PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor

Delicious & convenient gel formula Added fiber for digestive support Great Salmon flavor GNC Gold Card discount not valid on purchase of GNC Pets items.
Overall rating:
1.867 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
4 of 15(27%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Review 1 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Cat's hate it.

April 22, 2013
by dw1967
fromSarasota, FL
I have used other gel products and this is nothing like those. It is oily and gritty, it smells bad, and my cats hate it. A big waste my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

December 1, 2011
by Dragonfly42
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat loves this stuff! I have Maine Coon who is 18 years old. I have used the Petromalt before and she won't even lick it. The was recommended to me. She loves it. In fact, I keep it in the hall closet and she will go and sit at the hall closet every morning hoping to get some! It seems to work as well. I have not seen any hairballs in about 2 months so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

No good.

September 17, 2011
by SharonC
fromFullerton, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used Petromalt in the past and both of my cats loved it. I tried GNC and my cat won't eat it. It is runny and it doesn't smell or taste good. Don't waste your money. I'll try to give it away to a neighbor. I'm not sure if they still make Petromalt but I will try to find it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

bad purchase

September 14, 2011
by Anonymous
fromNC
This is not an inexpensive product, and my cat licked it one time, walked away, and never went back to it. Unlike the previous hairball preventive I got at PetSmart, which they have discontinued, it's the consistency of liquid rubber, slick, oily and greasy looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Delicious-- NO

August 29, 2011
by jazzy01
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
None of my three cats liked this product! I tried the paste first, then the gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Soft chews really work!

May 3, 2011
by Amasian
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have not tried the paste version of this product, just the soft chews. My cat really seems to enjoy the taste, although I will say that I think they smell awful! We started feeding our long-haired cat two vitamins a day, and we went from seeing 1-2 hairballs a week (this was with regular grooming) to nothing so far, and she's been on the vitamins for two weeks! The chew vitamins are super easy to administer, we just drop them in her food dish and she excitedly trots over to eat them. I would definitely recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Cat can't get enough

April 25, 2011
by witch05
fromEugene, Oregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I use to have a Maine Coon and used a diffrent hairball paste and when she died I got my Persian. I tried the hairball stuff that my other cat used and she didn't really like and my Persian wouldn't touch it. So we got this hairball paste and he can't get enough of it. He gets it every Sunday and really looks forward to it. He gets excited when he sees me with the tube.
I saw some of the other reviews and I dont agree with them. It doesnt smell bad and it looks good. I dont touch it so I have no idea if it is sandy. I keep it in the laundry room and I have never had it go runny. Use after use it comes out just like the first time I open it and use it
Great product and a great price and no hairballs yet.
Pros: works great, price, taste, easy to administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Not Good

April 22, 2011
by Piratemom
fromPlacentia, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
My Cat , who has always loved all the hairball remedies. Did not like this at all and when I tried again he walked away. So in trash it goes. and back to the ones I was using, which means I can to go to more than one different pet store or switch all together for all his pet needs , as Petsmart is only offering this one. It must taste terrible as he eats everything even carpet. As for it being runny if you turn with cap down it is not.
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Hairball Formula

April 1, 2011
by arika213
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased the above for my cats... now my older cat actually liked the flavor of it, but my kitten didn't want anything to do with it. My biggest problem is the fact that it literally turns into liquid in less then a week. I thought maybe it was a bad batch and threw it away. When I went to PetSmart to get more food for my babies, I picked up another tube to try since my older cat has longer fur and gets hairballs more frequently. The same thing happened, was fine for a week then it just turns to liquid. I even tried putting it in the fridge thinking maybe that would help, but when I went to give it to my cat the same thing happened. I liked the fact that it was suppose to be healthier then the other ones I bought, but will not waste anymore money on this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Bring back Petromalt.

March 25, 2011
by CoffeeCake
fromUpstate South Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I went to Petsmart to purchase the usual Petromalt, which my cats love, and discovered they didn't have it, so I purchased the GNC product in chicken flavor. My cats sniffed it, but would not take it. I'm going to search the web for Petromalt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Hairball remedy

March 20, 2011
by Cleo2Juno
fromNorman, Oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It is very sticky. If you rub it with your fingertips, it feels grainy, like there is fine sand in it. It leaves a sandy residue on your fingers after it dries. There is a faint smell (a almost nut smell) unappealing to a cat. It is unappealing to me. My cat wouldn't lick it off his paw,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

ghouda didn't really care for it

March 19, 2011
by leadfoot
fromFishers, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My older kitty is normally not to picky, but on this she took one lick and walked away. I tried several days later and she wouldn't even come near it. My bigger kitty wouldn't even come near the tube. He has a sensitive sniffer anyways. Not a very good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula

January 15, 2011
by nannyb
fromWichita KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The first time I opened the tube all was well. Then in a couple of weeks later I opened the tube and a thin oil was all that came out. What a mess. Apparently the product does not stay intact and separates. Also I do not like the plastic tube. I would rather have a tube that can be folded down to remove all contents inside. I definitely will return to my vet for hairball formula in the future. Will not purchase again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Cats Hate It

December 3, 2010
by scissortail
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
First, the instructions on my tube of hairball relief said to give the cats one teaspoon of the gel every day for up to two weeks. That didn't work well. The gel is very sticky and gooey and the taste must be unpleasant because neither of my cats will touch it. Even when I put it on one of my cat's fur she shook off what she could and I don't know where the rest is. Now if I approach either cat with an open tube they run and hide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GNC Ultra Mega Hairball Formula for Cats - Salmon Flavor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Effective but Kitty hates it!

October 25, 2010
by jrmint
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Within 5 days or less and only 2 uses the hairball was taken care of and that is definitely what matters most. However my Kitty hates the taste! Poor thing will barely lick it off her paw as the instructions direct. And we all know cats cant stand anything on their fur. Might help if it was more tasteful for cats. However all that matters is that it works I will continue to use once a week to see if it keeps the hairballs at bay. Oh and Blue Spa food for cats has been the best food I've found for hairballs because there is no corn meal or other bad fillers in the food. I'm tempted to try the other GNC products however I've noticed a few of them have corn in them so I'm not too sure since cats do not digest corn. Also if they are as tasteless for Kitty as this hairball product is I hate to waste the money.
Pros: works efficiently
Cons: kitty does not approve of the taste at all
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.