PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch

Provide the ultimate stretching, lounging, and scratching experience for your cat. PetSmart Exclusive.
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
23 of 25(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Review 1 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Cats love this!

March 10, 2011
by tigg4ever
fromSparks NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have 2 cats and they love this! We are very happy with this product and recommend the investment.
Pros: sturdy
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Cat took to it fast

February 16, 2014
by DudewithaCat
fromOrlando, FL
So I bought this today for $84 (on sale $55 off). No set up required. Brought it home. Put cat on the top bedding. Loves it. Took to it right away. He's currently sleeping on the top bedding. Already know it was a great buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

February 12, 2014
by Loren24
fromTennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Kitties love the tree. Stable and big enough for my 12 pound Ragdoll to lay comfortably.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Very Rugged & NOT Covered in Faux Fur!

August 2, 2013
by GaryR
fromToms River, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this piece for over 5 years and I'm buying another one this weekend to replace it. It's been through 3 litters of kittens and now provides entertainment for 4 adult cats. This thing has taken quite a beating over the years and looked great for nearly all that time. It is covered in real carpet and all my cats claw and scratch at it constantly all day. I've had one adult and four kittens in the lower bunk sleeping at one time with the top bunk used by one of the other adult cats at the same time...very solid. They constantly play with someone the top bunk while others are below as they do paw fighting/playing. Both bunks comfortably fit 20lb adult cats. The toy lasted 5 seconds, so don't let that stop you from buying it. There are times where all four cats are playing on it at one time and it's VERY stable and heavy to withstand that onslaught. The replaceable scratch pad is AWESOME! That is a house carpet lifesaver and every cat I've had has used it to get their 'scratch on'. The replacements are about $10 for two and are reversible...so two (four sides) in an active cat house like mine lasts about 9-10 months. I would gladly pay the $129.99 for this one again...and this weekend it's on sale for $89.99! I highly recommend this piece of cat furniture.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Cats enjoy!

June 28, 2013
by Casey46
fromSoutwest Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We bought this cat tree to take to our Georgia home and the cats just love it! It provides 3 different scratching surfaces and a place for both cats to sleep. Also, our oldest likes to climb to the top, the younger one jumps to first level then on to the top. Well worth the money for this treat for our cats.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Absolutely the best investment for my cats

June 22, 2013
by Moloko
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was a bit hesitant to purchase an expensive piece of furniture for my cats, but their old one was falling apart and becoming a hazard. Once I brought this in, the cats immediately expressed interest. I put it close to the window, and now they use it every day, almost half a day. There is always a battle regarding the top spot, but they use the bottom one too.
I was concerned that my heavier cat (16 lbs) would feel unstable on this piece, but it is very sturdy and he has no problems. You can see from the picture, the toy is still there about 6 months out. But I don't think giving lower reviews for the toy falling off is appropriate, it's a very easy fix.
They simply love this thing and I'm sure it will last a while.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

One of the best cat towers I've ever run across!

June 7, 2013
by catmagnet
fromKingston, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've done cat rescue for years, and would often invest in a cat tower for my longer-term foster kitties. Have looked at many different designs, but as someone who has purchased 4 of these (I always seek out this particular model), I can tell you I like this one best. Two different scratching devices at the base (sisal rope, and corrugated cardboard which holds catnip) take care of the scratching needs. The bottom oval platform lines up perfectly with the base of my bottom living room window, for a perfect outdoor view of the goings-on. And when sleepy, kitty loves to curl up in this oval with the wall around it and take a catnap. For the more adventurous climber, the 2nd platform lines up with the base of my TOP living room window---again, for a good view of the outdoors---and makes kitty feel like king of the mountain. This thing is pretty darn sturdy, too. Have never had an issue with it being tipsy. Provides great function without being too bulky or tacky-looking. Highly recommend it. Hope PetSmart never discontinues it, as I often find myself recommending this model to fellow cat owners.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Great Tower, but Cheap Toy Attached—

May 24, 2013
by Lostgirlstar
fromLindenhurst, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Absolutely LOVE this tower for my two cats, and THEY LOVE IT TOO! Well constructed, ample height (fits great in my tiny apartment—its tall & relatively slender) and plenty of entertainment, complete with (2) beds, (2) scratchers [both sisal & replaceable corrugated cardboard] and a dangley toy.
I have to agree with one of the previous reviews however—the toy attached is not attached well. Mine fell off in less than 10 minutes (but then again I put cat nip all over the tower LOL). This is why I gave it only 4 stars instead of 5 though. Personally, I didn't buy it for the toy, so it really did not bother me at all, but it would have been a nice bonus if it actually stayed on.
I bought the tower on an awesome one-day-sale, so my review may have been a little lower if I paid the full price and the toy fell off.
To sum it up: If you are looking for a good tower and don't care if the toy falls off, then this is a great purchase. =)
Hope this review helps. >^..^<
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Overall construction well but toy is cheap....

February 8, 2013
by JoeFu
fromVirginia beach, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought yesterday and in three hours the toy fell off... Held in with a cheap staple... For the price of this , I would think they would pay attention to detail... there is no website to contact them... So I came here... Overall constructed well... But when I spend this kind of money I want it to last longer than 3 hours!
-14points
3of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Cats love it!!!

November 22, 2012
by Kikifrog
fromSpruce Grove, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this perch on boxing day, so we got 25% off. When we brought it home, our cat was so excited he tried jumping on it as we were carrying it in. Now that we have a kitten as well, they both love it. It is usually a fight for the top perch. Best investment we ever bought for the cats.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Lacy Mau loves this tower!

November 4, 2012
by TREX51
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
As soon as it was in place in front of the sliding glass doors she climbed up via the long pole to the top. Not sure it is the conventional route. I have had it since yesterday. I found her in when I got up for water in the middle of the night- even though at that time of day the curtains are drawn. She also likes the lower shelf I have put her stuffed mouse and other toys there she likes to drop them off onto the floor from that height. She also slept there during the evening. She has also made use of the scratching board which should save my chairs- or not.
All in all it meets with her approval. The feathers are not that interesting after on or two hit. I would definitely recommend this because it is assembled and the different shades of brownish carpeting goes well in any room. A plus as many pieces of pet furniture is in primary colors. The reviews I read here helped me decide.
I was going to go with a shorter slightly less expensive piece of furniture, but went with the bigger piece because she likes to look out the glass doors and watch people. The shorter one would not have put her up high enough to see over the edge of the solid balcony.
This replaced a cardboard cat cottage Lacy was 6 months old when I got her and in 5 months she had the cottage she scratched holes in to the point I was afraid it would collapse.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

amaizing product!

October 23, 2012
by banban
fromrichmond, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This one is so stable for my small kitten. She even gives a high purr when she plays with it. You can choose 3 different colors in the store to match your room color. I will recommend this investment to anyone who loves their cats. No regret at all. I think this should be a life time lounge for her. Three different kinds of scratching material give her tons of joy. Thank you pet smart.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Instant hit with the kitties

October 19, 2012
by CatLadyForLife
fromDoylestown, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have been looking for a cat tree for a while for my 4 year old male cat but he has never been a bad scratcher so there wasn't any rush. Well Simon and I just moved in with my mom and her 6 month old kitten Wendy and their playing has begun to take its toll on the arms of the couch (one will perch and the other attacks from underneath). I read all the reviews for this cat tree and just brought it home. Both Simon and Wendy took right to it and are loving every bit of it. Both instantly began to stretch and scratch on the posts and bat at each other from the different levels. Although it is still early to tell, I think this is just what our crazy cat family needed. I will definitely write more later. But as of right now, 5 stars all the way!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Perfect for any (every) cat who loves to scratch!

February 25, 2012
by ellifly88
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I purchased this recently for our 2 young adult cats and I have to say it was one of the best purchases we have made in a long time!
One of the best things about this tower is the fact that it has 3 different types of scratching materials - carpet, sisal, and cardboard (which does come out for replacement) and is what made us purchase this over all of the other posts available at the store. The base is also quite wide and it great for horizontal scratching as well. Our cats use every surface and it seems to fulfill their need to scratch much better than any other post we have every purchased. Not to mention that they absolutely love to climb to the top and survey their territory!
The one that we purchased came with a long fuzzy strip instead of the feathers as shown in the picture, but as with almost all of the Whisker City furniture, this is replaceable with other attachments that you can purchase separately so we may switch to feathers in the future. We also decided to purchase a cheap oval shaped bed to place in the middle platform (which is already slightly padded for sleeping) for cleaning convenience if it gets dirty.
Overall, this is a well-made and sturdy structure and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to provide some scratching variety to their cats and especially to those who are unsure as to their cats favorite scratching material!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Too Awesome!!

February 22, 2012
by RescueKittyOwner
fromSomewhere, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We own 4 cats, three 10yr old girls & one 2yr old boy. They absolutely love this lounge & scratch!
Three out of my four cats will use it to sleep in after breakfast.
Angel, who never uses it for napping, still enjoys using the scratchers on it(as do the other 3).
We placed it in front of our huge bay window in our living room. All of them really enjoy perching on the very top tower.
They totally went BANANAS for the little dangley feathers, I think they actually managed to rip it off within 2 days time. Which is okay cause that's what its meant for!
It is completely sound & sturdy, no one has managed to tip it, even when the 3 biggest cats are going crazy on it!
I def recommend for cats of all ages!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Large cat loves it!

January 29, 2012
by DexsMom
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We had trouble finding a cat tree for our 17.5 lb cat but he loves this one! It is very sturdy and doesn't wobble or tip when he jumps on it. He fits in both perches and the scratching post is tall enough for him. We also love that the toy can be switched out with other attachments. He now spends most of the day lounging in it and we are very happy with the quality of the product!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great cat furniture!

September 4, 2011
by Deanna30
fromBrandon, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our cats love this! Riley plays with it daily and sleeps on it each night. It's very sturdy and looks great in our living room! I couldn't be happier - we love it!
Pros: sturdy, easy to assemble, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Worth every dollar

August 18, 2011
by Joely
fromMays Landing, NJ 08330
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My one year old cat just loves this lounger, at first didn't think she would climb onto it once she did this seems to be her favorite, she uses both levels and the scratchers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

August 9, 2011
by Anonymous
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the new Kitty Caslte that I got for my two cats. They both love it and it has multipurposes. Bella loves climing to the top and playing with the dangling feather. she loves sleeping on the second level and climbs the whole castle. She also uses the scratching post. Cullen loves sleeping on the first level he's not much a climber and he also uses the scratching post.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whisker City Cat Lounge and Scratch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great kitty tower!

July 7, 2011
by Hophead
fromGreenville, NC
I got this while on sale at Petsmart and have no regrets. The two scratching posts allow the cats to stretch to near full height on the sisal side, and they love the angled cardboard scratcher. The platforms hold a large cat easily and are offset so they can jump from one to the other with ease. The cats have used it from day 1.
No buyer's remorse about this purchase whatsoever!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next