PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage

This cage features a peaked roof top and a decorative heart design on both front doors. Designed for parakeets, canaries and other small birds.
Overall rating:
3.222 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Review 1 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

It works!

December 28, 2013
by Lee3
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This product was packaged very, very well. They took their time to package it. Please do note the size though. It really is for smaller birds. The cage has a nice design if you are into something that is a little different. I love the teal color of it as well.
Pros: easy to assemble, easy to clean, sturdy, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Very sad

October 30, 2013
by Custmer
fromMicminnvie, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
when I got this it was WAY smaller than I expeted and it was brocken
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

October 10, 2013
by EdwardD
fromMilwaukee, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
It is a good, small cage for 2 finches, I would recommend something larger for parakeets though.
Pros: easy to assemble, easy to clean, price
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

what!

September 15, 2012
by hvdbgvb
from77386 legends run
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I think this is a very good cage for conures the have lots of room and so I deffently recommend this to peole all around the world because its not like its gonna kill your bird in fact it can be good for any type of exsep the parrot but ya any bird in the world ok by:]
-17points
9of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Not a good cage for birds

July 22, 2012
by Parakeetsforever
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
This type of cage is not fit for any type of bird. Perhaps it's good for one finch, but no more. No parakeet could ever fit in this cage. All birds prefer to stay high up, and that's really hard to do because of the ridiculous style. Take my advice and invest a little bit more money and get a flat-roofed cage that birds will actually feel comfortable in.
+23points
30of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Looks better than actually is!

April 29, 2012
by Sophie95
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My poor parakeet try's to get to the top of this cage and always bangs into something, It's to tight of a small to get into. It is very easy to clean though and cheap.
+11points
19of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Thoughts on Shanghai Parakeet Cage

December 4, 2011
by Guineapigfanatic123
fromKansas, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Now,I'm not one for rating things below 3, but this cage is awkward. I'm sorry but this doesn't seem like a parakeet cage. More like a finch cage. Its tiny. Two parakeets would not like that at all. All in all, I'd rate this barely a two. :(
+18points
28of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Too small for finches, canaries or parakeets!

July 9, 2011
by Susan39
fromOswego, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Finches, Canaries and Parakeets like to stay at the top of their cage. The way that this cage is designed, it is too narrow at the top for any bird to spread its wings or turn around. There is not flying room at all in this cage. It is too small.
A better cage would be a plain rectangular cage that is at least 18X18X20 inches. This should be a minimum size for a finch, canary or parakeet. Rectangular cages that are flat on the top also make it easier to hang toys.
Please do not buy this cage for your bird. Invest in a bigger cage.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Pet Shanghai Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Cool design!

March 22, 2011
by BirdLover36
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I have this cage but it's red instead of blue. My bird loves it! I have a Lovebird in mine. I'm planning on putting my Lovebird in a bigger cage, but for right now it's perfect! One thing to warn you about, you're bird can open the doors easily and get out! I have to twist metal pieces around the door to the cage so my bird can't open it and escape!!! One particular thing I like about this cage is that the doors become a landing perch when you life the doors and pull out on them. The food and water bowls are small, but they work alright for my bird. The top is where my bird likes to sit all the time! Good cage if you're on a budget! :)
Pros: sturdy, price
Cons: difficult to clean
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.