PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Programmable convenience Advanced 24/7 freshness Eliminate daily scooping No-mess litter area
Overall rating:
1.727 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
1 of 11(9%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Review 1 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

The origional was a MUCH better product!

January 1, 2013
by Txcyn2004
fromAlvin, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Unless you want to sweep/vacuum cat litter every day, don't buy this one. It is noisy, does not scoop very well at all and in under 1 week the ramp broke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Worst litterbox ever!!

November 17, 2012
by ReginaJ
fromRanburne, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have been using littermaid for about 20 years and have always loved it, but this one is terrible! I bought it for the extra litter capacity and ability to accommodate multiple cats. Worst decision I've made!
Where to begin.....
It's LOUD!!! Will wake you up if you don't set the timer.
Doesn't clean the mess. The "teeth" are not long enough to accommodate the extra depth of the new design. It barely scrapes across the top and just leaves 90% of the feces in the box. When it gets close to the end you have nothing but litter just being pushed in the tray and then it stops before pushing the mess in, so it drags it back into the box. I was having to empty the box every two days and refill the litter, so I thought this one would be a little less work since it held more litter. It's actually MORE work because of having to manually clean it myself several times a day and it's wasting tons of litter!
The tent cover is not big enough for my 10 lb cat to get in the box and have room to do his business. I'm guessing they give you a tent so you won't see the mess it leaves.
The top no longer snaps to the bottom. It's very heavy when full of litter, so if you have to move it it's a pain in the rear because it comes apart VERY easy (when moving).
Minor complaint is that the scooper now does not have a hole for hanging it, so the only option you have is to prop it on the floor for the cats to get curious about, play with and take off with it so it's nowhere to be found when time to clean it.
I will be returning this one ASAP and just go back to using my original Littermaid box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Poor Quality and not worth it.

November 15, 2012
by AbyssinianLover
fromEncinitas, CA
75 days after I purchased this product and suddenly it stopped working. I am just hoping I can get this returned or even a store credit from PetSmart.
Definitely a very low quality product and would not recommend to anybody.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Don't waste your money

November 15, 2012
by abby44mom
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased a new littermaid automatic litter box in September when I got a new kitty.
That was a huge mistake - it doesn't work worth a hoot. Total waste of money.
It "never" gets all the refuse scooped up and when it does get hold of some, half of it goes into the container and the other half sticks to the "comb"
It said to use high quality scooping litter which I have done - but to no avail.
I must say, however, my cat loves to sit and watch it try to do it's thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Worst mess ever

October 30, 2012
by Catlady316
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Pros: 1. Lasts a couple of days before you need to clean it
Cons:1. Litter gets everywhere, the tray that the waste is supposed to go into doesn't make a good enough seal to the front of the box and therefore a ton of litter and waste ends up falling in the crack and onto the carpet it comes with.
2. have to constantly replace ALL litter in the box because it leaves behind so many little pieces of feces
3. after a couple of days the rake will be caked with clumps. Have tried many different "premium clumping litters"
4. doesn't do what it is advertized which is not having to touch it for a week. It's more like every 2-4 days.
5. Stinks because it gets so filthy if left for a week.
6. Very loud
I only have One small cat and this is by far the worst litter box for mess that I've ever had.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Sooooo not worth the money!

October 23, 2012
by lafnsing
fromNew Jersy
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This was a very disappointing product. I had high hopes because I was previously using a different self-cleaning one that I was getting tired of. This one smells! The filters do not stay on the little plastic lid. I have even tried using super glue, but they still fall off. Without that filter, the stench is bad. I agree with everyone else about the rake and the urine. It totally breaks down and we have to dump all the litter at least once a week and clean the whole thing. Soooooo not worth it. Do not buy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

October 20, 2012
by lynka73
fromminneapolis, mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was expecting a lot more from this product, especially considering the price.
#1- Very, very noisy! Even noiser in the middle of the night when you're trying to sleep.
#2- INCREDIBLY MESSY.....period.
#3- No matter if you use the recommended litter it still doesn't "rake" it properly. It actually de-clumps the urine and mixes it in with the litter
#4- Because of reason #3, the urine smell becomes very strong in a short amount of time so I end up trading most of the litter out for fresh litter.
(We have 2 cats) The model that we bought was for multi-cats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Not worth it...

October 13, 2012
by TwoCatGuy
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought this product about three months ago and it seems to have only got worse with time. I have two cats, one that is 12 lbs and one that is 8 lbs.
I have noticed that with cats, if the litter box is clean more frequently they go and use it more frequently. For example, after I set the sleep timer to start back up at 7AM, my cat uses it 4 times (we hear the rake start) by 8AM. With ten minutes between the cat entering and the machine going, either the cat hops in and out after it starts or the machine does not work right.
Next, we noticed that it always get caught stuck/jammed with feces and urine. I still need to scoop the litter every day or every other day so it can make it all the way to the end of the pan.
It does a HORRIBLE job scooping urine. Automatically, the rack starts ten minutes after the cat enters, I think the urine needs more time to soak into the litter because by the time the rack comes, the litter is still soft and breaks, getting cat litter and urine stuck to the rack and everywhere in the litter box.
I need to clean the rack at least every other day. For some reason and some how, the feces gets behind the rake (I have no idea how it gets behind it) and gets it stuck.
Finally, with two cats, I need to empty (or fix) the container for the used litter at least every five days. It does not last a week even though it is said to be made for multiple cat households. Cats tend to pick a side of the litter box and continue to use that side so it tends to back up in the disposal box and the lid does not close. There have been times where it started throughing the feces out of the litter box.
If I knew it was going to be as much hassle before buying the litter box, I would have not bought it. I should have stuck with my regular $20 litter box and scooped it everyday because that is what I am doing now on a $200 fancy litter box with more work by assembling and disassembling parts on the rake.
Definitely not worth it...
Will not recommend to anyone...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Dissatisfied

September 4, 2012
by CJ46
fromGilbert, Arizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased a Litermaid Elite ( I have 3 cats) last week and I am extremely dissatisfied. I have tried numerous kinds of litter that were recommended in the booklet that came with the Littermaid. I haven't found a litter that clumps hard after the cat urinates - it just crumbles. Also, the solid waste doesn't always make it in the compartment it is meant to go in because it breaks up in tiny pieces and goes through the scooper too. I have to scoop daily and sometimes more than once daily depending on what and how much waste has not been eliminated in the receptacle and which is contrary to what the product states.
I can't find anything that states SATISFACTION GUARANTEED so therefore I can't even take it back and get my money back. At this point I would rather have regular litter boxes that I only scoop once every other day and thoroughly clean and sanitize weekly.
Lots of money for a product that doesn't work as stated plus the bags of recommended litter do not make a difference, I've tried them.
Be careful if you are thinking about buying one, at this point I would rather have a plain litter box.
I am surprised the merchant doesn't stand behind it.
Unhappy consumer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Love it!

September 3, 2012
by Because
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We've had a home with multiple cats for over 20yrs. We've had a Littermaid for the same amount of time. Cats adjust to it easily. When I first purchased the Mega Littermaid, people wrote in and described how the motor stopped working. After researching further, I discovered how this problem can be attributed to just a case that the motor needs to be reset. These reset buttons can be found near the litter tray. I've needed to do this 3 X over the course of 20years.
Can't imagine having a multiple cat household without a Littermaid. I also use "world's best litter" for best results!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Littermaid Ultimate Edition Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Too big, too bulky, too noisy.

January 17, 2011
by WhiskersMom
fromLaguna Niguel, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
On the good side, it cleans pretty well and does not seem to get stuck. My cat likes that it has a hood and has no problem using it.
On the bad side, it is just TOO HUGE. It's pretty noisy, too, and it does leave a mess of litter everywhere. We are going to get rid of this and try that Robot thing! Wish us luck! Anyone want to try this? We'll sell it really cheap! LOL!
Pros: doesn't get stuck, cat likes it, has a hood
Cons: wayyy too big, much too noisy, litter winds up everywhere, did i say it was too big??
-13points
2of 17voted this as helpful.