PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake

Petmate's Clean Response Swivel Bin and Rake makes pet waste cleanup easier and more cost effective compared to other pick-up devices.
Overall rating:
2.76 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
11 of 25(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Review 1 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

good idea just not durable

April 4, 2013
by EshaDog
fromWest Fargo, ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this scooper about a year ago and it keeps breaking. It would be an awesome product if it was made of a more durable material. It breaks where you twist the handle sections together. I really liked that you could attach the garbage bag right to the bin so all you had to do was scoop the waste into the bag lined bin, tie it up when full and toss in the trash. I am sad that the handles aren't more durable because I really like the bin aspect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Tried the rest, this is the best!!

March 30, 2013
by Cookietoo
fromHouston
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this thing. It makes pick up easy and clean. I no longer dread and put off daily or weekly back-yard duty. I have not had any of the problems others have talked about here. No bending and no yukieness to deal with any more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Cheap

March 18, 2013
by RoseOfAz
fromTucson, Az
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I did not have this product long. I believe I have had it for about 4 months. Mine was made of plastic for both the rake and the swivel bin. My swivel bin handle broke at the joints. I would not recommend you wasting your money on this product. The only good thing I can say about this product was the fact that the grocery bags worked well inside the swivel bin and made clean up easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Great design and HORRIBLE execution

March 5, 2013
by AKaBooM
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Rake handle and scoop handle both broke (metal sheared) within about 2 weeks of purchase after only using 1-2x daily. No undue stress was placed on the items either. Metal handles screw in place but not tightly enough to prevent wiggle when scooping/raking, so the action stresses the cheap metal to easily fracture.
PetSmart would be wise to remove this product from their offerings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Worked well until the rake broke

January 13, 2013
by LPMBA97
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The unit works well with the grocery store plastic bags. The bags stay in place well. The bin does bend easily when pressue is applied to ensure the waste can be raked into the bin. After less than 1 year of use, the rake broke at one of the attachment joints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Do not buy!

July 26, 2012
by Kim61
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this particular scooper because I could put a bag in the receptacle. I didn't have to touch anything to throw it in the trash. I used it for less than a month and the rake broke off of the handle. Today, I tried to used something else to scoop the feces in the receptacle and the handle to the receptacle broke! What a waste of $30!!!!! I do not recommend this product at all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Great concept, poor execution

July 24, 2012
by DaleB
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I like the design overall. The problem is the handles are made up of several sections that have to be screwed together. Those joints loosen up very easily,
You can’t tighten the joints too much or they will strip out with little effort as I found out the hard way.
I ended up loosening all the joints and adding a drop of Super Glue on each, no problems since in the last 2 months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Broken after a few uses

July 23, 2012
by dtedman
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I really wanted to like this product and it worked okay for a few uses. However the pole screws together in many pieces and where it connects to the rake or the bin has broken off.
I would not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Waste of money

July 14, 2012
by Shadowatcher
fromGlen Allen, Virginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The rake handle for this device lasted less than two days. The plastic that is used for the handle has no strength and broke with little use. I discarded the broken piece and used with shorter handle less than two days later the handle broke again. Now I am using with only one handle section, really makes the process down close and personal. This has now lasted for more than two days but I don't think we will make it to the weekend. Good idea really poor plastic, don't waste your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Falls apart after each use

June 15, 2012
by yecats82
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Every time I used this the handle would unscrew itself and Id spend most of the time screwing it back on. Then after a few times the the handle broke completely (and not because I screwed it on too tight). I threw it away and plan to buy one that is made out of metal and is one unit and not sections that have to be pieced together.
Don't waste your money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Great until it breaks

June 5, 2012
by TDawgWoofWoof
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product worked great until the individual poles began to break at the threads. The poles for the rake and bucket got shorter and shorter while the individual broke. Did not last 6 months. Great design, poor craftsmanship, poor quality. Save your money!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Great concept, but poorly made

June 2, 2012
by corkel
fromKansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Great item for no mess because it uses a bag. We used it once and like a previous reviewer....turned the handle to tighten it, and it broke. I returned it and thought I would give it one more shot, but after the next few uses, both handles finally broke. Very weak, poorly made item. I wish it were made out of aluminum or metal!!! As of today, searching for another scooper!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

This Product

April 22, 2012
by Swisher
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My daughter came home with this and I was happy. Seemed like a good idea. But the product itself must have been poorly made. First time I used it, it was wobbly and I tightened it up, turning it once and the handle broke. I asked her to take it back, she didn't have receipt. Used it the next time, same thing happened in the handle. The screw part just broke off. Seems the one we got was bad, poorly made. Because all the other reviews are good. And no, i didn't screw too tight causing it to break.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

The Best $30 I Ever Spent on Stuff for My Dogs!

April 19, 2012
by PoodleHouse4
fromNorth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this after I had read a few reviews about it, some good, some bad, but I decided to take a chance on it. I absolutely love it and it works fantastic!
The bucket has little hooks for plastic grocery handles to fit in and it holds them securely until I want to take the bag out. The handles are long enough so I don’t have to be stooped over it, the rake is amazing! It has to be the perfect material, the perfect angle on the tines, everything, because it lets me flick the pooh up into the bucket with one small movement, it is sturdy enough to dig down in the grass a little to loosen the pooh that isn’t right on top of the grass and even fresh piles rarely if ever stick to it. It seriously cut the time it takes for me to pick up in the back yard at least in half from what I was using before.
Reviewers said it wasn’t durable, if screwed together too tight, it broke etc. I have been so happy with the quality of the product. It took me a few tries to get the handles tight enough to stay, I was so paranoid about breaking them if I turned them on too tight. Once I got it tight enough, it is perfect. I use it weekly to pick up after 4 dogs and I have had it for a little over 3 months. It is the real deal for me. I liked it so much I bought one for my friend.
No more hunched over aching back, no more fighting with the bag, no more trying to get the squished stuff out of the claw. After we adopted 2 rescues and now have 4 dogs, I couldn’t finish the weekly clean without taking a break for my back. This product is the answer to all those problems!
I will recommend it to any dog owner I know.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

Great while it lasts

April 10, 2012
by Rangers
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The fact that you casn put your grocery bags in their and cleanup is great! however, because the handle is plastic and its actually two pieces that screw together, its easily broken. Also the base doesnt lay completely flat so if your cleaning up from grass it should be fine but from cement its quite a bit harder to do. If the handle was studier and one piece, and the base was more flat, Id buy this again in a heartbeat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

It is so nice not to be bent over while cleaning

March 29, 2012
by JasminesDad
fromAustell, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a very good product, the bin holds alot of stuff and grocery bags fit perfectly inside and around the edges so stuff doesn't get all over it. The rake is great and allows you to easily clean up. The rake handle seems to become a little loose but it is nothing that is a deal breaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Excellent

December 10, 2011
by dpwdoglover
fromTampa, FL
easy to assemble. sturdy. works great.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

WOW - Brilliant

August 24, 2011
by pr333kitty
fromgeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Never seen anything like it ... everything to love. Very heavy duty and well made. Nice long handles, strong scope and the swivel bin with bag holder is ingenious. Very please and thankful for this product. I think it's worth every penny.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Terrible

August 7, 2011
by Timmmay223
fromYoungstown, Oh
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased one and i over tightened it and it broke it, was my fault, said not to overtighten, took it back to petsmart they were good and replaced it, the other one i rec. i did not overtighten however the first piece of "dog leavins" i go to pick up the scooping part snaps. The basket part works great and i like the way it holds onto bags.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Clean Response Swivel Bin & Rake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Very Helpful

April 30, 2011
by CCarr
fromMartinsburg, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Clerk in store recommended this product and I am glad he did. You can put a plastic grocery bag in it for collections and easy disposal. It is plastic so you can't dig the ground with it, but it is nice to be able to use the swivel to sweep items into collection bucket. Plus, it holds a lot if you don't have time to clean up often.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next