nitrites for perfect water. And the big waterfall makes it even better because the tank gets more oxygen ( it's 5.5" large!). And if you think the flow is to fast, you can even adjust it. I don't think there is anything bad about this filter.
Pros: works great, easy to install
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works great for me

June 6, 2013
by Dn010
fromSeminole, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I purchased one of these late January 2013 to replace a different brand filter that was just not doing the job for me - I ran the other filter for years in my 30 gallon tank and the water would constantly be dirty quickly. I'd have cloudy water and spots on the sides of the tank (fresh water). So, I got the C3, put in a charcoal pack, an ammonia pack and fired it up. Within a few hours my water was crystal clear. I only changed the charcoal pack and ammonia pack once in four months. With new media packs, the foam filter doesn't need any cleaning for a long time but after a while the foam filter needs attention once every 8 or so days so I take it out and spray it with high pressure to remove all the stuff it collected and put it back in. I'm content cleaning the filter once a week as long as I have clear water.
The filter restarted without issues after the two power outages already experienced. I only hear the water pouring back in my tank from the filter, and my air stone/pump going so to me it isn't noisy at all and the tank is in my bedroom. No leaks, no motor issues. After 4 months I did clean the entire filter - one thing I'd advise is once you empty it, fill it back up with water prior to restart and it only takes a few seconds for the impeller to start pumping - people have had a lot of complaints about this; I've had no issues as long as it is filled already. I have 6 fish and a snail in my tank. I've had a wonderful experience with this filter despite reading some negative reviews-I would buy another one only if my 75 gallon tank wasn't salt!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

quiet and powerful

February 9, 2013
by zoowee
fromgta ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
just exchanged my new noisy filter of another make and traded up to this unit. Very pleased so far. Easy to set up easy access to all parts. But above all its QUIET. I could go on about how well it moves the water and cleans the water(much better than the cheaper one I took back)but what I like is that it does its job quietly. I want to enjoy my fish peacefully and this unit lets me do that and it gives my fish clean healthy water to live in. I would recomend this to everyone! it may seam a little expensive but you dont mind paying more for a good steak so why not pay a little more for your fish...their health is worth it and quiet for you as well
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Great filter while it lasted

January 21, 2013
by Delbert
fromFL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Hooked C3 up to saltwater 20 gal tank as a secondary filter. It was amazing in what it did, how it helped clean the water crystal clear...
It lasted fo about a month and a half, Pump got smoking hot and shut down completely.
Petsmart to the rescue, replaced unit no questions asked, I didn't have to wait for Hagen's warranty service...
Gotta love PETSMART!!!
***************** For PETSMART
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Best filter I've ever used

January 16, 2013
by JimmyM
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Easy to set up and even easier to maintain. I purchased when it first came on the market and it's been problem free.
Pros: works great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Really wanted this item to work

December 23, 2012
by RobNS
fromHalifax, NS, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Really wanted this item to work as it seemed well designed and innovative. But I found the design was clumsy and really did not meet expectations. Replacing filters was hard, and I am hardly a novice here, and the products would drip at the bottom onto the floor. At this point I am now using a Tetra Whisper system and it seems, far better INMO. I would NOT recommend this at all.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: didn't work, Hard to Install
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval(r) C3 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Even better than aqua clear!!!!

September 5, 2011
by Aquariumman
fromLong Island NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this filter to replace an aging aqua clear filter that's been going non stop for ten years. Yes ten years lol. The motor finally burned out. I was all ready to go out and buy another aqua clear when I saw this filter in the store. I saw that is was made by the same company as the aqua clear (hagen). So I bought this filter set it up which was just as easy as the aqua clear. This filter is easier to clean because you don't have to turn the filter off when removing the foam pad. it just pulls out from the top and can be rinsed in tank water and put back in. I also like the wet/dry filter that trickles water on top of the bio filter. There is also a separate container for chemical filter media such as carbon. All you have to do is buy a little filter sack that Petsmart sells for $1.50. As for noise its just a quiet as my old aqua clear. Over all I could not be happier with this filter I'm so happy I bought it. The picture shows the Fluval C2 it needs to be changed to the C3
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install, works great
+10points
17of 24voted this as helpful.