PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats

Calming blend with chamomile & tryptophan Use during travel, separation or stress For use in cats only GNC Gold Card discount not valid on purchase of GNC Pets items.
Overall rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Review 1 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Have used this product and it works on our cat

March 8, 2014
by derf
fromNM
Someone told me about this product after I had told them how jumpy our cat was. So we tried it and it has helped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

cats won't get near it

January 26, 2014
by cynH1
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I don't know if this works or not because my 5 cats have yet to get close to eat it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Calms Kitty Down for Travel

December 30, 2013
by TallGrlI
fromAppleton, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have to travel via car with kitty. She is not a fan of her crate and getting her into it and be quiet during travel can be a chore. I've used the calming treats four times now. The first time, I didn't notice much difference (I gave her the two treats fairly close to travel time). The next three times, I've spread out giving her the treats. First treat I give about 2-4 hours before travel and the second treat about 1/2 hour before travel. They seem to work better this way. She is a bit more lethargic and easier to get into her crate. She does still chat a bit once in her crate until we get on the road. After about 5 minutes on the road, she settles in and curls up for most of the trip (max 2 hours).
The treats are a little large so she needs to take a few chomps on each to eat them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Gel works but PLEASE BRING BACK THE LIQUID GNC!

November 6, 2013
by cattalker60
fromGreater Detroit Area, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My cat had some issues at night with crying and not staying asleep. Vet recommended a different product but it was too much for my cat. So we tried GNC Relax but it was in a liquid form at the time in a bottle. You just used a tsp and mixed in with food. He never even knew it was there. Not at all like this nasty paste that is in the tube. The liquid really worked best as my cat is not too pleased with this product and can sense that it is in his food. So PLEASE GNC, bring back the LIQUID FORMULA!!! WAS A WINNER!!! Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

It Works!

September 16, 2013
by Celeste13
fromKingsport, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have been giving the soft chews to one of my cats for a few days now. He's a sweet boy, but he is very anxious, noisy, and cannot tolerate any sort of change in his routine. He also doesn't seem to get the kind of quality sleep his sister enjoys, which I think probably contributes to his issues.
Since I've been giving him these treats, I've noticed a significant change. He is more mellow and only cries within a few minutes of mealtime. He also seems to be sleeping better, and has an easier time going back to sleep if something wakes him up. His energy is down just a bit, but he does seem more willing to engage in play.
The only reason I gave this product 4 stars instead of 5 is because he doesn't seem to care much for the taste. I've been breaking each chew in half and hiding it among a small handful of Greenies Smartbites (his favorite) to get him to eat it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

My baby is back!

July 5, 2013
by Aegsh
fromSilver Spring, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My beautiful cat, Miracle, is usually a very affectionate, curious little guy. He would always follow me around and beg for attention! Suddenly, he became so paranoid about everything. He hid under my bed for weeks and wouldn't come out (only to get food). I was getting really worried about him. Even though he is scared of our dog, Sam, he's never been so scared as to not show his face at all. My baby wasn't at all himself! So, I bought this with high hopes that it would calm him down and not be so anxious around his surroundings. Within the first two days of me feeding him two treats a day, his attitude was noticeably changing. He wasn't as jumpy and he was actually coming out from under the bed. Almost a week later, I can happily say this product has worked wonders for him. He's back to being the confident boy I know and love. I will continue to feed him these until I feel like he confident enough without them. Thank you GNC!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

Cat didn't like it.

June 2, 2013
by Limegreendaisy
fromTehachapi CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I gave my four year old a teaspoon (over 10 pounds) of the gel and first i just gave it to her, she licked up some of it then walked away. So i tried mixing it with some yummy wet food which she only gets on a special occasion and always sucks down. She didn't want any part of it, and it didn't stick to her paw she just flicked it off. She has to get this stuff in her, she will be in the car for two and half hours in a couple days and be staying away from home with a friend of mine for 2 weeks while I'm out of state. So, I mixed it with some water and put it in a medicine shoot that the vet gives you for liquid medicine and held her down and shot it down her throat. She still didn't like it but at least i got it in her system. Hopefully it will calm her enough so tomorrows dose will be easier to give her.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Ultra Mega Relax

April 11, 2013
by Lonestar
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this for my 5 yr old cat. he was neutered at age 4 months, but just last year he started spraying. he is a little on the hyper side normally.
so we searched for something to 'calm' him down.
I used many different sprays.they just did not work.
I found this product..and am pleased it has calmed him down, and stopped the spraying. it says to give once a day, but half way thru the day it seems to wear off and he is hyper again and will spray.
the product says it is a gel, mine appears as a gritty paste, it says its a yummy chicken flavor... but my cat runs when he smells it.
in the description it lists a liquid in fish flavor as well, so I plan to purchase that one next to see if he likes it better.
but this product does indeed seem to be calming him down.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Try It!

February 4, 2013
by sbsweeps
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have several cats. One has a stressed personality. I have used the plug-ins (Comfort Zone & store brand) with success. But, they only work in the area that they are plugged in. Once consumed, the Mega Relax goes with the cat no matter what room he wanders into. It can be given to just the cat that needs it. I would definitely give this product a try. I now have a relaxed cat and more $$ in my pocket.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Be very careful

November 18, 2012
by Anonymous
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We are trying to introduce an new kitten, Rocky, to our household. Our 5 year old female Trixie became very anxious and began tormenting the kitten. On Sunday 11-10-12 we went to Petsmart and asked if there was a product that might help calm her and they recommended GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats. The directions said feed one or 2 treats per day until stress passes. By Friday morning she was hiding, refusing food and water, laying in the litter box for hours at a time, and hissing and growling when she was alone. No more treats were given. On Saturday we grew so concerned we took her to the vet and he said she is physically fine. The vet said there was nothing in the relax treats that could harm her, but who knows if she had some kind of bad reaction. I did a lot of research online before giving them to her, and everything I found had nothing but positive things to say about the product. I would recommend pet owners be very careful if they are considering using this product.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Works great!

August 6, 2012
by MyTrix
fromChicago Suburbs
We have a 3 year old tabby who is very anxious. We are lucky to even see her. The only place that she is comfortable is on my daughter's bed. Anywhere else and she will run away and/or hiss if you try to approach her. We've used this gel for about 4 days now, and she is already approaching us, tentatively. And, she let me pick her up yesterday. I'm hoping that she will become even more relaxed with the gel and we will finally have a happy, normal cat.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Noticable Behavioral Change; Cat Not Interested

March 7, 2012
by TootieTortieCat
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Why I bought this product: Currently a college student, I have had my cat since grade school and have been saddened by my cat's progressively worsening separation anxiety. As a kitten, the symptoms were less noticeable-- but with recent changes (the addition of my baby sibling) she has become more and more anxious just /being/ in the house, whether I am home or not. She even developed psychogenic alopecia a week after the baby came home. She is currently 12 years old, I've had her since she was about 5 weeks old.
Experience with this Product:
I took the initiative to buy the gel form of GNC's Relax formula for Cats. I took an inch on my finger, offered it to test my cat's interest. I knew my cat in particular, DOES NOT SHOW INTEREST IN CATNIP-- the same applied for the gel. I then followed instructions and wiped it on the spot between her dewclaw and paw. She froze completely, paw up, evidently irritated by the texture (and perhaps smell?) that was on her paw. She even tried to shake it off, which was messy because the gel does not dry completely for about 5 mins. I watched her like a hawk. It took her 40 mins of "building courage" to lick it off. In observation, it seemed that the process of having her dirty her fur and clean off a substance she did not like was stressful to her. This initial process is the ONLY REASON WHY I TOOK OFF A STAR. 20 mins later after she licked it off, she (thankfully) mellowed out. THIS PRODUCT WORKS. She was attentive, but not to an extreme. She didn't follow me around the house, did not stick her face and meow into the crack under the bathroom door when I'm there, did not "glare me down" 15 feet away when I played with my baby sibling, and did not pull her fur out for the rest of the day! I was very happy to see her less anxious. :)
The following day, I took a different approach and gave the gel from my finger. As if administering a pill, I coaxed her mouth open and quickly wiped the gel on her tongue. This was a lot faster and did not bother her as much as wiping it on her paw. MUCH BETTER PROCESS, and again, great result.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

It works!

December 11, 2011
by BrownD
fromOrlando, FL
I had a terrible problem with my cats dealing with some new cats to the household. One in particular has been terribly hostile, hissing and hiding and growling. She is on day 2 of the treats and not only isn't hissing as much, she actually comes out of my room and wanders the house again.
I'll make sure she and my other original cat take these every day, they seem to feel so much better. Big improvement!
Yep, this is a win.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Works Great!

August 21, 2011
by catlady456
fromNevada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my 10 year old cat who I was thinking about putting on tranquilizers. He has started to drive us crazy meowing whether he is inside or out at night, he comes in eats, and does it over and over like he has OCD. I tried this and amazing, it works! He was completely calm and quiet and relaxing like a cat should be, this has saved our sanity!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

It works!

July 9, 2011
by CBanner
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I started giving this to my 9 year old male about a week ago. He is very high stress/high anxiety. I wanted an alternative to medication such as prozac, etc. I use the gel type and just spread it on his paw once daily. Before this supplement, my cat was meowing constantly - very loud and he seemed anxious. Now, as soon as he licks this off his paw, he is calm and seems less anxious - the effects last for a significant amount of time. It really seems to calm him down and he doesn't seem to mind the taste. I love it and it works.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

I can finally pet my kitty!

February 24, 2011
by lyddi
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I started giving my kitties the gel to try to make them friendlier. One cat loves me, but hides from other people. The other kitty is very sociable but HATES being touched or picked up.
I've had the cats for three months. Today, the second cat climbed into my lap and curled up there for a good 40 minutes while I pet her. She has never done this before! Usually when I try to pet her, she ducks and slinks away, so this is a big difference.
Haven't had anyone over to test the other cat's reaction yet, but I'm hopeful. :)
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for GNC Ultra Mega Relax for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

So far its great!

December 18, 2010
by jlb1180
fromWV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Started giving this to my anxious kitty (Oscar) 2 weeks ago. Problems started back in July, after the alpha cat of the house passed away. Right after the alpha cat passed away, Oscar started pulling out his toenails. He was on anti-anxiety medication from the vet for 2 weeks, and seemed to be better. But, shortly afterward, he started randomly urinating and or defecating out of his litterbox. We treated him with antibiotics just in case he had an infection and also resumed the anti-anxiety med. However, he had become wise to my attempts to pill him and the actual medicating process was causing him even MORE stress. This was our last attempt before trying to find him a nice, quiet home, with an elderly person. We have 3 dogs, 1 other cat and a 3 year old son. Our home can get a little rowdy at times and this was contributing to his stress as well. So, as a last attempt to help him feel less stressed, we started this. It has been SO EASY! I just mix the liquid into a fish flavored canned food, once a day at night. We have not had one accident. We also added another litterbox with Cat Attract kitty litter (found here on this site and in store). It has been 2 weeks. Not long enough to say for certain that he is cured, but so far its looking great. He also doesn't hide all day like he used to, is much more affectionate and overall a happier, more relaxed kitty.
Pros: easy to mix with canned food, cats like the taste, inexpensive
Cons: stinks (who cares if it works!)
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.